Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location but disappointing service

Posted Apr 22, 2017
- Nice & clean hotel and guestrooms - Good location (however there was construction being done right beside the hotel which would have been nice to know prior to booking) - Didn't eat at the restaurant or use many of the facilities - Expected a higher level of service from staff. Cleaning staff barged into our room twice in the morning while we were sleeping, well before checkout, without knocking or addressing themselves. Reception staff could express more interest and appreciation in their guests rather than just giving and taking room keys and saying bye.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with our service. Our chambermaids are all advised to knock and to address themselves before opening and entering a guest room. We have the impression that they did that, but not loud enough so you probably did not hear them. As guests do not always leave their room when checked out at the reception we do not inform our chambermaids about checked-out rooms. We already informed our housekeeper in order to point out the importance of this procedure again to the chambermaids. Please use the red do-not-disturb-sign on your door during your next stay. It is with great regret that we have learned that you felt not welcome at the reception. We already spoke with our Front Office Manager, as this is not our policy at all. We would like to assure you that we most welcome you as a guest at our hotel. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences caused. We would be delighted to get another opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very well located

Posted Apr 7, 2017
It is a very nice hotel very well located and the staff is very friendly to help you with jogging ideas and places
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for this great review and for your visit in our house. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dresden in Dsec

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Location; friendliness of staff
Cons: Quality of mattress
Location: See above
Very friendly hotel staff, all the way to the porter. Got upgraded, that was nice, too;) Location of the hotel is perfect for a visit to the Zwinger, Frauenkirche and the Residenzschloss. Overall well worth a visit. The only downside: the mattress needed replacing ! It was old and worn out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, it was our pleasure to have been able to welcome you at our hotel. We are very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the mattress in your room. We gladly would have offered you to change the room or would have provided you with additional blankets according to your wishes. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences caused. We would be delighted to get another opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden. Best regards, Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
5 out of 5
by David

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel and location. Need to work on wifi, the free wifi is pretty much useless and the paid is what I would expect for wifi these days
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. David, it was our pleasure to have been able to welcome you at our hotel. We read your comment and thank you for your constructive criticism which gives us the chance to further improve our service. We would like to inform you that we are planning improvements in this service in 2017. We would be delighted to get another opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden. Best regards, Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, amazing property, great breakfast, if you ask they will reduce it from 25 to 15 Euro
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, it is great to learn that you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our early booking rate for the breakfast. We hope you will come back and visit us soon again. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel right in the centre of things!

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Superbly situated right in the centre. Lovely hotel with comfy beds, good bathroom and facilities, friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Maybe reduce price of breakfast - we ate out as bit prices!
Location: Right in the centre no more than 2 min walk to all main attractions and the river. V easily reached by public transport.
Stayed here for 4 nights for our second visit to the Christmas markets. Dresden is a lovely city with lots to see and do. We have also visited in the summer, well worth it for visiting further afield and river trips. Our third stay at this hotel and would not go anywhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Penny, it was our pleasure to have been able to welcome you again at our hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time for a comment. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and service in general. The more we regret that you were not satisfied with the sumptuous breakfast buffet. We also offer a continental beakfast for € 13 per person - maybe this could be an option for your next stay? We are already looking forward to the opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Gast, vielen Dank für Ihren Besuch in unserem Haus und für Ihre Bewertung. Wir haben uns sehr gefreut, dass Sie sich bei uns wohlgefühlt haben und hoffen, Sie demnächst wieder im Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit herzlichen Grüßen Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel at the Neumarkt

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: The view from the hotel.
Cons: In the minibar I want German beer.
Location: The location of the hotel is just fantastic.
We felt very goodWe felt very comfortable in this hotel. Christmas market is fancy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Steve, it was our pleasure to have been able to welcome you at our hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time for a comment. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and service. Thank you for your hint regarding our minibar offers. We are already looking forward to the opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Gast, vielen Dank für Ihren Besuch in unserem Haus und für Ihre Bewertung. Wir haben uns sehr gefreut, dass Sie sich bei uns wohlgefühlt haben. Gern begrüßen wir Sie wieder im Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe. Mit herzlichen Grüßen Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean but uncomfortable

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Upgraded room, but do not believe it was really an upgrade -- feel a little taken advantage of there (included parking but not breakfast). Staff is polite and friendly. Watch for hidden charges -- fitness room is in wellness area, so there is an additional charge. Bed and pillows are very uncomforable. Lighting poor in room (not great for reading). Nice location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, it was our pleasure to have been able to welcome you at our hotel. We read your comment and thank you for your constructive criticism which gives us the chance to further improve our service. We are very sorry to learn that you were expecting breakfast to be included in our upgrade offer. As not every guest is having breakfast in our house we do not automatically include it in any of our offers. It is a frequent practice in many city hotels. We gladly would have offered you a room rate that includes breakfast. The sauna use in Germany is charged with 19% VAT, so Hotels are not allowed to include this service in the room rate (7% VAT) any more. We decided to charge only the cost price of 2,50 €/person and day to our guests. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the bed comfort. Our housekeeper would gladly have provided you with additional pillows or also would have exchanged them. Please let us know your preferences with your next booking, so we can prepare your room accordingly. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused. We would be delighted to get another opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager