Ratings based on 1,767 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, clean, and conveniently located

Posted Apr 15, 2018
Pros: Good location and friendly staff
Location: It's an easy walk to the National Portrait Gallery.
The hotel is in an ideal location for walking to museums, restaurants, and public transit. The room was clean and comfortable and the service was excellent. We will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 12, 2018
The hotel's location alone makes it a great choice, but it's also a great hotel. I don't have anything bad to say about our stay there. The fitness facility was fantastic. The room was clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay there again for any future trips to DC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great stay!!!

Posted Apr 12, 2018
I brought my kids to Washington DC for the first time and stayed at the Renaissance. It was an amazing hotel centrally located to where everything was in walking distance. We have found our hotel of choice in the DC area and will stay there every time we visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2018 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Greg, thank you for the generous rating of the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel. It’s a pleasure knowing you and your kids had a great time with us and loved our convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. James E. Pannell, Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2018
I'm vegan and was pleased to find food on the menu I could eat. Great location. I was able to walk to many places. Plus the staff and restaurant personnel were helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel. Close to everything.

Posted Apr 7, 2018
Very happy with the hotel and it’s location. Fast check in. Valet car service. All very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

Close to Convention Center

Posted Apr 6, 2018
I stayed one night and had a great experience. Great location near the convention center, about one block. Bar and restaurant were great. Bed was comfy and we were lucky enough to have a corner room with a nice city view!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Hotel is average

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Average hotel, comfortable bed, mostly clean. There was dirty walls that look like they were sprayed with old drink or food? But the linens looked clean as did the sink and tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2018 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Liz, thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy your overall stay was good, but we want it to be perfect. Your concerns regarding the cleanliness issues will be shared with my housekeeping team to take corrective actions. We hope you will choose us again whenever you are in the area. James E. Pannell, Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Got the corner room.

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Pros: Clean and convenient.
Cons: Put locks on all windows so guests can lock them shut if they want.
Location: Arena and convention center are both walking distance.
I've stayed at this hotel numerous times, and it has almost always been a pleasant experience. (There was one previous stay where I observed an apparently disorganized convention going on and what seemed like chaos at the lobby, but that didn't directly affect me too much.) For this particular stay, they booked me in the awesome corner room with two walls of windows! In fact, when I walked up to the front desk to check-in (there was no line), the front desk lady mentioned that the room was already reserved and waiting for me. I had no idea I would get such an awesome room with a beautiful direct view of the convention center. The room had a fridge that was very cold, and a room thermostat that was very effective. Warm water came easily from the shower, though there was a short wait. A small complaint is that one of the windows slides open and closes, but there is no way to lock it closed. My floor was very high up so I wasn't worried about any intruders other than maybe Spiderman, but still I want the peace of mind of being able to lock the windows. There were literally four power outlets right next to the bed on the side where I slept, so charging electronics was no issue. There is a parking garage directly under the hotel with elevator directly leading to the lobby, but you pay separate and it's expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2018
It was nice hotel close to any major places. I mainly walked to go there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for including the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel in your travel plans. We are delighted you found our location to be an enjoyable part of your visit. We hope you will come back to see us soon. James E. Pannell, Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

early check in

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Pros: Clean, remodeled, great location
Location: great restaurants, breweries, shopping really close by walk in distance from all monuments
Clean, remodeled rooms We were able to check in earlier, very convenient when travelling All amenities on premises