Ratings based on 879 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Misery at the Maldron Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
I quickly got over my disappointment of no a/c as many hotels in Ireland do not offer this. But there were so many things about this hotel that were sub-par, where to begin... 1. The room, carpet, bedding, etc. we're old, dingy, and in some cases flat out dirty. The entire place had an odor of mildew mixed with powerful cleaning chemicals that only made it worse. 2. There was one electrical outlet in the room to use to plug in phones, chargers, etc. and it was located by the room door, not on a bedside table which would make more sense. 3. The bathroom... the faucet on the sink was loose and would flop around as you tried to use it. The shower was set so that the shower head was about 4 1/2 feet high! Great height I suppose if the room was only being used by Hobbits. The shower curtain on the other hand, missed reaching the floor by 2 feet! To say a little water got all over the bathroom floor is an understatement. 4. Parking in the back lot was not only a hike for the times you need to get to your car, but the doors for access to the lot were locked during the evenings, forcing you to walk around the building to gain access. I've forgotten a few little things, or pushed them out of my mind, so miserable was my experience there. I will say that since my stay at the Maldron, I have stayed at 3 other hotels in my Ireland vacation and every one of those establishments have been a good to great experience. In closing... don't stay at the Maldron Hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Traveler

First time to Dublin

Posted Sep 7, 2017
My dad and I wanted to say outside the city so that we had the feeling of the native life style. For us, it actually turned out to be ideal! Reason being, is the trolley was right by the hotel. Each day we had a relaxing time into the city. What was ideal; is that we were the last stop, so we always had a good seat, in the morning & on way back. Close to the square, which was a mall setting. Anything you needed was right there. Restaurants were right there, and great food. From cheap to high end. Car rental, any other source of transportation. In the mountain setting. So, Landalock & Tillamore, or on your way to Shanon, or south to Cort. The Hotel was very nice, and the only reason we give 4-star is that, it needs up grades. New modern upgrades, tv, lamps, etc... the room we had was 324 & it was on a corner, so it had an extra door to join another room & windows that if open, you hear conversation.wont get into detail about what the night sounds were like, but it was uncomfortable. Staff was good, could use a little more eddicut with guest. You could stand and any given time before being acknowledged you wee present. Restaurant was good, & recomend the Apple crumbcake with a whack of ice cream. Of course a pint of Guenniss was Also served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: friends
Very good hotel, room was clean, staff very helpful!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Good location but poor customer service

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location is convenient
Cons: Their customer service
Location: Local village of Tallaght near by with plenty of shops and a couple of chirches
I stayed 3 nights at the Maldron in Tallaght. When I requested an additional blanket for my bed, it never came. On the next evening I requested it again, but still didn't turn up. We ate in the restaurant on our last evening and it was 45 minutes after ordering when our meal arrived. The waiter had a couldn't care less attitude and never checked back with us to see if the food was okay. Our food was only moderately warm - overall very disappointing. I mentioned this to the Duty Manager but he seemed non-commit all and vague. Next morning I compainded at Reception and my phone number was gijven to the HOTEL manager to speak with me. She never bothered phoning me. We departed on that day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pori, Finland

A Very Nice Hotel Close to the Essentials

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel is very clean, comfortable, and modern. It has a nice view from its tall building and is very conveniently situated close to the essentials.
Cons: I don't really have any suggestions for improvement.
Location: The Blazin' Grill, Aussie Outback, The Square (shopping centre), Tallaght Stadium, Sean Walsh Memorial Park, petting zoo, etc. all a short walk away.
My wife in I spent the final two nights of our Irish honeymoon at the Maldron Hotel and it was the perfect homebase for the finale of the trip. The hotel is very nice, clean, and comfortable, with a helpful staff and an ideal location. The room was lovely and had an incredible view. The hotel garage was very safe and secure. The breakfast was filling and tasty. But the location is what makes this hotel such a value. There's a Lidl supermarket right around the corner, several excellent restaurants up and down the main drag, a gas station across the road, and a nice shopping center (with a movie theater); all within walking distance. We had just spent two weeks driving all over the Emerald Isle and although we did drive to Powerscourt waterfall on our last full day in Ireland, we were happy to take it easy and relax too. In a future trip to Ireland, if we start and end in Dublin, I would definitely want to stay the last night or two at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Catharines

Room was definitely not like picture.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
TV made a terrible whining noise. Room was very small for 3 pple outdated and smelled like a restaurant kitchen. Very noisy. Staff was good and fast check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kissimmee Fl

No air condition in rooms.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and service
Cons: Some parts are a little worn out and could be improved
Location: Location to the center of Dublin was a little far, but LUAS tramways have an excellent transportation system making it easy to commute.
The hotel is quite new. Most of the personnel is very nice with the exception of one front desk female that was somewhat rude when we presented the issue of not having air condition in the room. Afterwards another very pleasant lady informed us that due to climate the majority of Ireland hotels do not have the a/c in room and they were very nice in providing us 2 fans for the room Housekeeper staff was excellent and everything requested was provided rapidly. Hotel restaurant and room service was nice enough and prices were acceptable. There is also a big commercial center(mall) that has many different stores, cinemas, restaurants, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisey and Dated

Posted Jul 8, 2017
10 years ago this may have been a nice hotel. Now it's dated, with incredible amounts of road noise and a mattress that has springs sticking through it... The check-in/out staff were pleasant enough, but that's probably the only positive I could draw from this experience. My recommendation, find another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel close to everything I needed.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A
Location: Great
Great place and I enjoyed my stay. The Hotel service was OK and shopping mall very close, Great parking place and a quiet environment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay at Maldron

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Professional and polite welcome at desk. Our room was standard quality and tidy. Breakfast was OK but I would recommend that staff are quicker at clearing and cleaning tables ready for next guests to use. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.