Ratings based on 695 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ON

Where everything happens

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Excellent hotel right by Frauenkirche and the entire reconstructed medieval Dresden. Yet, quiet at night. Plenty of breakfast places around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Sam, thank you for being our guest and for your review at Expedia. We are happy to learn that you spent a great time with us and hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Dresden. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful except for WiFi

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Its rich history; location; wonderful staff; room comfort; beautiful foyer; proximity to so many beautiful places in Dresden.
Cons: Internet access
A wonderful hotel on all aspects, except for wifi access. It would be better to just say that they don't provide it rather than make you go through the frustration of trying to connect. This is an issue with hotels in Germany in general, but this one was worse than most. Other than that, loved everything else about the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Aselir, thank you very much for being our guest and for taking the time to review us. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since March we offer WiFi free of charge with up to 1 Mbit/s, an additional high speed connection can be booked for only 4 €/day. We would be happy to welcome you again during your next visit to Dresden. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location !!!!

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Everything !!!
Cons: Keep doing the great job you are doing !!!
Location: Perfect location as mentioned above !
We booked this hotel for the quality & location !!! We were very pleased with everything & the view was perfect as well - this was a return visit to Dresden & wanted to be closer to the ❤️ of the old town & the historic part of Dresden - we were not disappointed !!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, it was our pleasure to have been able to welcome you at our hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time for a comment at Expedia. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and service. We are already looking forward to the opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sleek modern hotel at historic address.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: The staff were a bit distant - the ones we spoke to, anyway.
Location: see above
From the outside the hotel looks old, but it isn't - for obvious reasons. We liked it as a fairly luxurious base for musical and historical adventures. It's on a square with lots of very good pavement cafes, so we didn't eat in it all. If you want to go to Dresden - and the musical possibilities and historical angles are overwhelming - this hotel is highly recommended. The slight understatement of our scoring is because the staff were fine but not actively warm, and because the interior had no Dresden specificity. They underplay the famous connections with the address (if not the actual building) although we did notice a Clara Schumann room. Never mind, though; we hope to return to Dresden - it's a marvellous city, and the surrounding countryside is just wonderful - and, if we do, we'll go to the same hotel for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your visit and for your review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in general. The more we regret that you felt the employees to be too distant. We want to assure you that this is not our policy at all. We see ourselves as host, our intent is to take care of your wishes in order to ensure a perfect stay. We are very sorry that we did not succeed this time. We already provided your review to our department heads in order to discuss it with their teams. Please accept our apology for any inconvenieces caused. The Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe was built in 2006, at the same place there has been already a Hotel de Saxe, which building has been destroyed in World War II. As throughout the Neumarkt Square all reconstructed buildings also the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe has a historical facade. Although the interior provides you with modern comfort, you find also many things relating to the "old" baroque Dresden: sculptural fragments found in Dresden's ruins in the Lobby and at the SPA or wall friezes with ancient photographs in modern interpretation in every guest floor, at the reception and in several meeting rooms. Every suite is named after famous Dresden personalities, as Clara Schumann, August the Strong or Gottfried Semper. We gladly would have provided you more information about the historical relation of our house during your visit. We would be happy to welcome you again during your next visit to Dresden. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great service from door man and reception desk

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: location and staff excellant
Cons: breafast is overpriced
the location is awesome. You do not need a car. the staff especially a bell man who has been there for years, are exceptional.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your visit and for your review on Expedia. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our bell man's service. The more we regret that you felt the breakfast offer was overpriced. If you decide to book your room including breakfast the breakfast buffet then has a early booking discount. We are already looking forward to the opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location but disappointing service

Posted Apr 22, 2017
- Nice & clean hotel and guestrooms - Good location (however there was construction being done right beside the hotel which would have been nice to know prior to booking) - Didn't eat at the restaurant or use many of the facilities - Expected a higher level of service from staff. Cleaning staff barged into our room twice in the morning while we were sleeping, well before checkout, without knocking or addressing themselves. Reception staff could express more interest and appreciation in their guests rather than just giving and taking room keys and saying bye.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with our service. Our chambermaids are all advised to knock and to address themselves before opening and entering a guest room. We have the impression that they did that, but not loud enough so you probably did not hear them. As guests do not always leave their room when checked out at the reception we do not inform our chambermaids about checked-out rooms. We already informed our housekeeper in order to point out the importance of this procedure again to the chambermaids. Please use the red do-not-disturb-sign on your door during your next stay. It is with great regret that we have learned that you felt not welcome at the reception. We already spoke with our Front Office Manager, as this is not our policy at all. We would like to assure you that we most welcome you as a guest at our hotel. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences caused. We would be delighted to get another opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very well located

Posted Apr 7, 2017
It is a very nice hotel very well located and the staff is very friendly to help you with jogging ideas and places
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for this great review and for your visit in our house. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
5 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Herr Mark, vielen Dank für Ihre 5-Sterne-Wertung! Wir haben uns sehr darüber gefreut und hoffen, Sie demnächst wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit herzlichen Grüßen Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
5 out of 5
by Romy

Dresden, Germany

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Will definitely come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Romy, it is great to learn that you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will come back and visit us soon again. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Gast, vielen Dank für Ihren Besuch in unserem Haus und für Ihre Bewertung. Wir haben uns sehr gefreut, dass Sie sich bei uns wohlgefühlt haben und hoffen, Sie demnächst wieder im Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit herzlichen Grüßen Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager