Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Overall nice hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, staff, 24hr reception, Lemongrass restaurant
Cons: Water in the rooms
Location: Lovely on site restaurants
I stayed at the Citywest for 2 nights in early January. I arrived and was informed I was upgraded which was nice. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was as you would expect, large double, average sized bathroom, table, chair, tea making facilities. The bed was comfortable and the room was tidy. The black out curtains were great. My only criticism; - the sink shelf in the bathroom was too small, you had nowhere to actually put your toiletries - there was no water in the room which I would have thought was standard in all hotels especially an expensive one like this. Other than that, really nice feel to the place and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle England

Comfortable Hotel with excellent amenities

Posted Jan 9, 2017
First visit to Ireland/Dublin we stayed here for a sporting seminar. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with towels and linen changed daily- though with three people in the room it took till the 2nd night to get a third set of towels as the room was set up for two people (despite booking for 3). I found the first gentleman on reception to be very helpful on arrival (24 hour reception), then later was a little disappointed with s few members of reception who seemed lacking in knowledge about what the website outlines as available nearby. The website highlights dedicated walking/jogging routes yet reception staff could not tell me about this and I was told that one could walk around the golf course, despite having forest trails and mountain walks highlighted in website. Another member of reception clearly forgot what I had told her the morning after arrival (though she said at the time she would make a note of it), and thd same person phoned me to ask me the very same question 2 days later- completely forgetting that I had already informed her of what she was asking. The room service and maid service was outstanding, a very friendly and warm lady who had worked there for 12 years. The hotel had been very helpful prior to our arrival in booking us a taxi (though it did take several email exchanges first). The hotel is a short stroll from the LUA tram line which took us into the city every evening for dinner. This took about 30 minutes- very cheap and convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but construction work going on inside

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Close to public Transportation and plenty of Taxi.
Cons: Room Cleaning services
Location: 69 Bus to Dublin or many local towns. The Luas train a few short blocks away even better than the bus for getting into Dublin.
Nice Hotel, great Gym facility. Construction work going on inside spreading dust into lounge area. Room Cleaning needs improvement. Had to call the front desk for room cleaning a couple of times after having been out all day with room clean sign on door, only to return to find room not cleaned. Otherwise not bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Beautiful, comfortable, extremely helpful staff,

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Had a lovely time here, the place is beautiful, clean, staff helpful, Thoroughly enjoyed my weekend here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Under renovation past its prime

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Elevators broken, TV never worked carpets threadbare. Furniture was all stained. Sad at one time a beautiful hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff; great food.
Cons: Decor updated in bedroom and warm water in the bathroom would be nice.
Location: Location excellent for Kildare village and Dublin.
Hotel is in a great location for both a visit to Dublin and Kildare Shopping Village. The grounds are lovely, and the reception and hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor in the bedrooms are a little dated but the room was huge and nice & warm. The breakfast was lovely also as was our evening meal in the Lemongrass restaurant. The only downside of our stay was no warm water in the shower both in the evening and morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, CANADA

dumpy, outdated & worn out

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: we went to the dart tournament Thursday night, the first night of our 4 night stay. the tournament was great. breakfast was ok
Cons: everything. most notably the worn out beds, and furniture. and paper thin walls
Location: about an hour to get to Dublin
dumpy, worn out, outdated. small rooms with oversized useless furniture. torn, stained carpet, both in the hallway and in the room. served people in the bar until they were so inebriated that there was two middle aged women fist fighting! and just to be clear, this was the day after a dart tournement while the bar was incredible busy, there were no issues. the furniture in the common rooms are so worn your sitting on the frame, the beds in the room are the same. foot and head of mattress are 4 inches higher than the middle. not only was this the worse place we stayed in, in Ireland, it was the most expensive. do yourself a favour, go anywhere else
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from redditch

great location

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Dublin in a great place
Stayed 2 nights to see darts Grand Prix Great location Lovely room Tram makes visiting Dublin centre so easy
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Breakfast Expensive

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: location was great, as we were there for an event taking place in the venue
Cons: As far as I was aware, I had paid for breakfast, but on checking in was told it was not included.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Good conference facilities, not hotel facilities

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: .
Cons: See above. Many areas for improvement, in my opinion.
Location: Small town nearby; walkable. Great Italian restaurant, Carpe Diem.
The rooms for our meetings was comfortable and with good A/V equipment. All sessions attended were good and signs were helpful in getting you around. The hotel, on the other hand, was not a pleasant experienced. If overall looks "tired" and not well maintained. Our room had good space, was very clean, but: chipped side chairs, insufficient outlets, very small shower stall, and extremely uncomfortable double bed. Interestingly, the twin bed was very good. Linens were good too. I should also mention that we appreciated that the main outlet had USB ports, so we could use that for charging our electronics. Once our third goest arrived, housekeeping never remembered to leave the 3rd set of towels. so we had to ask for them every night. The bar area was comfortable, but poor service. I often had to get up and find our server; this happened almost every evening. Would not stay there again. Would rather take the 40 minute tram ride from Dublin to Saggart every day, or pay the $30Euro cab ride.