Ratings based on 2,078 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel - Excellent Location

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Location, Beds
Cons: House Keeping skipped us the first night - no big deal, but odd........
Hotel is very near the monuments and the White House. Great property, comfortable rooms - typically Sofitel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Alexandra Byrne, Hotel Management
We are happy to offer turndown service upon request on the first night of your stay. Thank you for sharing your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Great registration staff - concierge was MIA but check-in woman helped us find a great restaurant for dinner since the hotel’s restaurant was closed
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Alexandra Byrne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel, Bad Service

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Location, room, quiet.
Cons: Room service, hotel restaurant service and food.
The hotel is located in a prime spot, near the White House, restaurants, tour bus stops, etc. The room was very nice and clean with a comfortable bed, large bathroom, big screen tv, nice amenities. It was also very quiet. I did have several issues with Room Service getting my orders wrong and the food was only fair and the service in the hotel's restaurant for breakfast was horrible as was the food. Would definitely recommend the hotel for it's room and facilities and location but would not recommend room service or the hotel restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Alexandra Byrne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We will share your comments with our director of food and beverage. Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Jolla

Excellent Hotel, Good Value and Location

Posted Nov 26, 2017
The rooms were super comfortable and in excellent condition. All hotel staff were super friendly. Excellent lobby bar/restaurant on ground floor. Across Street is an amazing 5-star restaurant, Joe's Seafood and Steaks. We arrived at midnight and decided to walk two blocks to White House. It was eerie as we were the only ones standing in front of White House, except for security people dressed in black! (it was like we were not supposed to be there, kind of scary). We took the greatest family photo of ALL time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Alexandra Byrne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and quality for the price

Posted Nov 21, 2017
We had a great experience overall, the atmosphere is very distinctive, it feels a bit of Paris in DC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Alexandra Byrne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, CA

Close to everything and so nice

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Location was perfect, atmosphere was relaxed but friendly, staff was attentive and professional, rooms clean and comfortable.
This hotel is perfectly located within walking distance to the Mall and the Smithsonian museums; we ended up walking more than driving our rental car. The staff was extremely professional and seemed genuinely interested in us having a good stay. They were all extremely courteous and attentive regardless of who was at the front desk or at the valet. We ordered room service a few times for dinner after seeing the sights wore us out too much to go get food, and the meals were very good and well-proportioned. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was quite spacious, too. I, personally, loved the scent of their toiletries (Orange and Amber) and ended up using their products the entire week we were there instead of the ones I brought. There were wonderful little touches, too. For example the turn down staff made sure to play the clock radio on a classical music station so there was beautiful music playing as we came back from the day! We really enjoyed our stay at Sofitel and - budget permitting - would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Alexandra Byrne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

All but the basucs

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Everything but how they handle mundane but important things.
Cons: Service, friendliness at the desk.
Location: The best in DC by far. Steps from the most impressive scenes in the capital.
At last, Sofitel is on par with Motel 6 in free WiFi, but they consistently muff wake up calls- the same way the did on my last stay over five years ago And they’re pretty snooty when you mention it. I love this property, and it has the most comfortable bar in DC. But I don’t feel valued there after quite a number of Sofitel stays at this location as well as in New York and Paris.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Alexandra Byrne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Relocation, location, location

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Location and room comfort/asthetics
Cons: The check in clerk told us we qualified for a 15% cafe discount. However the resturant knew nothing about it
Location: Everything considered a major attraction including the White House is within walking distance or a short cab ride
We were more than happy with all aspects of the Sofitel. I highly recommend it for location, comfort and quality. Don't hesitate to stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Alexandra Byrne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toms river , nj

Everything was fantastic...

Posted Nov 12, 2017
First time at this hotel ... everything was first class ...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Alexandra Byrne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and wonderful photos. We look forward to welcoming you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pembroke Pines

Close to everything😊

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Everything😊
Location: Location was Great! We could walk to almost every place we wanted to go. White House was only about a block away.
All hotel staff were very professional and extremely nice. The restaurant is excellent. Highly recommend eating there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Alexandra Byrne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you were able to take advantage of our central location and enjoy beautiful Washington DC. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.