Ratings based on 1,060 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Good conference facilities, not hotel facilities

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: .
Cons: See above. Many areas for improvement, in my opinion.
Location: Small town nearby; walkable. Great Italian restaurant, Carpe Diem.
The rooms for our meetings was comfortable and with good A/V equipment. All sessions attended were good and signs were helpful in getting you around. The hotel, on the other hand, was not a pleasant experienced. If overall looks "tired" and not well maintained. Our room had good space, was very clean, but: chipped side chairs, insufficient outlets, very small shower stall, and extremely uncomfortable double bed. Interestingly, the twin bed was very good. Linens were good too. I should also mention that we appreciated that the main outlet had USB ports, so we could use that for charging our electronics. Once our third goest arrived, housekeeping never remembered to leave the 3rd set of towels. so we had to ask for them every night. The bar area was comfortable, but poor service. I often had to get up and find our server; this happened almost every evening. Would not stay there again. Would rather take the 40 minute tram ride from Dublin to Saggart every day, or pay the $30Euro cab ride.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blandford Forum

Horse Racing Weekend

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The bar staff were very pleasant and the location of the hotel which allowed us to explore the country and visit stud fams and racecourses.
Cons: The bar information on children. We were asked to leave the bar at 2230 as we had a 10 yer old child; however children were still in the bar at 2330.
Location: Lots of golf; easy access to the main road into Ireland and near 4 major racecourses.
The hotel is easy to find and is huge in size. It serves a number of conferences and tour companies and at times is very busy in the bar area. Bar staff were very helpful however breakfast staff are stressed and not helpful. We stayed for breakfast once and booked 2 full English and a continental. There were no croissants at 9 and when we asked for some the staff said that's it they are gone. We were not served coffee and when we asked were told it would come shortly. I'm glad I didn't hold my breath! We also found the cost of the breakfast very expensive at 15 euros. Overall however the staff were friendly and helpful but don't expect to feel special as they are serving the masses. The spa is attached to the hotel. You have to book a swim time (1 hour slots) but can only do this on the day you wish to swim. Swim hats, flip flops are compulsory however a number of people were allowed enter without these items which I found disappointing after the staff mad me purchase for my family. The room is very spacious but above head height everything was very dusty. Not sure if at 6 ft I have a different view but the room itself was dusty. Shampoo's are available when arrive in the room but they are not replaced so we had to purchase shampoo! There was a wedding on the Saturday night and unfortunately the music went on until late which disturbed our sleep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austria

1 day stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We have Chosen that Hotel because of the leisure Center but were told at check in that we have to reserve and can only stay for 1 hour because it is so busy. The rest of stay was absolutely ok.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Apeldoorn

Fijn hotel, rustig gelegen

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Wij waren afhankelijk van het openbaar vervoer. City West Hotel ligt ongeveer een half uur met de Luas (tram) vanaf het centrum van Dublin. We hadden een 3 daagse kaart gekocht voor € 19.50 p.p. daar hebben we ook goed gebruik van gemaakt. Ondanks dat er veel verschillende soorten gasten waren in het hotel, zakenlui, groepen en ook in deze zomertijd veel ouders met kleine kinderen, geen enkele overlast gehad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Großes Hotel am Stadtrand

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Großes Hotel am Stadtrand (in einem Vorort von Dublin). Gut mit der Bahn zu erreichen (Luas). Wen die Anfahrt von ca. 30 Minuten mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln nicht stört findet hier ein gut ausgestattetes Hotel mit allen Annehmlichkeiten. Ideal für Familien.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the hotel it used to be.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Not much anymore I'm afraid.
Cons: Staff training, rooms, layout, signage, food, room conditions....costings....everything!
Location: Handy for Dublin and routes south but so are other hotels.
Checking in using Visa debit card one is treated with disdain and lack of trust. Too many corridors and too few lifts. Signage very poor. Breakfast "fast food joint" and plates way too small. Ridiculous green fees on the golf, 50.00 euros for 2 players, still 50 Euros for one player! Empty courses = reduce the green fees! Restaurant eating was rather like McDonalds with kids running around everywhere, screaming and making way too much noise. Coach loads of arrivals/departures just blocking ALL the doors, little or no staff moving them or freeing up blocked potential escape routes...very poor! Smoking room had more smoking accident damage evidence in the room than an old pub! Staying at this hotel used to be a pleasant experience but it seems now to be trying to grab the money and run rather than concentrating on continuous improvement.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Not much. Unfortunately, our experience was negative this year.
Cons: EVERYTHING... Internet connection need vast improvement. Office services access needs to be improved.
Location: It is too far out from town and Dublin. There is very little to do nearby unless you want to spend all your time playing golf on their golf course.
I booked a king room, air conditioned, handicap access bathroom, and breakfast. We arrived and they had a "double" which consisted of 2 twin beds, NO air conditioning and a very small handicap bathroom which NO wheel chair could even fit. They did have however our breakfast vouchers. We spent over 3 hours trying to get the room we booked. They could not accommodate our confirmed reservation requirements. We had to spend the night in the cramped quarters with NO air conditioning, This was very bad for me as I have bad asthma. The next day they did move us to a king size bed room, NOT handicap accessible, NOT air conditioned which they told us that it was air conditioned. The snack machine was out of service for 3 days of our stay. There was NO ice machine. Hallway noise was moderate. Based on Citywest not honoring our confirmed reservations, their lying to us about air conditioning, we will never stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Location close to Luas.
Cons: Price
Superior room is not superior. Hotel value is terrible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Pleasant experience.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Location: Location very good. Walk to Luas (rail service) and walk to Saggart Village.
Reception staff very pleasant and efficient. Restaurant staff good. Room clean but toilet not working well. Hotel responsive to our requests. Enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qatar

Perfect for everyone

Posted Jul 30, 2016
It's never disappoints, great atmosphere and lots to keep the kids happy, breakfast is fantastic, set in the picturesque village of Saggart on the foothills of the Dublin Mountains, great location.