Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top Class

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing to improve.
This hotel covers all of our requirements and more. It allows pets, security is 5 star, cleanliness 5 star and has extremely helpful and friendly staff. We get an excellent nights sleep not worrying about our car and our trailer. Car park secure with locked gates and cameras. The room is warm and cosy (decor amazing) and free from external noise. The best we've travelled to around Europe. Always look for a Mecure Hotel - Top class !!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by aurelien, Hotel Management
Hello, My team joins me to thank you for taking the time to give us your impressions following your stay at the Mercure of Valence Sud. Our renovation work finally gives a true alliance between modernity and comfort. Within a few months, a brand new decoration will be installed in our general services: reception, bar, a new breakfast room and many other surprises for you customers. We are looking forward to a brand new Drôme holiday. See you soon, Aurélien NODON Director
4 out of 5
by Sheila from Konstancin

hotel with good motorway access

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was being renovated but that didn't affect us. Wifi- only one of us could manage to log on the secure wifi. The receptionist was very polite during the process of booking in and out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good for one night

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
very small room
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2016 by MERCURE VALENCE SUD, Hotel Management
Dear Guest My team and I appreciate your comments . We hope to see you soon anyway . Best Regards, Aurélien NODON, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Clive from Leran, France near Carcassonne

Comfortable, well-positioned hotel. Recommended

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is very comfortable and highly accessible from the Autoroute (5 minutes max). It is close to main road but the rooms are well sound-proofed with double-glazing and air-conditioning. Tea-making facilities in the room (but no spoons only stirrers). Nice big safe which takes a laptop OK. The Courtepaille Restaurant which is directly attached is of the normal high quality and does get busy, so either come early or book. The breakfast was both hot and cold but they were a little slow re-filling the hot eggs and sausages. The car park is well-lit with nice large spaces. It has an electric security gate at night. If your are planning to travel along the Autoroute du Soleil, this is a very handy stop just South of Lyon and lets you break your journey very nicely, putting either Luxembourg and Southern Germany or the Riviera and Andorra a day's drive away. It is a little too far away if your destination is Lyon. We will definitely use this hotel again next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyne & Wear UK

Excellent hotel !!!!!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Parking and quiet during the night. Staff very friendly. Rooms immaculate.
Cons: Not a thing it's perfect.
Everything about this hotel is excellent. Staff, the room, parking facility, it's quiet , tea and coffee facility in room, would highly recommend it. Have used this hotel now for 6 years and not one problem EVER.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels
The staff was absolutely wonderful. Rooms are small by US standards but normal by French standards. Staff was great and always ready to help make the stay enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by TheCount from USA

Small rooms, not worth the price

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is well-situated, and the service is excellent, but the rooms are terribly small. Shampoo, notepad and pencil do not make this hotel any more comfortable. The pool is good, however, but overall the place is average at best..
1 out of 5
by Kate from England

Clean but disappointing.

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
Warm welcome at reception and all staff were lovely. Rooms were cleanish but little else to write home about. Decor in room and corridors very dated. Bathroom is newish and fine. The "stay open" button in the lift doesn't work as we found when the door smashed against my head. Wondering if it was just us we tested again (minus the head in the door!) but no, it was definitely broken. Not great when the hotel has slow, elderly guests... Dead mouse in the swimming pool wasn't the nicest greeting but was swiftly dealt with by the manager. Found a dirty pair of old shoes and a member of staffs badge under the bed so guessing the cleaning isn't as thorough as we'd thought it might be. Large supermarket and shopping centre with usual mcdonalds and fast good chains nearby. All in all not the standard you'd expect from a mercure hotel. Thankfully we didn't pay a lot to stay here and we wouldn't stay here again unless desperate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from Ulm

Nice hotel but no breakfast

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Well positioned for motorway access,food and petrol
Location: good location hypermarket nearby,cheap fuel.A very handy overnight stop
Nice hotel,friendly staff.We were told at check in breakfast was from 7am - 11am at the weekends so went for breakfast at 9.40am to find the staff starting to clear away and no cooked breakfast available.The waitress was very apologetic but said they finished at 10am and we should not have been told 11am.When we checked out we showed the card which had the detail of meals times left in the room and they accepted it was a mistake, that the cards were generic and given to all the hotels in the group.We were not charged for the bread and jam,tea and coffee that we did have by way of compensation and felt they did try.However the cards should be amended and all staff should know times of the meals to give correct info to their guests.