Ratings based on 682 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

great hotel.. from start to end!

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Second time we've visited amwaj rotana and the service is always impeccable. Great food and drink. Rooms are spacious and super comfortable. Pool staff are great with everyone! Will definitely recommend to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Mark Deere, Hotel Management
Dear phil, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Amwaj Rotana. We were so thrilled to know that we left a positive impression on your second visit. It is always our goal to ensure that we deliver the best possible service to all our guests and glad that we did not disappoint you. Your recommendation is highly appreciated and we certainly look forward to your next visit. Best Regards, Mark Deere General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Close to shopping and beach

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Close to beach and restaurants, staff friendly and helpful.
Cons: The pool staff worked very hard, wish the pool had no smoking area.
Location: Shopping and restaurants and walkway close by.
This was our third stay at this hotel. After somewhat of disappointed check in experience and less pleasing room. Management heard my complaiint and gave us a better room and apolgized for the lack of professionalism of their check in staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Mark Deere, Hotel Management
Dear kero, Thank you for sharing your review of Amwaj Rotana. I am glad that the location of our hotel could please and must apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. Your feedback is always of great importance. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel. Best regards, Mark Deere General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent location! Close to the beach

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Couldn't of asked for a better location! Liturally across the road from the beach. Lots of Resturants walking distance. Hotel was good once they upgraded me as first room smelt damp,dark and defo needed refurbish! However once they upgraded me I was a happy bunny as the room was MUCH bigger, brighter, better sea view, smelt fresh, and much cleaner. So I would suggest anyone staying here paying bit extra for the "premium room" as they are much more spacious and better than the classic. Overall this is a excellent hotel! Perfect location! Staff very friendly! I would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Mark Deere, Hotel Management
Dear jj, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Amwaj Rotana. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated the hotel’s location and the team’s service. We will consider the point you raised. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again on your future visit. Best regards, Mark Deere General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Great location and good facilities. Hotel staff are professional and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Mark Deere, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel’s location, facilities and our team could please. We look forward to welcoming you again for another great experience at Amwaj Rotana. Best regards, Mark Deere General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Would recommend

Posted Aug 13, 2017
The only comment I wouldsay to the hotel is more consideration taken when giving out rooms would begood ie. Give families with children their own floors so thosewho dont have children are not disturbed last thing at night and first thing in the morning. Apart from thst staffcouldnot be more helpful and curtious. A wonderful stay x
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Mark Deere, Hotel Management
Dear sue, Thank you for your review and recommendation of Amwaj Rotana. We are happy to see that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the level of service from our team. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we will consider the point you raised. We certainly do look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Mark Deere General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean, easy access to the beach

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Location, facilities, near the beach and the JBR walk, one block to the Tram which will take you to the subway. Taxis are readily available.
Cons: Add one more elevator. They are not enough and we end up waiting for a while to go up or down.
Apart from the elevators, I believe the hotel is great. For a hotel of this size, it needed at least 4 elevators that are well synchronized.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Mark Deere, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you appreciated the hotel particularly the location, accessibility to public transport but we must apologize for the inconvenience caused by the elevators. We highly anticipate your return to Amwaj Rotana. Best regards, Mark Deere General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Great staff
Cons: Lifts slow
Location: JB bar fantastic food and good ale great staff
My wife and i had yet another fantastic stay at this wonderful hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Mark Deere, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the team’s effort and our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amwaj Rotana. Best regards, Mark Deere General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice 3* type hotel, friendly staff, poor service

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Concierge staff were friendly. Good location of hotel. Air con. Beach access.
Cons: When making the bed, replace dirty sheets. Re-stock mini bar fridge. Replace dirty towels with fresh ones. Mannerism of some waiters.
Location: Good location. Not far from beach, the marina and some shops. Taxi's close-by and easily available. Shops in walking distance.
Arrived with high hopes and was greeted warmly. The room appeared ok, although the carpet had some stains. Initially quite enjoyed the stay but after a new guests arrived on same floor it became rowdy and loud at night. On the last night the noise levels made sleeping impossible. Several guests were shouting, screaming and slamming doors in corridor. The room itself had a double bed, mini bar (fridge) and kettle, balcony with partial sea view and en-suite. There was complimentary water but the mini bar was not restocked once during the 7 night stay. The room itself showed signs of wear and tear.The sheets on the bed were not changed once throughout this stay, dirty sheets/pillow cases were left on when the bed was re-made. You had to ask for clean towels after the dirty one's were removed and you were left with none. The stay had inclusive breakfast. The choice was below expectation, quite limited, nothing too extravagant. Some hot & cold options, fruit & cereal. Staff prepared omelettes of personal choice which was nice. The waiting staff were mostly friendly, apart from 1 waiter called Rohan who never asked if he could take a plate or cup-he just took it and frequently kept bumping into the table when rushing past. This made breakfast not enjoyable. "Slow lifts" were mentioned in previous reviews - the hotel has 3 lifts for 25 floors. If you are prepared to wait a reasonable 1-2 minutes, its ok. The hotel has a small adult pool & a children's pool. There is a gym & spa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Mark Deere, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Amwaj Rotana. Although several aspects of the hotel may not have met your expectations, we are glad that the location and the service from our concierge team could please. We are constantly striving to achieve the highest standards of service, which is why your feedback is greatly appreciated. Each point has been noted for consideration to make improvements for the future. We hope will be able to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Best regards, Mark Deere General Manager
4 out of 5
by Kim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not 5 Stars

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Location is great! Hotel restaurants are expensive, but you have a lot of other restaurants nearby... Lobby staff is very nice and friendly.
Cons: How hotel handles problems. They should have offered us a different room right the way and fix the toilet without guests in the room.
Location: 10 minutes walk to the beach, lots of stores and restaurants nearby.
Did not get a good first impression. Had problem with clogged bathtub, showed the front desk picture of the tub and staff was unwilling to change room so was unable to take shower the first night. They sent a technician 3 times to room to fix tub, which was very inconvenient and not what you look forward in a 5 star hotel experience. A few days later they offered to change rooms, but that was too late. Although they have "beach" in hotel name, the beach facilities are disappointing. No chairs, umbrellas available at the beach and you need a lot of paperwork to get towels for the beach. Also paid for ocean view room, but room had a 30 degree ocean view, was expecting a full ocean view.