Ratings based on 755 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice rooftop bar

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Beautiful views from rooftop bar. It was a little cold but if you dress appropriately you’ll be fine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Great stay, staff was exceptional

Posted Jan 13, 2018
We had a very great experience staying at the W. The hotel staff, Briana specifically went out of her way to make our stay special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra Australia

Great hotel in Washington DC

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: The location, the vibe, the views, the reception and concierge staff.
Cons: Some of the serving staff at the restaurant - two young girls assigning tables for breakfast were more interested in gossiping and checking their cell
Location: Most of the main monuments and sites are within walking distance. The hop on hop off trolley tour stops just outside and the Whitehouse is next door.
The reception and concierge staff were wonderful and made our stay very pleasant. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring Washington and the rooftop bar is a great place to watch the sunset over the Whitehouse and Washington Monument.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Needs better cleaning staff

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Very nice hotel - great location. Cleaning staff needs to pay more attention to the way they clean the rooms, which was a consistent comment from other reviews on Expedia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington d.c.

Room with a view didnt really have a view

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Only view was office building next door. Also the elevators were so busy taking drinkers up to their roof bar that they took myself amd my wife in her white wedding dress through the filthy dirty kitchen floor and cargo area to a maintenance elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent Staff - Weird Décor

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: The staff and dining. These made the trip. They are the best.
Cons: The décor. Odd, weird and often bizarre lacks. Also, if you know children are staying... take the condoms out of the room. Just bad taste.
Location: A block from the White House. The center of everything Washington DC. Spend the extra dollars for a room with a view. It's worth every penny.
I do not recall encountering a more helpful and professional staff from door to concierge. Five stars without hesitation. The hotel restaurant, Pinea, was the definition of fine dining and was affordable for the area. Here too, five stars all around. To the staff, you were outstanding and we appreciate you. The rooms were clean and comfortable. If you need anything, let the staff know and they will take care of you. The only detraction I have concerning the W Washington is the décor. The building architecture's dignity is violated by some witless designer that thinks themselves trendy I would imagine. Black lights in the lighting and giant unexplainable murals on the otherwise beautiful walls give this hotel the feel of something out science fiction vampire movie. Add to this the odd thumping of borderline techno music at all hours and you have the picture.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, NJ

$55 dollars for Overnight Valet - Welcome to DC!

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Hotel was trendy revamped hotel, but when you check in, make sure you ask about the hotel Valet - they ask for CC for incidentals, and never mention the $55 Valet - if I knew that, I would have investigated other parking options. Bathroom sink had a leak near faucet or drain, so placed hand towel to prevent a second puddle of water on the floor - beds not that comfortable. And you need to swipe your key to activate the elevator - another thing that the front desk staff should have disclosed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saratoga Spings,NY

Excellent location!

Posted Dec 3, 2017
My room was nice. The fitness room had modern equipment including a rowing machine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Had a good time will come back next year friendly. hi hi hi hi hi hi hi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2017
great Thanksgiving get away, Great Location, would stay again.