Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Basic hotel in the not so nice part of the city

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: The price, although it's not a steal, it's the cheapest in town.
Cons: It's a bare bones operation, I don't think it will get any improvement.
Location: Location is not bad if you arrive by train. But the area is a bit seedy, it's like a huge 1980's shopping center that dies at night when stores close
This hotel works, that's all I can say. Hotels in Dresden are very expensive, and the Ibis are the cheapest in town. Very basic room, small bathroom, smaller shower, correct but curt service (after all, it's Germany, isn't it?). Not the nicest part of town, but if you want the beautiful old baroque neighborhood expect to pay at least twice as much. On the other hand, if you are arriving by train, hotel is only a 5 minute walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Let the sun shine in - only when you want it to!

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Easy check in and out.
Cons: Blackout curtains should be just that. Fan needed fixing.
Location: Would take several days! A terrific city.
Everything as expected for an Ibis hotel. Pity that wi-fi in the room is so expensive, but works OK at reception for free. 'Blackout' curtains let in a lot of light especially at the sides and bottom. Fan in bathroom not working. These items not really a problem for me so didn't complain. I know they say they will fix things rapidly but I didn't want the hassle after a long day travelling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Surprising view.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet room and good value. Only a few minutes walk to the center of town or the bahnhof.
Location: Very conveniently located. Lots of shops around too. For the diehards, a Starbucks across the alley.
Did not expect a view of Dresden from the hotel. Watched the evening set over the Frauenkirche, residenz, etc. Room was basic but clean and could open the window all the way for fresh air at night. Breakfast was good and full of chatty Germans having a good time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from London

Hotel located on the way from station to city

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: On the way from station to city. It's not a large city, easily done by walking. Significant reconstruction in pre-war style has taken place.
Good hotel, I know the Ibis chain, so I had an idea also what to expect which informed my decision to pick it. Good location, very friendly and helpful staff, I had some special logistic requests which they promptly arranged. A few minor issues - having three hotels with very similar names (Lilienstein etc.) on the same road is a bit confusing; it was not clear on Expedia that I would be booking different hotels by selecting one, as the photographs look extremely similar (GDR-style buildings - refurbished, of course). So, the description text when booking might be clearer in distinguishing them. The reason I noticed is that I was carrying heavy luggage with me and would have chosen the hotel closest to the train station if I were aware of the distinction. The room itself was quite tight at the writing desk's laptop corner; I didn't intend to spend much time there anyway, but may be an issue for others. WiFi is very expensive (something like EUR 10 per 24 hours, not sure about the longer-term tariffs); unfortunately, that seems to be the norm in Germany for any but absolute budget hotels. I ended up buying a pay-as-you-go stick in one of the shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the very center of Dresden

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Spotless rooms, friendly staff. A basic hotel, but the location is unbeatable- only steps from the main squares and sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Oct 12, 2013
it is good to live there and also the good location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for seeing Dresden and Saxony

Posted May 15, 2013
A very good budget hotel with a great breakfast albeit a pretty crowded restaurant and you will need to share a table. Free use of computers in Reception very useful. Location is great - easy walk to the Station and Old Town - right by the two largest stores - Peek & Cloppenberg and Karstadt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irene from Santa Barbara, CA

Very pleased with our stay

Posted Jul 12, 2012
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Poor circulation of air conditioning
Location: Excellent. Walking distance to most things of interest to visitors.
Hotel is in excellent location. Surrounded by shopping malls and cafes. Walking distance to most attractions and price is outstanding. I would recommend it to anyone not on a luxury budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by München from Munich, Germany

Good location!

Posted Jun 12, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Comparitively small room, very small and slow elevators (there are four of them, but you feel like you have to wait forever).
Location: Very good location
Perfect location for tourists. The old town is a short walk away, the pragerstr where the hotel is located offers loads of opportunities for shopping, food with even Kinos (movie hall) nearby.