Ratings based on 405 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by mike

for you're a better man than I, Gunga Din

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
There was a guy who came in about 23:30 and wheezed and made gawd awlful noises till 7 AM. The was some poor Indian sleeping right next to him who could not have slept at all. When the Indian left at 6 AM I asked him. Did you have a good nite's sleep. I couldn't help but laugh. It was a bad nite for both of us..
2 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Family of four

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
We had a family room which was basic. Hard beds, super small tv, and no AC. We had to have the windows open at night but it was so loud because this hotel is a youth hostel and is next to several train tracks. The hotel had a small kids corner near the reception desk. They advertised free parking which is the main reason we picked this hotel but they told us they only have a few free spots and they were already taken. They said they have some spots for 8 Euro a night or free street parking near the hotel. There was no free coffee/tea either. They have breakfast for 7 Euro a day but we didn't try it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Second Stay

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Location, simple parking
Cons: More lighting in rooms
Stayed here in February 2015, and decided to stay again. Our first experience was good, our second was better. I will say this, after reading through various newer reviews before booking the second time around, I'm glad I wasn't put off and already knew better. This place is really close to the train station. Don't understand why someone said it isn't. It's along the same road, maybe a five minute walk, or less. We timed our family's walk to our first stop from the hostel: Residenz Schloss. 22 minutes. Though it seems shorter because there is a lot to see along the way! There is an Chinese/beergarten restaurant and two small Doner restaurants across the street, and there is an Aldi market behind the hotel (which was open on Christmas Eve morning). Parking is simple. You will hear the train go by often, but it didn't bother me while asleep. This time, our six person family was given a room with a queen sized bed set up (for the two of us adults), and there were two bunk sets for our four kids. Last time, we had three bunk sets for the six of us. I didn't make a special request, I figure it's the luck of the draw? Maybe call ahead and request if you require it. Also, this time our room had a TV in it, albeit computer monitor size. It did have CNN in English, but most channels were German. Not a bad thing considering I'm used to it. I live in Germany. Remeber, it's not the Ritz. It's a hostel. But a nicer one. If you keep the word hostel in mind, you'll be less disappointed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Adequate stay. No issues
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Rooms are clean, but are hotter than hell. Wasn't impressed with the added costs of staying which doesn't get included when paying on here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

O.K. but not sure I would stay again

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Price - cheaper than others
Cons: Bigger bathroom, make sure the drains aren't clogged!
Location: 10 minutes from the train station, but pretty far to walk to Old Town. Old Masters Art Museum and the Porcelain Museum were fantastic!
Fairly far to walk to the Old Town - about 30-40 minutes. Room was clean but the bathroom was tiny and my husband hit his head on the radiator knob which stuck way out right in front of the toilet! The bathroom is only about 3' wide! The shower didn't drain either, so you had to stand in yucky water and then rinse off your feet when you were done. The beds were actually more comfortable (e.g. less hard) than most other hotels we had stayed at - so that was a plus. Our room was at the end of the hall and our window/view looked out at the fire escape stairs! So the view was awful, but we were there mostly to sleep so it wasn't such a big deal. It was fairly quiet, except when the neighbors let their doors slam shut at 7am! Not sure I would stay there again. I would pick a place closer to the Old Town next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Satisfied stay

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Location is quite good, easy to find even at 11pm. Room facilities and number of beds are appreciated. Overall it was a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for Family

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Not very well renovated, but OK. The bathroom was clean and good. TV in the room, but only few channels available.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Tony T.S, Chi from South Korea

The best A&O I've ever been.

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
First of all, the staffs are the most friendly compare to other A&O. They always keep smiling, which is very impressive. The room condition was OK. Affordable to stay and convenient. Not far from main station but need to walk around 10 min. However, overall I'm happy with my stay.