Ratings based on 960 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Perfection

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Our Kimpton Hotel Monaco experience was wonderful. The room was comfortable with all of the amenities we would expect. The hotel staff was professional, enthusiastic and helpful. And the décor was eclectic and fun. We highly recommend this conveniently located hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by GL, Hotel Management
Nancy: Thank you very much for the five stars. I'm glad you enjoyed our services and facilities during your recent stay with us. I'm sure we'll see you again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
somewhat overpriced. Told me that the in-house Internet was free, then I was charged eight dollars. Also, each time I use the printer in the business office I got charged eight dollars. That seems a bit steep for printing one page of paper.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by GL, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback. We invite you to join our complimentary loyalty program "Karma", so you can enjoy so many perks at our hotels and restaurants, including free WIFI. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kimpton Monaco Washington DC in the near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Location of the place is great but be aware that the majority of rooms do not have windows and are a bit claustrophobic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by GL, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our exceptional location in the center of downtown DC. At the Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, we have many different room types with different sizes and locations, just let us know your room preference, and we'll make every effort to offer you the room you like. Please come back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Slightly understaffed?

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The style and decor were grand in a hip sort of way.
Cons: Add staff when the hotel is busy!
Location: The location is great for walking to The Mall and other historical attractions.
The hotel is lovely, chic with a nod to American History. The rooms were spacious and clean. However there were a few off items. 1) Our room was not ready upon our arrival after 3PM. A little frustrating after a 5 hour drive. We were told to walk around and someone would call when the room was ready. No call. 2) The iron in our room had a broken retractable cord which made it impossible to use. 3) The shower faucet sprayed water out the top which caused the entire bathroom and ceiling to be sprayed with water. 4) The inside bar was closed on a Saturday night around 11pm although both bars outside weee packed. We had to forego a nice quiet drink. 5) It took over 30 minutes to retrieve out car even though we were told 10 minutes. All the staff were helpful but seemed a bit overwhelmed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by GL, Hotel Management
Chris: Thank you for your review. I'm very glad to know that you liked the unique decor of our historic building. So true, our location in the center of downtown DC is exceptional, all our guests love it. On the other hand, please know that I have shared your challenge that you experienced with the appropriate department leader, so we can use this to improve on our processes which allow us to get better each and every day. We strive to provide the best possible experience to our guests choosing Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, and I apologize for the issues you mentioned in your review. I'll personally look into each and every one of them, and make sure they are fully addressed. Thank you once again for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kimpton Monaco Washington DC in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach, FL

Disappointing

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Stay somewhere else. This hotel only has location going for it. Staff are not friendly. Hotel rooms have tiny beds (double beds seriously?), our room was not cleaned entirely, decor needs updating and there are Ikea blankets (saw the tags) on the beds. Doesn't seem like a well managed property. Fell very short of our expectations especially for a Kimpton Hotel. Felt ripped off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by GL, Hotel Management
I truly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us in providing coaching to our team as we share your individual experience. Please know that I have shared your challenge that you experienced with the appropriate department leader, so we can use this to improve on our processes which allow us to get better each and every day. We strive to provide the best possible experience to our guests choosing the Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, and I apologize we fell short in providing you the type of experience which left you with a completely positive lasting impression. Thank you once again for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gotham City

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Great hotel room with awesome décor. The service was excellent as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by HA, Hotel Management
Batman: Thank you very much for the five stars. I'm glad you enjoyed our services and facilities during your recent stay with us. I'm sure we'll see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Cons: Our sink in our bathroom seems to be clogged. It took a long time for the water to go dow
Centrally located. Unbelieveable staff!!! Will stay again when we come back to D.C.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by HA, Hotel Management
Linda: Thank you for your review. I'm very happy to know that our service met your expectations during your recent stay with us. Sorry about the issue you mentioned in your review. I'll make sure it's fully addressed. Thank you once again for your feedback. Please come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Luxury hotel 3 blocks from the National Mall.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
It was awesome to walk to the National Mall! A luxury hotel, and not expensive (we stayed in August, maybe it was off season). Large room with high vault ceiling on 2nd floor - exactly as it looks on the pictures (but note that the 3rd, top floor is low - a servant floor they way they were built in the 19th century.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by HA, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the five stars. I'm very happy to know that our service met your expectations during your recent stay with us. I'm sure we'll see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great location to most of DC's tourist sites.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Please add towel racks and shelving to the bathroom.
Location: Walking distance to the Smithsonian, Capitol, White House and several main museums. Across from a metro station.
Overall the room was acceptable though the wallpaper was peeling in the corner. Due to the configuration on the room, there was little space to hang/store our clothes so we lived out of our suitcases. The bathroom could use some towel racks/hooks and shelving for toiletries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by HA, Hotel Management
Ali: Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our exceptional location in the center of downtown DC. Thank you for your suggestion, I'll personally look into it with our team. Next time you come back, I recommend the Monte Carlo room type for you, these rooms are spacious and have enough room for everyone to stretch. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kimpton Monaco Washington DC in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Comfortable

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The front desk staff is amazing. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating. She s very up front with us about the wedding thay will take placs that night and let us choose to stau on yhe fourth floor or the first which is quiter. We checked in around 4 pm and when out for dinner. Didnt get our suitcase in until 10 pm, at the time we couldn't find any bellman to help us out with the suitcases, so the 2 women have to drag the big bags up the steps by ourselves ( there s no ramp in front of this hotel) this is painful and upon arrival we noticed the emergency exit door on the first floor was left open ( anyone can get in to this hotel) we feel un safe, so I went up and told the front desk. They immediately sent someone to taken care of it. Though this is almost a 5 star hotel it should have alarm set up at the door when someone leave it open so this doesn't happen again in the future. Other than that everything is awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by HA, Hotel Management
gena:Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our services and facilities during your recent stay with us. Great to know that our Front Desk team met your expectations during your stay. Thank you once again for your suggestion in regards to the emergency door, I'll personally look into it with our team and address immediately. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kimpton Monaco Washington DC in the near future.