Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely not a 4 star hotel!!!!

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived late. They tried to charge us for parking claiming that the free parking was on the street. They eventually waived the fee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phx

Not your usual Holiday inn!

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Orbitz
First off, there's no WiFi on the 4th floor! They said they will fix that but yeah... The laundry/ breakfast card from the prior guest was still in my room! I got charged twice for the room at check out. Trying to get my money from them right now its a nightmare. They need better trained staff!!!!!
4 out of 5
by 8

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Keith

Good place in Dresden

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel, great breakfast and easily in reach for the city centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Patrick Jacobsen, Hotel Management
Dear Keith, thank you so much for your great review. We hope you´ve enjoyed your stay and we can welcome you back, when your travel brings you next time to Dresden. Best Regards Dorith Zschach Holiday Inn Dresden-City South
4 out of 5
by Kin-Fai Ivan from Toronto

Parking is difficult and dangerous

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is so so. Parking is difficult and dangerous, breakfast is over cost.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor first room

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The first room we were given the air conditioning was broken and the shower was too small (We were constantly knocking the tap either off or to scolding heat). After complaining the hotel swiftly moved us to another room which was much better condition overall.
2 out of 5
by Jim from Cleveland, OH

False advertising

Posted Jun 9, 2014
1) No AC working on warmest day of year - and no significant effort made to repair it: Room was 30 to 32C (85-90F) when I arrived; by abut 1am, with windows fully open (only a few flies slept with me) T cooled nicely. 2) Only 30 minute free Wifi use provided, after that 6 euros: ridiculous to charge at this time in progress by itself, the employee insinuated that what more could I expect since I took a flyer on quality 3-star units. She was not unkind in saying it but obviously thought that I was a cheapskate and received what I deserved. 3) Angry? yes. As much at Expedia for allowing this facility to be part of mix and at me for thinking past (+) experiences with taking a flyer with Expedia would naturally occur again. But to not have a repairman correct - or try to correct - the no-AC problem makes FFF the #1 culprit. Many guests enjoyed themselves; they must have had a car - and perhaps paid full rate. Dresden none-the-less should remain on the itinerary for any traveler visiting Saxony.
4 out of 5
by David from Vancouver BC

A bit far from tourist destinations

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels
Overall it is a good hotel for its price, but beware: albeit its surrounding neighbourhood is a family friendly suburb, it is located in a suburb. This means about 30-40 minute walk or an extra transit ride to get to places. It isn't very hard to find; Dresden has planned street so it is comparably easier to navigate than other European cities.
5 out of 5
by Jez from Toledo

Good value easy access to the City Centre

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels
Access to the City Centre is very easy (bus stop outside hotel). the staff were very helpful and courteous. Nice stay.
5 out of 5
by keith from Michigan

Good affordable hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels
Near the city centre, bus stop immediately outside the hotel, so everywhere is accessible at little cost.