Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Emporia, KS

Great Place to Stay for a Concert or Event

Posted Jul 21, 2017
My husband and I stayed here to attend the Paul McCartney concert. The hotel staff were wonderful! Very nice and the hotel offered free shuttle service to and from Intrust Bank Arena. We used the service and it was greatly appreciated with the crowd at the concert and the 100+ temperatures! Our room was clean and comfortable. Not luxurious, but great for what we needed. Good free breakfast buffet and we were pleasantly surprised by the range of offerings (bacon, eggs, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee.) I don't know if this was a special arrangement because of the concert, but breakfast was offered 6 to 11 am. We were not early risers the next day, so that was great for us! We love going to concerts at Intrust and we will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It is guests like yourselves that makes us want to work harder and improve in our hospitality offerings. The breakfast you enjoyed is not a special arrangement. We offer this breakfast every single day free of charge regardless of what's going on in the city. Our bacon is different than most places because the bacon we use are extra thick cut bacon that's actually cooked on our grill. It is far more expensive than the standard microwaved thin bacon you see at other establishments. Our fruit is fresh and not from a bag. We hand cut them every morning. We offer fresh strawberries, blueberries, kiwi, pineapple, honeydew, cantaloupe, green grapes, red grapes, and black grapes as standard fruit items along with our eggs, premium bacon, premium sausage, biscuits gravy, choice of several cereals, milk, coffee, juices. We hope to see you at the next concert and look forward to serving you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Things are closed

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The restaurant/lounge is closed nothing but vending machines in the evening. The staff showed us in a different room than we were actually in. The rooms are very small, more like a continental hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what it shows on picture

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to my conference location
Cons: a lot of improvement including customer service.
First I was given keys to a room that was not cleaned and beds not bed. Second room looked a little better but AC did not work. Had to move to another room the next day after repeated request for the AC to be fixed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do take these reviews seriously and we have checked the logs for your "repeated requests" for the A/C to be fixed and did not find it anywhere. Had you requested the A/C to be fixed we would have replaced it right away with a brand new unit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas

Good hotel with good access.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The owner was great! Shuttle to and from the concert. This hotel isn't new but it's clean and the people are friendly. Pool is nice and breakfast was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure for me to drive you to the concert! I'm glad you enjoyed our salted heated pool and our breakfast. I hope you come by and visit us again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bedbugs.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We travel with bedbug spray. Sprayed the bed and bedskirt before getting into the bed, and the bed bugs immediately began scampering to get away from the spray. They moved us to a different room, but the new room had wet carpet all around the air conditioner, and the sink made a terrible noise when you turned on the water. They did refund our money for one night, but we probably won't be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We completely removed everything from your room when you claimed you had found bedbugs and did not find a single bed bug in the room. We had the room professionally heat treated just to be on the safe side even though the pest control company could not find a single evidence of any bed bugs, blood spots, or droppings anywhere. Unfortunately, sometimes bedbugs can be found in your suitcases from traveling. Even when you travel first class in an airplane the luggage is all mixed in with other travelers, so the most likely location of these bedbugs (if they existed) must be in your luggage. Also, if any reasonable person had seen bedbugs scampering away in the bed they wouldn't have spent the night in the room and waited until the next afternoon to bring it to the management's attention.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be great

Posted Jun 28, 2017
When I booked this room I was very excited. Upon our arrival that went down hill pretty quickly. The lady at the desk was polite, and efficient. We received our keys and headed up stairs. The carpets in the hall were dirty, the small hall entrance to our room was blocked by the people in the room beside us, the beds were full size, not the QUEENS we had requested. The mattresses were not comfortable, not sure how long the air had been off but it was almost 90 degrees out and the room was over warm and stuffy. I marked 4 guests and we were left two bath towels and two wash clothes. We went to the desk to ask for more the second night and were told they had none and couldn't get more because house keeping was already gone. The tub had a pretty noticeable chip in the side, the bathroom was tiny and had no vent fan for the shower steam. The overall neglected feeling and lack off attention to details means we won't be back and won't be recommending it to friends.
2 out of 5
by Sarah

Sucked

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
We were promised a bar, which was closed for remodeling, a mini fridge in the room that didn't work, and a shuttle which only ran one day. Not impressed for the price - will not stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is older, but clean. Our suite had varied mattress quality, with the queens having nice firm memory foam and the king an older, softer traditional mattress which was much less comfortable. The bathroom was the smallest I've ever been in anywhere and the toilet was extremely low.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Not bad for the price. Only complaint was the bed was uncomfortable
4 out of 5
by Kateri

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in a family suite and it was by far the most comfortable arrangement that we had in a 14 day roadtrip. The area around the hotel seemed a little "run down" but in just a 5 min drive you are in downtown Wichita with lots of local spots and good food. Breakfast was delicious