Ratings based on 1,157 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
I have stayed here for 3 year same week every year. The hotel is well located being just off the N7, easy access from Dublin and great for getting to all major roads for days out. The bar team are great served by the same man (Keith if I read the name tag correct) for 3 years and remembered us from previous stays. After this year I don't think I will stay again mainly due to the increase in price and getting less for the money! Breakfast has gone up in price (as you'd expect) and is very busy which is great but I don't think all the team in there are very approchable on a few occasions we had to be quite direct after they were moody and abrupt, not the best start to a day when on holiday! Overall a newly refurbished nice hotel, just need to look at the breakfast team considering it's the start of the day!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Louise, Hotel Management
Hi David, Thank you for your review of the hotel. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the majority of your stay especially the location of the hotel and the team that are in the bar. I was extremely disappointed to read about the issues you encountered with the team at breakfast, this is definitely not the experience we want our guests to have at any point of their stay. I can assure you that I will pass your comments directly onto the relevant manager to review and resolve. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future and I would like to apologise for the issues you had at breakfast, this is not the level of customer service we strive to provide. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north ireland

serviceable hotel for the purpose of or visit

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Staff extremely trained and helpful. would definitely stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Louise, Hotel Management
Hi David, Thank you for your review of the hotel, we were glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you were impressed with the team here in the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cork

good location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
we stayed here for the weekend and our stay was pleasent the staff were very good. the only downside was the cost of the stay was hiked because of the u2 concert. SHAME
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Louise, Hotel Management
Hi Griff, thank you for your review of the hotel, we were glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were impressed with the team here in the hotel. Hotel rates vary based on availability and demand for the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
We had a brilliant experience in the maldron hotel, the room was lovely and close to amenities, 24/7 laundrette and Aldi all within walking distance across the road from the hotel. Would definitely stay here again if I came back to Ireland.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Louise, Hotel Management
Hi Sam, thank you for your review of the hotel, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were impressed with the hotel amenities and the location. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Alright but a bit expensive

Posted Jul 18, 2017
expensive hotel for the standards they provide. No air conditioning or mini fridge in the room. A bit far from the city or marley park as this was our destination.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Louise, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel, we were disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us. We do not offer air conditioning or fridges in our bedrooms and do not advertise as such. Unfortunately air conditioning is not a standard in most Irish hotels. Portable fans are available by request from our team at the front desk. We are located in the west of Dublin which is outside of the city centre and we are approximately a 15 minute car journey from Marlay Park. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Standard hotel room, bit cramped

Posted Jul 13, 2017
We stayed in a family room, 2 adults and 3 kids. 2 kids shared a very uncomfy sofa bed. Wall round fan very dirty and seal round bath mouldy. Room otherwise ok, other beds comfy and clean, good shower, plenty hot water. Needed more glasses and cups in room - just got 2.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Louise, Hotel Management
Hi Christine, Thank you for your review of the hotel, our family rooms do state that they come with a double bed, single bed and double sofa bed. I will pass your comments regarding the mold in the bathroom and the number of glasses and cups onto the house keeping team so they can review this. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future as it is only with feedback like yours that we can continue to improve. Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derby

Slightly taccy

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Fire alarm went off at 6am for no reason, took them at least 10 minutes to turn off. Phone didn't work. Some staff quite unpleasant and unhelpful. Bed very comfy. Room very simple - typical budget(ish) hotel room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Louise, Hotel Management
Hi Ryan, Thank you for your review of the hotel. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the relevant managers to investigate as the experience you had is not one that we want our guests to have. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: If driving, easy access to city and airport
If driving, good location to city and airport. Nice restaurant on location. Petrol nearby for last minute fill up before airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Louise, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We were glad to read that you enjoyed you recent stay in the hotel and were impressed with the location and the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Regards,
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
room was good size comfortable - receptionist friendly a bit further away from luas then website said - a shuttle to luas would be a nice additon
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017
Hi Christopher, thank you for your review of the hotel, we were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with the size of the bedroom and that you thought our front desk team were friendly. Our website says that the Red Cow Luas stop is approximately a 15 walk from the hotel which is correct but this is also dependent on how quickly you walk. I will pass your suggestion regarding a shuttle bus to the Luas to the management team here. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Regards, Louise
3 out of 5
by Marion

Ok for a budget trip

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Room was nice but staff could do with improving their customer service skills. The receptionist/night porter rang our room mistakingly at 4am. Offered aplology for waking us up.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017
Hi Marion, thank you for your review of the hotel, we were glad to read that you were impressed with the bedroom. I will advise the front desk manager of the incident with the wake up call so it can be investigated. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Regards, Louise