Ratings based on 1,157 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great base and lovely pool

Posted Feb 16, 2017
We had a tough brief when looking for a hotel - we needed one with a pool for the youngster, during half term school holidays - and we found it very hard to come up with one that wasn't too dear - but this came up trumps. Lovely pool, friendly staff, delicious breakfast - but also a very good base for exploring Wicklow, Bray, and the Luas railway into Dublin was very handy. Delighted.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs a major renovation...

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Breakfast facilities.
Cons: New carpeting! Make a path for walking to the Lemongrass restaurant and workout facilities without getting wet from rain.
Location: An Poitin Stil was a fabulous value with great food.
This is the largest hotel in Europe apparently. There are hundreds of rooms and there are good onsite facilities. I was disappointed by the overall hotel. The carpets were worn through in many places throughout the hotel. In one bathroom I found the door lock on the men's stall completely broken off. At one point 3 Italians were briefly stuck in the elevators on the Swift Wing. This hotel is in desperate need of a significant makeover. The parking lot was a mix of gravel and pavement almost as if they didn't have enough money to repave it. In fact to get to the hotel you have to cross a heliport. Why would you make the heliport closer to the hotel than the parking lot itself. There was parking on the side of the hotel but entrance from the outside was prohibited. In fact from the inside it said the door was alarmed but we saw several people going through this door to get to their cars and the door did not alarm. The area were we had breakfast was pleasant and the staff were very attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manc

Cossy Hotel and helpful staff

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Lovely hotel and great facilities. Could improve on the pillows in the room and have sockets close to the bed.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Revamp very dissaponting.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Most of Staff excellent.
Cons: Offer more of a warm atmosphere.
Location: 20km out of Town but reasonably close to Luas Tram into City (5euro)
Have stayed here many times and between 3 & 5 times a year. Overall love the place, however find that the homely, welcoming factor that has been prevelent over the years has suddenly changed and gave the place a cold feeling. Reception staff and Breakfast room staff excellent, Duty Manager (M*****t) ( Very unhelpful and blunt) on the day (Saturday 4th Dec) we arrived. Breakfast Room (All staff excellent especially Katie who did make you feel at home) revamp which was much needed seems excellent, however new layout for downstairs Lounge very cold atmosphere and little used even on Saturday evening. Most guests we spoke to who had stayed or used before were also dissappointed also. We have always stayed in a Room with Jacuzzi Bath and Shower, however were put in a Updated Room with Just a Shower, modern Decor and a distinctive cold feel about it. Recption on request immediately changed our Room to one of the older Rooms which was excellent. As for arrival, we had booked Room only due to the fact we had Breakfast Vouchers to cover 3 days for the two of us, which we were unable to use on our last visit in approx Sept/Oct and were informed on leaving at that time that there should be no problem using them on our next visit. Duty Manager flatly refused to honour Vouchers. Taking that up elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Overall nice hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, staff, 24hr reception, Lemongrass restaurant
Cons: Water in the rooms
Location: Lovely on site restaurants
I stayed at the Citywest for 2 nights in early January. I arrived and was informed I was upgraded which was nice. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was as you would expect, large double, average sized bathroom, table, chair, tea making facilities. The bed was comfortable and the room was tidy. The black out curtains were great. My only criticism; - the sink shelf in the bathroom was too small, you had nowhere to actually put your toiletries - there was no water in the room which I would have thought was standard in all hotels especially an expensive one like this. Other than that, really nice feel to the place and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle England

Comfortable Hotel with excellent amenities

Posted Jan 9, 2017
First visit to Ireland/Dublin we stayed here for a sporting seminar. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with towels and linen changed daily- though with three people in the room it took till the 2nd night to get a third set of towels as the room was set up for two people (despite booking for 3). I found the first gentleman on reception to be very helpful on arrival (24 hour reception), then later was a little disappointed with s few members of reception who seemed lacking in knowledge about what the website outlines as available nearby. The website highlights dedicated walking/jogging routes yet reception staff could not tell me about this and I was told that one could walk around the golf course, despite having forest trails and mountain walks highlighted in website. Another member of reception clearly forgot what I had told her the morning after arrival (though she said at the time she would make a note of it), and thd same person phoned me to ask me the very same question 2 days later- completely forgetting that I had already informed her of what she was asking. The room service and maid service was outstanding, a very friendly and warm lady who had worked there for 12 years. The hotel had been very helpful prior to our arrival in booking us a taxi (though it did take several email exchanges first). The hotel is a short stroll from the LUA tram line which took us into the city every evening for dinner. This took about 30 minutes- very cheap and convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but construction work going on inside

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Close to public Transportation and plenty of Taxi.
Cons: Room Cleaning services
Location: 69 Bus to Dublin or many local towns. The Luas train a few short blocks away even better than the bus for getting into Dublin.
Nice Hotel, great Gym facility. Construction work going on inside spreading dust into lounge area. Room Cleaning needs improvement. Had to call the front desk for room cleaning a couple of times after having been out all day with room clean sign on door, only to return to find room not cleaned. Otherwise not bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Beautiful, comfortable, extremely helpful staff,

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Had a lovely time here, the place is beautiful, clean, staff helpful, Thoroughly enjoyed my weekend here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Under renovation past its prime

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Elevators broken, TV never worked carpets threadbare. Furniture was all stained. Sad at one time a beautiful hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels