Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Bracken Court. The room was nice and clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is nice, and worth eating if you don't have to be in the city too early. The hotel is about a 30-minute drive from Dublin or a 45-minute train ride from Dublin. There is a cute ice cream place in town that is delicious! The beach is close by and makes for a nice morning/night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not close to the airport

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The hotel was fine, but I don't see why it is listed as a 4-star hotel. That only made it disappointing, since it didn't live up to that standard. Nice staff, decent restaurant, in a quiet little town. It was quite a distance from the airport (although there is a bus that can get you to and from the airport fairly easily). It is also not very close to Dublin. Again, public transportation is decent, so getting to Dublin by train or bus wasn't too difficult. However, not the place to stay if you're interested in staying in the city or being close to the attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Count your change

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Cons: Teach the bartenders how to properly count the change out when giving it to the customer instead of laying on the bar counter in a pile.
Went into the hotel bar to get a pint after arriving on a flight from another country. Gave the waitress €50, it's all I had on me, and she gave me the change and receipt. Sat at a table, drank the pint and headed back to my room. Decided to look at the receipt and change while I waited for the elevator. €4.50 for a pint, great price for being in Dublin, but the receipt showed I only gave her €20. So I counted my change and had €34.10 instead of €45.50, was shorted €10.40. I went back to bar and the waitress was gone for the night, so I told another bartender what happened and gave him the change and receipt. He gave me the rest of the change. I've been to Ireland multiple times to visit relations and, even though I'm a foreigner visiting there, it's easy enough to tell the difference between a €20 and €50 note. After talking with an Aunt while there, she said it happens all the time, even at the grocery store. Guess I just felt like they were thinking I was a foreigner, so let's see what happens. Yes, it can happen anywhere in any country, it's just disappointing. Other than that, the hotel was good, breakfast was included and the front desk receptionist was pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotdl and staff..cute town close to beach..

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Airport bus drops off a block from hotel..farther from airport than thought
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Amanda O'Sullivan, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you found us to be further from the airport than you thought.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from can

Easy access to Dublin airport

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Hair dryer in bathroom plus Stayed at side of hotel which had a very depressing view!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Amanda O'Sullivan, Hotel Management
Dear Den, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay with. We are glad to hear that you found us to be easily accessible to Dublin airport. Apologies that your room had what you call a depressing view - unfortunately as we are in the town centre, there really are no scenic views from any side of the hotel but we are only a few minutes walk from the harbour and beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, Nebraska

Nice hotel close to Dublin city center.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Hotel is close to the Dublin city center without the congestion of the city, just north of the airport. Breakfast was outstanding.
Cons: The parking garage needs a elevator especially from the lowest level.
Found the hotel and room to be very comfortable and clean. Free parking garage was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Amanda O'Sullivan, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay with and we are glad to hear that overall you were happy with your visit. We would agree that it would be very convenient to have better direct access from the parking garage to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC,Canada

Nice hotel, 20 min drive to Dublin airport.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel, as we selected it primarily based on the proximity to the airport. It is right in Balbriggan and within walking distance to a nice beach. It is also an easy drive to Newgrange,and a number of other interesting historical sites. The room was comfortable, and the food at the Bracken Grill was excellent. I didn't manage to find a thermostat in the room, and found the room warm at night. However, I didn't call the front desk to ask about it, so there may have been a way to make it cooler.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Amanda O'Sullivan, Hotel Management
Dear Danielle, many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. We do not have air conditioning in our bedrooms so there is no thermostat to regulate. There are radiators, which are on a master timer across the whole hotel but can be turned down/off in individual rooms with the little handle at the bottom corner of the radiator cover.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Room size was amazing.
Cons: The shower drain in our room needed to be cleaned, water wouldn't drain fast enough to keep up with the shower.
Location: Only a short 2-3 block walk to the beach and dining.
The hotel was close to a beach and dining. The staff was excellent. Our room was way beyond our expectations for the price range. Surprisingly quiet for being right in the city. Would definitely look at returning at a later date.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

super comfy!

Posted May 31, 2017
Beautiful wellappointedhotel with great ammenities! Rooms are very clean and spacious, the linen is fresh and lovely. The bathroom is large and well stocked. Service and quality are top notch here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, UK

Perfect location for catching a train to Dublin.

Posted May 21, 2017
Very friendly staff! We had a large room with really comfortable beds and I need to score the hotel 10/10 for cleanliness. Perfect location in Balbriggan - very close to both the train station and the beach. Tip: check out the Italian-Irish chippy called Deli Burger - the best burgers we have ever had!!! I would happily stay there again :-)