Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Kevin

Just So-So

Posted Apr 26, 2012 on Hotels
The Rio Hotel isn't horrendous. But it not a 3 Star hotel either. I arrived late and didn't get to the hotel until 4 am. I asked fir a quiet room. Indeed it was quiet. Until 9 am when banging and other construction activities commenced in the room NEXT to mine. While I appreciate that they are doing renovations, why would you allow your crew to commence so early? And why would your staff put me in a room adjacent to where the construction is? I was able to move rooms to avoid the noise for the subsequent mornings, but this was irritating. The rooms themselves were okay. On the smallish side, but fairly clean except for some carpet stains in the first room that I had. The hotel itself is in a decent location, near to things. The Metro is not far to walk to, or a very short taxi ride. Although getting a taxi FROM the Rio is difficult. I had to flag down taxis on the road myself. FYI, the shuttle to the airport was forty dirham, which is MORE expensive than a taxi. There are two "nightclubs" in the hotel. Both are on the ground floor down the hall from the reception area. One is a bar with not-very-attractive Russian women singing poorly in a corner. Across the hall is Bollywood Dreams, which features some attractive Indian girls with marginal dancing ability. BTW, the photo of the outside of the hotel which shows a grassy area: there is no grass, just sand! While I did not swim in the pool, the pool area was very unkempt and not very inviting. WiFi is not free.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rio Hotel review

Posted Mar 22, 2012
This hotel in the the middle of a building site. The noise is from 6.30am till 6.30pm. The access roads are dangerous especially in the dark. You cannot use swimming pool . Access always locked. Reception staff were very nice and porters too. Breakfast expensive and awful. No coffee or tea making facilities in room although they advertise this facility. Our room carpet was filthy. I am disappointed with expedia that they do not check the accuracy of the hotel description and facilities. I would not use them for hotel accommodation again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bahrain

cheap quaite neaborhood

Posted Mar 3, 2012 on Hotels
Two star hotel , price is fare with the service given
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Star Rating

Posted Feb 11, 2012
Pros: The staff's are very good.
Cons: Uncleaned carpets
Location: Location is slightly out of Dubai but eash to get from the Airport. More close to Gold Suke.
The Hotel needs updating, therefor the rating is not 3 star but a 2 star.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rio Hotel in Dubai

Posted Jan 8, 2012 on Hotels
Stay away from this Hotel ! We landed in Dubai and drove to this hotel to check in as we had made confirmed booking for our entire stay in Dubai. My credit card was charged the entire amount. I hear from the manager that he will not be able to honor our booking as the hotel was overbooked and that we had to find another Hotel in Dubai. He also mentions to us that the entire Dubai hotels are completely booked due to the holidays. Imagine landing in Dubai and being told that you don't have a room ! Needless to say we had a tough argument back and forth with the manager. He shows us a stop sale email sent to a popular website that books hotels for customers and says that that the hotel is not responsible if a customer books rooms through another website. I politely told him that the website that he sent the email to was not the website that I used to book the room and that I used hotels.com to book the room. He had the audacity to tell me that that website and hotels.com were one and the same. The manager then went in to his office in a huff and worked on our booking for a couple of hours and then gave the room. I found this to be totally ridiculous and unprofessional ! At night they have a loud music group in the bar that keeps you awake !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

Comfortable hotel has excellent service & facility

Posted Aug 5, 2011 on Hotels
Enjoyed my stay at the hotel because it had all the facilities ranging from sauna, beauty parlor, restaurant, coffee shop, all night cafe, disco, and many other things. The hotel had everything one can need so you don’t have to go outside the hotel. The hotel had excellent service. The TV was good and the bed was comfortable. Moreover, the rooms and the bathroom were clean, well maintained and presentable than other hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NIGHT CLUM

Posted Jul 22, 2011 on Hotels
HOTEL LOCATION IS VERY HARD TO FIND.NO MAJOR ACCESS.THERE ARE 2 NIGHT CLUBS.VERY NOISY YOU CANT SLEEP TILL 3AM
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Not as advertised...

Posted May 28, 2011
I have stayed many times in Dubai and this is the worst hotel yet. The advertised amenities are non-existent. To start, there is NO free internet, wireless or wired. The shuttle is a joke. I tried to contact the hotel via email, my only means of communication at the time, for a solid week and never had a response. I ended up paying $20 USD for a taxi. I had also inquired about the Spa services which I never received. I arrived and the Spa was closed for renovation. BUT, there was a Dreamworks Massage next door which was great. There is not much around the Hotel but the massage and the NEW Gold Souk. I must say the Sports Bar at the hotel had good drinks at least. The room looked like it was from the 60's with the bright orange decor. When I arrived, my room was 84 celsius and stayed that way. There was also water all over the bathroom floor from some kind of leak. I called the front desk 2x and they never showed up before I left. The service is substandard for Dubai. Lastly, the front desk clerk tried to keep my passport which I immediately called her out and she gave it right back. Never will I stay here again!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Couldnt wait to leave.

Posted Apr 9, 2011
The information given on the Expedia site is not accurate. They DO NOT have wireless OR wired internet in the room complimentary... and all they can do is offer a wired connection for a price (forget your tablets at home). They gave me the wrong room when I got there... they had an insect infestation in the BATHROOM.. the picture of the hotel is deceiving as its computer generated and there is no grass or nice looking side to the hotel, there is construction going on still... The desk chair was broken and didnt work properly (nor was it replaced)... there are clubs inside this place (indian / pakistani clubs) which tend to bring in prostitutes and a low class crowds at night... The Expedia site also said that the hotel transport and local was complimentary according the the hotel -NOT TRUE- ... Other then the horrific experience the staff and manager of the hotel were wonderful people but could only do so much... So i wouldn't recommend this place to anyone...