Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and Welcoming

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: The highlight of Butler's Townhouse has to be the staff; always on hand, willing to help and to provide tea/coffee!
Cons: Some areas were not as clean as they perhaps could have been - e.g. the painted window surround in the bathroom - but overall cleanliness was good.
Location: Definitely visit Searson's - for drinks or food. And the close proximity of the Dart station lends itself to travelling further out, e.g. to Bray.
We arrived expecting to provide our own tea/coffee and travel kettle - and were delighted to discover that tea/coffee were provided free of charge on request at any time. Butler's Townhouse is situated about 150m from a Dart station, and far enough out of Dublin city centre to be relaxed whilst near enough for walking in/out. The facilities were ideal for us - the bathroom included a good sized bath with shower; there was plenty of storage for clothes, etc., and the room was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel... with some minor concerns.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The hotel is gorgeous, nicely laid out and wonderfully decorated and furnished. The staff was amazing, very pleasant and Extremely helpful! Our room was small, and cozy. The bathroom needs ventilation, there was mold and mildew in our bathroom. It is located in a beautiful area of town and conveniently close to the DART. If you have difficulty with stairs, thiso hotel has many stairs and some are very steep. The corridors are tiny as well. Most are things you cannot change, and adds to the overall ambience to the stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

A historical old Irish house.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was quite nice, especially Irish breakfast (hot dishes), but a bit pricey.
Cons: Toilet didn't flush well and caused a big noise every time being used. Customer Service should be managed in a professional way
Location: Close to Aviva stadium, some multinational corporate offices.
The location was good. Not too crowded, but still close enough to the city centre. Overall, the hotel looks cozy and has its taste, but it seems old and small. The reception desk is downstairs, which is inconvenient when checking in & out. We had an issue with the cleaning service which could happen at any hotels, but the way the management handled was disappointing and unprofessional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Fantastic experience, will definitely recommend to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wrexham

Excellent value for money

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Butlers was excellent value for money, good location, superb Irish breakfast and the staff are a credit! They booked taxis, tables at restaurants, made cups of tea, any thing you asked for they would sort out. Thank you for making our anniversary weekend so special.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Christy

Beautiful, vintage townhouse

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Me and my girlfriend loved our stay here. It was exactly what we wanted! Clean, comfortable with friendly service from the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old building

Posted Jan 8, 2017
The Butlers Townhouse was close to the train station which suited us. The interior was decorated in period style and we were delighted to find a bath. Lots of stairs/steps. All in all a nice stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
There was no tea or coffee making facilities even though they did offer complimentary tea/coffee it would been nice to make it myself. The room was dated and cobwebs on the ceiling and walls. The furniture was chipped and phone cord was filthy. The mirrors had peeled a little. The bathroom was satisfactory . The heating was supplied through overhead blow heater it was filthy. I definitely would not have stayed anymore than one night. The staff were pleasant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect crash pad for city explorers

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely little townhouse hotel. Perfect crash pad for a couple of days exploring the city. Walkable at the end of a fun night but with the train station just at the end of the road for the day times. (Get a leap card for unlimited transport) Only criticism was that both shower heads in out bathroom needed replacing. One was cracked and full of lime scale (over head shower) and the other ones hose was on its last legs (bath mixer tap). But we coped. Comfy and clean with friendly staff.