Ratings based on 1,000 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2018
Pros: Beautiful hotel, nice wifi, toiletries, robes/slippers, easy walk to the train station. Close to shopping/dining and the Opera.
Cons: Coffee/tea provided to use with the machine, maybe water bottles in the room.
Location: SHOPPING. Like serious shopping. And lots of restaurants, bars and spas.
The hotel itself is lovely, and has beautiful architectural detail. Free wifi was nice. There was one English channel on the TV. The pool area is very nice, as well. Bath robes and slippers in the room were a nice compliment to the comfy bed. The bathroom was large and very clean. We wished there was tea or coffee available in the room to enjoy at night or upon waking up, as there was Nescafe machine but they charged for each pod. After we departed, we received an email hours later saying we hadn't paid for 5 items from the minibar so they were charging that to our credit card. We used nothing from the very well-appointed mini-bar, so this came as an unsettling surprise. I emailed the English speaking receptionist back in English stating we did not use anything and expected the money to be refunded immediately. It was refunded the next day, I could tell by looking at our credit card, but the response I received was in German with no comments apologizing for the error.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Team Taschenbergpalais, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your positive review of the Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and you benefited from our location in the heart of the city. In order to support and strengthen the regional economy, it is important for us to collaborate with regional partners. That's why we source our coffee capsules from a local coffee roaster right here in Dresden. The price of 1 € per capsule helps to uphold this tradition. I would be very happy to welcome you again sometime soon at the Taschenbergpalais. With best regards Marten Schwass General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Very central can walk very easily to all attractions Lovely rooms kept very clean Overall very pleasant stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Marten Schwass General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Christine, Thank you very much for your positive review of the Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden. I am very happy to hear that you benefited from our location in the heart of the city and were fully satisfied with the service we provided for you. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the Taschenbergpalais. With best regards Marten Schwass General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kathleen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: The location, ambience, and architecture of the building.
Cons: Requests could be more closely followed.
Location: We attended the opera. The hotel concierge was kind enough to arrange for our tickets to be picked up for us.
Our only complaint is that we requested a room close to the elevator as we both have mobility issues. We were told at check out that it was close but it was not. It was also in a part of the hotel that was farthest away from the reception and entrance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Marten Schwass General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear User, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden. I am deeply regret that we cannot fulfil your room wishes. For your possible next stay, I will notice a room next to the elevator in your profile if you wish. I would be very happy to welcome you another time at the Taschenbergpalais to get the chance to show you a better side of us. With best regards Marten Schwass General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaverton, OR

I have nothing but nice things to say about this h

Posted Nov 7, 2017
I usually don't stay at five star facilities but through a happy circumstance, I was able to afford a night at the Hotel Taschenbergpalais. The staff treated me beautifully and my room was a delight with a lovely view of the Frauenkirche. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was furnished beautifully and the bathroom was impeccably clean with both shower and tub, robe and slippers and high-end beauty products. I especially enjoyed having an espresso maker in my room. I hope to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Marten Schwass General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Manya, Thank you very much for your positive review of the Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden. I am very happy to hear that you benefited from our location in the heart of the city and were fully satisfied with the service we provided for you. I am already looking forward to welcoming you again at the Taschenbergpalais. With best regards Marten Schwass General Manager
5 out of 5
by Saloumeh

Best of the best

Posted Oct 26, 2017 on Hotels
Best of the best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Memorable

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Incredible Hotel. Everything was top quality. Close by to many treasures to enjoy. Thank you for a great stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by Marten Schwass General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you very much for your positive review of the Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden. Making our guests happy and ensuring all their wishes are met is our main goal, and I am delighted that we could achieve this for you. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the Taschenbergpalais. With best regards Marten Schwass General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia.

Palatial accommodation in great location

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, close to the key places to visit and very comfortable. Good dining options.
Cons: Teabags as well as coffee in the room.
Location: The view from our windows was stunning. The Zwinger is across the street on one side and the Residenze Schloss on the other. Everything is walkable.
After arriving in Dresden by train it was bliss to check into a beautiful room, make a nice coffee in the machine provided and sink into a pair of very comfortable big armchairs to drink it. Our beds were exceptionally comfortable and the stylish bathroom provided both a bath and a separate shower. Our room was on a corner opposite the Zwinger and the Green Vault with superb views of the platz opposite. We were able to walk down to the reconstructed Cathedral of St Mary and shop or visit the many restaurants there while observing the many horse drawn carriages offering tours. We visited the three museums in the Zwinger and each was brilliant. August the Strong must be one of the greatest collectors in history. His astronomical instruments were the finest and most beautiful creations at the forefront of science in the fifteenth century, his ceramics from China and Japan in the same century incredibly beautiful and there are thousands of them and his art collection includes Rembrants, Reubens, Velasquez and other masters as well as a whole room of Canalettos. The Residenz Schloss across the street displays the treasures of the Green Vault artfully reassembled after it was bombed during WWII. We enjoyed the food at the hotel bistro and the pub which is also part of the huge building. The latter attracted many locals and had a great atmosphere. Breakfast was served in one of the huge restaurants and offered every imaginable option but was pricey. We loved our stay here.
4 out of 5
by Glenn

Really wanted a good swim!

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Room was great. However, annoyed that pool was under reno? Had I known, I would not have stayed here. Looking dated, needs a update. Otherwise, a pleasant stay.