Ratings based on 2,161 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to centre

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Walking distance to very important places in DC, lot of restaurant choices close to it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to White House and metro station.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Even though we were on the 8th floor you could still here the traffic and street noise. More insulation needed for windows. Noise kept waking me up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Cons: Blackout curtains don't actually cover the windows and don't slide.
Great hotel for the price. Decent location for White House, monuments and museums, but also for Dupont Circle. Weird blackout curtains that don't slide and so can't cover the windows, making them redundant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jamison

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Overall it was a good experience. Bathroom door lock was broken, but I didn't notify hotel staff due to short stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great Location & Staff, older facility

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Loved the location and staff!
The hotel is located in a great spot. We were exceptionally close to the African American Museum, White House, restaurants & nightlife. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful....front desk, Greeters & Bar staff. There were only a couple of downsides....the building was an older building and our room was a bit small. We didn't spend a ton of time in the room, but it was definitely smaller than I anticipated for the cost.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing for a Hilton

Posted Oct 31, 2017
My daughter and I stayed overnight at the weekend. Staff were very attentive, pleasant and polite. Our room however had an unpleasant smell. The comforter was not put in a cover, and there were no water bottles in the room. Decor dated and in need of a renovation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from PA

Washington D.C.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Rooms nicely decorated and spacious.
Cons: Check-in when booked through Expedia.
Location: Downtown Washington, D.C. Closes to White House, Smithsonian Museums, Washington Mall with the memorials.
The only frustration we had was with check-in. I booked two rooms from Expedia and was told that the reservation was confirmed. When we arrived at the hotel, they could not find a reservation for us. The desk clerk had to speak with the manager and then call Expedia. I then had to talk with Expedia to confirm who I was and get the confirmation numbers to relay to the desk clerk. This process took quite a while. Expedia needs to check into this problem so future guests booking the Capital Hilton through Expedia do not have the same frustration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best elevators—very efficient and fast

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Our room was located near construction that began with a jack hammer atb7;00 am Saturday morning. Perhaps wouldn’t have been a issue if the band playing in the ballroom below our 5th floor room the night before hadn’t kept us awake untitled midnight. Otherwise enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smaller rooms than expected

Posted Oct 17, 2017
This hotel was alright, the rooms were smaller than expected for a Hilton and for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Location good for the sights, poor for noise

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Noisy construction site across the street and poor windows
Location: Walkable to all the sights downtown.
Snarky check-in staff when she couldn't find our Hilton honors membership in the system and we didn't want to re-register to get the free wifi. Comfortable room with all the mod cons and we didn't need wifi... shame we were next to a building site that started work at 6am on Saturday morning. Everything else was great with our stay.