Ratings based on 1,126 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York

Nice Hotel close to the White House

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Nice hotel and a lot of history but the cleaning is terrible. Everything was covered with dust.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston ma

Great hotel right by White House

Posted Nov 9, 2017
The hotel was very nice , beautiful decor . It was older but that is the great thing about this hotel is its history. The hotel was so clean and so close to everything .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Perfect location

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Location, ambiance.
Cons: More consistency in room service.
Location: The Mall is close, with all of its museums and sights. Shopping and good restaurants are within walking distance.
The Willard is the perfect location for visiting the museums and other government facilities in D.C. It is a short walk to the midpoint of the Mall, and within walking distance to a number of excellent restaurants and good shopping. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is beautiful and old world elegant, but has enough modern amenities to make it a good choice for business travel also. Our only complaint is that room service was erratic. On one evening we waited 1.5 hours for a salad and flatbread order. On another occasion we ordered for two, and were delivered an order for one. I will note that the food was consistently excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Excellent Accomidations... Outstanding Location..

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Location & Convenience
Cons: Restraunts...
Location: Centrally located to all downtown district..
Close to White House, National Mall, & Monuments....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Great hotel and historical significance. Like the "dated" feel. It added to the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great hotel and location

Posted Oct 27, 2017
The hotel is comfortable and clean. The staff was very helpful and attentive. I had requested a wake up call and received it. However after a shower the phone rang again and it was a follow up call. They had called while I was in the shower and didn’t hear the phone. The person on the other end said I was just following up to make sure you were up. He said the phone kept ringing and there was no answer. I just wanted to check. Then said would you like to order breakfast. If not have a pleasant morning. I cannot capture the spirit in this post but it was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loudoun County, VA

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Celebrating our 5th anniversary at the Willard in DC! Matthew at the front desk made sure we were able to have a larger room than originally booked as well as a free gift! Also had a great brunch of omelets and eggs Benedict. Wait staff was also prompt and accurate with their service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atl

Family trip

Posted Oct 1, 2017
We had two rooms. There was a scale in the bathroom that was not functioning - no big deal. The housekeeping staff did not consistently replenish the coffee supplies each day in both rooms, which was frustrating. Very popular lively bar downstairs. Overall excellent experience!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lodi, CA

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Convenience to everything.
Cons: Can't think of a thing
Location: The Hamilton restaurant was very good. All the sights of Washington are close. Sightseeing buses stop at the hotel or taxi service is always availible
The room was a little smaller than I expected for a 5 star hotel. The view from our room & the convenience of Washington DC restaurants area was great. We had a White House Tour & was able to walk to it in about 3 minutes. The staff was wonderful they made me feel important.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Our stay at the Willard was exceptional. Everything about this hotel is 10 out of 10. Looking forward to our next stay!