Ratings based on 1,563 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Long leisure weekend

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Primarily the location
Cons: The boarding pass printer in the lobby was running low on ink. Seriously, that's the only thing I can think of.
Location: Great location for the Metro, mere blocks to the Mall, White House, and all kinds of restaurants and shopping.
Unbeatable location AND there's a Starbuck's in the lobby. We didn't require anything else, but the wifi and smart TV in the room were a plus. Plenty to do within walking distance. Staff was very attentive. It definitely caters to business people during the week, but they're generally easy to get along with :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL

Great hotel, close to everything by foot/Metro...

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Concierge, staff interactions Pool/gym LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION Room cleanliness and toiletries In-hotel Starbuck's
Cons: Less meatheads in the gym on weekday mornings (totally out of their control, obviously!)
Location: Everything. Nothing is too far. Smithsonian Museums, the Metro to the National Zoo, the monuments and National Mall. The location is the best!
Although I gathered from our stay during the week that this is mostly a hotel for business travelers, we were very pleased with our stay. The room was small, but we didn't spend time in it outside of sleeping and getting ready for the day. It was very convenient to Starbucks (in the lobby downstairs) and multiple spots for breakfast in the mornings (Cosi around the corner and Panera down the block). The Metro station (Metro Center) is right next door. The walk to the National Mall, monuments, and museums is convenient and easy. The gym is nice, well-stocked, and very busy on the weekday mornings (although deserted on the weekends). The pool was a great perk for the kids after a long day sightseeing. But, most of all, I would like to say how lovely the staff was. Mr. Joseph (or Joe as his name tag read) was wonderful to my two children. He gave fist bumps and high-fives, had stuffed animals for them, and even sent up cookies and ice cream after dinner one evening. The kids loved the stay - and, in turn, we loved seeing our kids have a great trip. I would highly recommend for staying with kids due to the pool and fabulous concierge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
We were in DC for the weekend and the Hotel and staff were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great Hotel with Excellent Staff

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Staff, hotel rooms, amenities, location.
Cons: Nothing!
The hotel was central to everything to do in DC--well appointed, very clean and modern with lovely amenities. However, the winning aspect for me was the unparalleled staff who went above and beyond to make our visit special and to make us feel like family--they really did. Everyone from the bell man to the front desk to the housekeeping staff was pleasant and very helpful when asked for recommendations. I would highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

The Metro for the WIN

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We had a great experience. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to be sure you are satisfied. We walked everywhere we went. Concert, White House, The Mall, food trucks, Restaurants, Walgreens. It was 5-20 minutes walk everywhere we went.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lots of rats and homeless people around the place

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Good food, some folks were polite
Cons: Put out kill boxes and traps for the rats,, bus the homeless to a night shelter, wash the side walks in the am, remove mouse poop and homeless trash,,
Location: It's by metro center,, you can go anywhere, food choices are slim
Lots of rats around the grounds and I mean lots, had to swish them away with my shoe, there is always homeless people outside the doors, one man appears to be living in his spot and he's between the metro and the hotel entrance,, getting cup of coffee in your room is a jouerny ,,, I ended up getting dressed and going to get it myself,,,first vacation in three years ,, not the best choice Lousy sleep, the in room referartior made constant noises and popping sounds, sounds like someone coming in the room,, horriable sleep, the in wall ac unit the metal cover was loose or something ,, every time it would cycle the fins would rattle, same thing no sleep,,,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yonkers NY

Central, comfortable, friendly staff

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Very enjoyable stay, restaurant breakfast was very satisfactory, staff were unfailingly polite, location is perfect, close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
2nd time staying at the hotel, it is excelent, with a super location, everthing is in walking distance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great downtown DC hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Location: Ford's Theatre/Museum is 3 blocks away. A National Park so that entry is just a processing fee of $3. I did get the audio phone, just $5 and helpful
I was traveling via Metro and this hotel is right next to Metro Center. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom even had a tub which allowed a restful soak.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

The hotel was centered near the National Mall.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Location, clean and nicely appointed.
Cons: Seasonal menu offerings and insect treatment in resturant.
Location: Visited capitol, toured the National Mall, many museums were fantastic, saw the Shakespear play "Othello", visited Madam Tussand Wax Museum, shopped.
Upon arriving was greeted by the bell staff at curb. The were friendly and helpful. We were very tired the first night, but had dinner in the Fire and Sage restuarant menu very limited in food offerings but good. Next evening went for cocktails during Happy hour and had a cockroach cross our table. Needless to say that made us seek outside food sources as didn't feel comfortable eating in the hotel. Did report it to our waiter Bill. Overall a good experience and hotel location allowed us to walk and sightsee.