Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia's reservation was incorrect.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Placed on hold for one hour several times while they supposedly tried to get a supervisor, was given the run around. Holiday Inn saying they did not have another room the same as I booked. It took two days to straighten things out, very frustrating and did not believe Expedia and the Holiday Inn were sincere in anything, it was terrible customer service. Plus I had to pay for parking, and I asked about maybe a complimentary breakfast which I believe I had the last time and they said no. The carpet at the entrance to the room was also very dirty.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Hotel was old. Hallway floors were very dirty. Parking was not convenient
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
It is an ok hotel. Breakfast quality could be improved.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to share your comments and make us aware of your experience. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property. Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host your next visit to our fair city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2017
The hotel was centrally located, reasonably priced, clean and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your positive experience you had with our hotel.We are pleased to hear that you experienced the comfort of our room, the friendliness of our staff and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer with our great location. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Parking was great you can walk to all kinds of restaurants stores and mts center
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your positive experience you had with our hotel. We are pleased to learn that you had the chance to take advantage of all we have to offer with our great location. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
No proper thermostat in room. Couldn’t maintain stable room temperature.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I would like to apologize your stay was not 100% satisfactory. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us, and we are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the room thermostat. We take feedback very seriously as our guest comments enable us to target problem areas. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Good stay

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Great staff that is helpful. Helped me find places to eat and places to see
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel, and for taking the time to post a review of the Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown. I am happy you had the chance to take advantage of all we have to offer with our great location and that you were pleased with the service we strive to achieve. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Terrible. Wouldn't recommend.

Posted Oct 12, 2017
When i was checking out i was assaulted by some random person off the street. I also had to pay extra for a parking pass which didnt work when i tryed to exit. I was not inmpressed by my stay at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Winnipeg. We are very sorry about the incident with the random person and I know the police were informed of the incident as safety and security as extremely important to us as a hotel and we want to ensure this very rare thing does not happen again. As with all major downtown hotels, we do not own the parking and as such do have to charge for parking, however this partnership does allow for in and out access to the attached parkade during your stay. I am unsure why this did not work for your pass but apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and have forwarded these concerns to the parking operators.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Close to rink. Easy walk. Parking a bit of a hassle. Room was pretty standard but clean. Staff was helpful. Would stay again if need be.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience here at the Holiday Inn and Suites Winnipeg Downtown. It is great to hear that you had the chance to take advantage of all we have to offer with our great location and that you were pleased with the service we strive to achieve. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sioux lookout, on

Close to everything

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Hotel was a bit difficult to find, check-in was easy, parking is $15/night, definitely need directions to find the Parkade which the hotel registration clearly maps out. I will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience here at the Holiday Inn and Suites Winnipeg Downtown. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the service we strive to achieve. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!