Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kerry

Cosy, modern and clean.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, clean and friendly.
Cons: Nothing negative to say, but at bedtime close the windows, blinds down, and curtains drawn, and you shouldn't be disturbed too much by the traffic on
Location: Very handy (2 minutes walk) for good shops & pubs in Lucan - lovely place.
Just what I wanted for a 1-night stopover on the way to the LIverpool Ferry. Cosy bijou room. Very modern and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire. UK

Charming B&B!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable, homely and great location.
Cons: Suited my requirements perfectly, so nothing to be improved really.
Location: In the heart of Lucan Village, great pubs, little shops and places to eat. Easy access to Dublin city centre and motoways further afield.
Lovely charming B&B close to all amenities. Lucan village with convenient shops, bars and great places to eat. Easy acces to Dublin city and motorways. Friendly and welcoming, great breakfast. I would definitely stay at Moat Lodge again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Astrid, Hotel Management
Thank you Ingrid, it was lovely to have met you. Kind regards Astrid
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new mexico

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Such a quaint place. Wonderful stay! We will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Wayne & Astrid, Hotel Management
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for leaving your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, friendly BnB!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Moat Lodge is an excellent, quiet BnB outside of Dublin. The staff (Astrid and co.) are beyond wonderful. We would stay again and again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Astrid, Hotel Management
You are most welcome again and again....it will be a pleasure to see you again :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow U.K

Nice guest house away from the noise.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: What i said above
Cons: A chair in the room would of been ideal.
Location: Nice village with enough shops, restaurants, and public buses to take you in to the main tourist areas.
This was a very enjoyable stay on the outskirts of Dublin, and with good local transport run on a regular basics getting in to the city centre wasn't a problem. Nice grounds, very clean, with a nice breakfast that was hosted by lovely staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice B&B in a great village

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: About a 20 min drive out of Dublin city centre
We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Dublin, the village is 200mtrs down the road and has a great selection of pubs and restaurants to choose from, we drove to the Guinness factory in about 20 mins, so if you want to go to Dublin but not pay a fortune for accommodation and be in the hustle bustle of a big city, we would recommend this B&B, the rooms are a little small but comfortable and the breakfast is of a high standard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Wayne & Astrid, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is always appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your short stay with us!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worthy of its excellent rating

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
lovely B And B all boxes ticked. great breakfast, friendly welcome and lovely rooms. Lots of places to eat in the evening. perfect
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Glad you enjoy your stay with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B in quaint town

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Lovely B&B a short walk to restaurants and amenities. Lovely treed area. Cozy rims and great breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Astrid, Hotel Management
Thank you for the positive review, please do come again soon!
5 out of 5
by Lorraine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

In Cute village centre with all the amenities.

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Very clean, nice decor, comfortable, nice host couple, lovely garden. Easy access to public transportation. Safe for single traveller. Good food.
Cons: LED lights on the bathroom mirror were so bright they made the bedroom glow blue. I had to close the door to sleep. No air flow as windows were closed
Location: Walk by River Liffey, parks, saw cyclists training. About 10 pubs & eateries. Excellent public transportation to Dublin & airport. Good for day trips.
I chose this lodge because there was easy access to buses into Dublin. I was not disappointed. There was very good express bus service at the same bus stop, a 5 minute walk from the lodge, to and from Dublin Airport for €7.20, which I booked on line. The company is Airport Hopper and service starts at 4am hourly until 11pm. So easy. The local pubs and restaurants were top notch and good variety. I chose take out Indian food and ate it in the garden at Moat Lodge. It was 25C the day I was there, so eating outside was a real luxury. The lodge is very clean and there is a big comfortable lounge, as well as the private garden off the lounge. Very nice breakfast, starting at 7am. (Most other places start at 8am, which is a bit late if you are planning a full day.) Dublin is very busy and not the place to be with a car. The lodge has good parking. I did not have a car, but if I had, I would have left it there and taken the bus (cost €3.30 each way). I did mind the constant noise of traffic on the very busy road beside my room. This is not a good place to stay if vehicle noise bothers you. I had to shut the windows tightly to sleep. Traffic started around 6am until 11pm, every 5 to 10 seconds. I think earplugs would help, or ask for a room on the side not next to the road. This was the reason I gave room comfort a 4 rating instead of a 5. I would stay here again, despite the traffic noise, because of the convenience. See photos on their web site.