Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

FOOD POISONING

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: the room was comfortable and cheap
Cons: no food poisoning
Location: nothing to do around there
I had ordered room service around 8pm and then i got on conference calls with America and was on them non-stop until 10pm. My food had still not arrived at which point i was starving and upset that I was now going to be eating so late in the night, when I was called room service to see where my order was. They apologized, admitting that they had forgotten what room had ordered the food. They then served me the food which had obviously been sitting there for more than two hours waiting for me to call them with my room #. I was already quite upset because I was now eating my food so late in the evening, and I was exhausted from attending Arab Health earlier that day, and was quite jet-lagged from my trip from Los Angeles the day before. At 3am, i awoke with sharp stomach pains, and by 3:15 I was puking and having diarrhea at the same time. Not long after I began shivering with flu-like symptoms. This lasted for 3 hours until 6am, when there was nothing left inside me to puke or excrete on the toilet. During that time period, I made repeated calls to your staff, requesting fresh juice and lemons with water, but they repeatedly messed my order up, causing me to have to keep getting up out of bed while I was in the midst of severe fever. I gave up on them getting the order right and I finally got to sleep around 7am, feeling achy and completely wiped out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Standards have really dropped...

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Staff are very kind and friendly!
Cons: The rooms have a revamp over 2015, the bathrooms are very dated and could do with doing, also all the issues we've encountered in our experience!.
Location: Metro, Food Places, Gift Shops!
I've been stopping here over the past 3-4 years each time we visit Dubai. Never previously have we had any issues other than the door cards losing their code to get into the room. Anyway this visit has really changed my view with stopping here again. Their were 4 of us staying on this trip with 2 rooms booked, we expected to be on the same floor but got put on separate floors. The one room was meant to have 2 single beds but it had a double/king. I thought nothing of it and was understanding with the familiar staff from previous stays. The next morning we requested for our rooms to be on the same floor & beds be sorted. Rather than one of us having to change 1st room to the floor of the 2nd room was on we both had to move to a floor that had 2 free rooms. Fair enough... Little did we know this floor was a smokers floor/rooms. They smelt smokey which after we mentioned they gassed it out. That night me and my wife could not sleep as the door to the room would give a thud each time air passed by in the hallway, the window seals were worn so road noise could be heard and the bathroom extractor was not working. The noise kept us awake most the night. Next morning we requested the issues be addressed, we were tired of moving rooms (repacking our stuff) but we got requested to move once again (both rooms to another floor). These rooms had minor issues that got resolved quickly, a leaking sink and a noisy fridge ventilation fan. Standards have really dropped!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Flora Hospitality, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback about the hotel. It is a matter of great concern for us and for our team to realize the experience you had and we are greatly perturbed on hearing the same. We have made a note of your feedback in detail. The matter has been taken up with the concerned personnel and you have our assurance that you will have no cause for such a comment in the future. We greatly appreciate your feedback on our team members and on the location in the midst of all this discomfort and its a great motivation to all of us. Once again we thank you for sharing your valuable thoughts and assure you our best services and attention at all times. We look forward for another chance to serve you better. Thanks & Regards Jikku John Mathew Cluster Director of Operations Flora Grand Hotel & Flora Al Barsha Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oman

Good

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Nice stuff and cooperative Clean Good location But the bathroom is old I don't like it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice hotel. Good locationi

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast should have more choice
Location: Good location. Shopping and restaurants nearby
Close to metro and shopping centres. Free shuttle to the beach and shopping mall
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by Flora Hospitality, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with Flora Grand Hotel and for taking the time to update the feedback of your stay upon departure. We are so glad to hear that you had a memorable and wonderful stay with us. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We have noted the comments on the breakfast spread and we offer a wide choice with a cyclic menu considering the in house nationality mix. However we will ask the kitchen team to ensure some more variety and choices while we revise the same soon. Your kind appreciation has been duly conveyed to the team and it’s a great motivation for them. We look forward to welcome you back soon with us. Thanks & Regards, Jikku John Mathew Cluster Director of Operations Flora Grand Hotel & Flora Al Barsha Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simply amazing

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The price! For what you get, it's an amazing deal. Good location
Cons: N/A - Loved it overall, it was great. I enjoyed my stay very much and like it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by Flora Hospitality, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with Flora Grand Hotel and for taking the time to update the feedback of your stay upon departure. We are so glad to hear that you had a memorable and wonderful stay with us. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. Your kind appreciation has been duly conveyed to the team and it’s a great motivation for them. We look forward to welcome you back soon with us. Thanks & Regards, Jikku John Mathew Cluster Director of Operations Flora Grand Hotel & Flora Al Barsha Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Flora made my day!

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Services from the staffs weRe fantastic, especially Eddry from concierge, very helpfull..made my trip most pleasant and enjoyable..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by Flora Hospitality, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with Flora Grand Hotel and for taking the time to update the feedback of your stay upon departure. We are so glad to hear that you had a memorable and wonderful stay with us. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. Your kind appreciation has been duly conveyed to the team especially Eddry - Concierge Captain and it’s a great motivation for all of them. We look forward to welcome you back soon with us. Thanks & Regards, Jikku John Mathew Cluster Director of Operations Flora Grand Hotel & Flora Al Barsha Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Good location, close to airport, good breakfast, comfortable rooms, helpful assistant at tour desk, door staff helpful getting taxis. Great value
Requested twin room for 2 single friends travelling together. Given double bed which needed separating with single bed linen. Had to make repeated requests, staff said they would do it the next day, I had to forcefully insist on it. Offered to do it ourselves if they would just give us the linen. Eventually done, hours later
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2016 by Flora Hospitality, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with Flora Grand Hotel and for taking the time to update the feedback of your stay upon departure. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are glad to hear that you had a positive experience with us and at the same time we greatly appreciate your comment and the concerns mentioned on the bed allocation. We assure you that the same has been taken with the concerned department and staff for due correction and improvement. We deeply regret for the inconvenience and we promise you that you will experience the corrective actions on your future visits with us. Once again we thank you for highlighting the areas of improvements for us and we look forward to welcome you back with us soon. Thanks & Regards, Jikku John Mathew Cluster Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2016
From the time of my arrival to my departure date, I found the hotel outstanding. The room was large, comfortable and with all the facilities one would expect. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the Flora Grand to anyone wishing to stay in Dubai. Well Done Guys.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Flora Hospitality, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with Flora Grand Hotel and for taking the time to update the feedback of your stay upon departure. We are so glad to hear that you had a memorable and wonderful stay with us. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. Your kind appreciation has been duly conveyed to the team and it’s a great motivation for them. We look forward to welcome you back soon with us. Thanks & Regards, Jikku John Mathew Cluster Director of Operations
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good hotel but out of the way

Posted May 11, 2016
Overall this hotel was good but the housekeeping needs to improve. Unfortunately the location of the hotel "in the historical part of Dubai" is not ideal with much public transport required to reach the real tourist points of Dubai. Probably good value for money - and close to the airport - but a little out of the way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Flora Hospitality, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with Flora Grand Hotel and for taking the time to update the feedback of your stay upon departure. We are so glad to hear that you had a memorable and wonderful stay with us. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. The hotel is centrally located next to Al Rigga Metro Station with close proximity to the Dubai International Airport and to the famous Deira City Centre & Al Ghurair Centre. Souks & eateries are very close by and Dubai Creek is just walking distance from the hotel. The feedback on the housekeeping has been taken with its utmost importance and shared with the respective team for due correction and improvment and you will see the changes on your future visits with us. We look forward to welcome you back soon with us. Thanks & Regards, Jikku John Mathew Cluster Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Exceptional hospitality, excellent value

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Great value hotel that provides a 5* service at a very reasonable rate. Warm, polite, fast check in with a welcome juice provided. Requested a non-smoking room, wasnt available so was upgraded and given a 20% discount on breakfast - thank you. Room was big, bed very comfortable and large bathroom. TV working and thank you for the complimentary water. Slept well, no noise from other rooms or outside. Staff always friendly and helpful. Nice small pool on the roof - could do with a 'warning deep' sign as no shallow end so not suitable for non swimmers. Wake up call received as requested, fast check out and and taxi hailed and arrived before I had finished at reception. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Flora Hospitality, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review that you have shared on Expedia about your recent stay with us. The Flora Hospitality experience is all about people working together to create beautiful memories for all our guests and we are delighted to note that we were able to serve you well. Your kind and generous comments are much appreciated and are a great source of motivation for our team. Many thanks once again for taking the time to write the review and we do hope that Flora Grand will always be your preferred hotel during your visits to Dubai. Thanks & Regards Jikku John Mathew Cluster Director of Operations