Ratings based on 1,104 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Night away

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Beautiful building
Cons: Pool facilities
Beautiful Hotel, great service. Pool and hot tub area dated, and hours in the evening too short.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice historic hotel in a nice location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: I love the history of it. It also feels classy.
Cons: I would have liked a better view.
Location: The hotel is close to both the downtown area, the Red River, and the Forks. It is convenient for any special activities that might be occurring.
I enjoyed my stay oat the Fort Garry Hotel. It was quiet and peaceful, even though many various events were going on.The staff was very helpful and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel in the forks

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Hotel is beautifully kept. Staff are very accommodating and polite. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thunder Bay, Ontario

For that very special weekend..

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location, history, reputation.
Cons: nothing
Location: the station, museums, hockey rink, ballet, the forks, shopping!!
had the good fortune to be able to book a suite at the Fort Garry Hotel in Winnipeg. Was a very special get away as we were celebrating our 43 wedding anniversary. Usually we fly south or east (UK), but this year with the situation in the southern US and with problems in Europe we decided to stay in Canada and re-visit Winnipeg. Cant say enough about the Fort Garry, except it IS a very old hotel. Old when you look at the History of Canada. Built in the early 1900's by the railroad, it seems that nothing was spared at the time of construction... Well built.. and built to last! Comfort at it's finest when built, and still continues today. We did stay in a suite, so I can't comment on the regular rooms, but the suite was unbelievable. Spacious, and super clean, it is a memory that we will never forget. The staff was unbelievably "super" friendly and made us feel like royalty. Food was unbelievable, entertainment in the lounge fantastic,. Room service prompt and perfect. I could go on and on, but you MUST check this place out to believe it if you are looking for a fantastic place to stay. Have stayed at many top of the line hotels and the Fort Garry is at the top of my list for places to return to. Enjoy your stay and take a walk to the station and to the Forks for Winnipeg's hospitality at it's best!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from horseshoe valley, on

Perfect downtown location

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Hotel architecture and character. Staff was wonderful
Cons: Nothing. It was an easy check in and out
Location: The Forks, human rights museum, walking trails, rivers, downtown
Close to the Forks, walking trails, museum and the rivers. Beautiful, old hotel with tons of character. Wonderful stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg mb

an excellent hotel close to all amenities

Posted Sep 28, 2017
It was our Anniversary wknd and they upgraded us to a suite for no charge it was amazing❤
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and Excellent location

Posted Sep 25, 2017
It's my second stay and I am satisfied, I would recommend to anyone looking for a place that's comfortable and secure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic, historic accommodation in downtown core.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Great friendly staff, extremely clean, super comfy bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The entire hotel is beautiful. The room was very cozy and the bed was so comfortable that I wanted to stay in it all day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great old hotel in downtown Winnipeg

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Cons: Expensive parking and breakfast buffet, for $$17, is not as good as it used to be.
Lovely stat at the Fort Garry - convenient, nice ambience. Comfortable beds.