Ratings based on 1,662 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice,quiet location good links to city & coast

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Slept well enjoyed breakfast choice easy to access city attractions and family on caost. Well maintained grounds and good view from room. Clean relaxed environment
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Dark and dated

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The hotel looked good from the photographs but it was old fashioned. Our rooms on the 4th floor were dated & extremely dark, even with all the lights on. They were very hot & had no air conditioning. The windows had restricted opening for safety reasons. We asked for a fan but one was never brought up. The choices in the Brasserie were limited & expensive. It was, again, very dimly lit. Breakfast was good. Reception staff were very good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KY

Not a Informed decision

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: terrible
Cons: put air conditioner
Hotel web site and Expedia have not provided important information such as no air-conditioner in this hotel room. This hotel doesn't have an air-conditioner in rooms. You can't charge your phone battery without an adapter in this hotel room. I asked why the hotel doesn't not provide this important information in the web site in advance so that I can have an informed decision to book this hotel. I didn't get a make-sense explanation from the hotel front desk and manager as well. A staff member and the manger (female) provided an electric fan and suggested to buy an adapter in the vending machine inside hotel(7 Euro) sold about 4 Euro in SPAR nearby. On top of that , they said if you are not satisfied , we refund now. I visited Dublin from the U.S. My business was supposed to start next day and I didn't know where to go or rebook . This is a terrible experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vigonovo, Italy

Beautiful building, off the beaten path

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Massive property, located within walking distance of bus stops or even the city center if you have the time/energy. A few local options for food (pubs, pizza), all of which were fantastic. Room was massive for European standards and ours had a queen and twin beds when only two twins were requested.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

I enjoyed my stay here

Posted Jul 18, 2017
No air-conditioning There was a heat wave the week I was there I understand it's quite cool here in July
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.I

Good location and price right by the dart station

Posted Jul 14, 2017
My little family enjoyed our stay, hotel felt a little tired but was generally well looked after and clean. Few minutes walk to the dart which takes you directly to the city centre in 5 minutes. Car parking expensive unfortunately but this is across the board in all big cities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful area!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We had a lovely stay here for our 40th anniversary. The area around the hotel are safe and walkable. The international embassies are all located in Ballsbridge. Two of the hop on hop off buses stop right at the hotel, but it is a pretty easy walk into Dublin city center if you are energetic. We walked it a few times, and we are in our 60's. It's just under 2 miles. The beds were super comfy and the breakfast buffet each morning lovely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will try some where else next time

Posted Jun 27, 2017
We had great hopes after we saw the website, but were disappointed with the mixed customer service. It was 50/50 with the front desk, the housekeeping, and the bar. It was either very good, or bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Laura Mangan, Hotel Management
Hello , I would firstly like to thank you for choosing to stay at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge recently. I am very disappointed to hear of the issues that you encountered during your stay. We take great pride in the quality of our service, and it is naturally very disheartening to know that we have not managed to exceed your expectations. I do hope that you will accept my sincere apologies for the poor level of service that you experienced, which was most certainly not of the standard to which we strive to achieve. I have forwarded your concerns to the Management Team, who will investigate this matter further. Please accept our deepest apology I very much hope that we will have the opportunity to make amends to you in the future. Warmest regards, Laura Mangan, Brand Ambassador, Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for events at the Aviva Stadium!

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The room I had was large and spacious. Great location for attending a concert at the Aviva Stadium. Bar food was very reasonable.
Cons: No air con in the room. Parts of the hotel are tired and need some TLC.
Location: This hotel is less than 5mins walk from Sandymount DART station and then 10mins walk from the Aviva stadium and so is perfect for Aviva events. It is
I only stayed in this hotel for one night but it is clean, comfortable and staff are friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Laura Mangan, Hotel Management
Hello, I would firstly like to thank you for choosing to stay at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge recently. I was happy to note that overall you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in the quality of our service, and it is very pleasing to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations. I have forwarded your feedback on the A/C to the Management Team. I very much hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in the future. Warmest regards, Laura Mangan, Brand Ambassador, Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from ireland

daughter attending concert in nearby rds

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Facilties and Staff
Cons: nothing
Location: Near lovely parks particularly HerbertPark well worth visting. Great location for attending concerts and events
hotel in great location near rds arena and Landsdowne Road. Beautifully presented with nice relaxing area in front of reception to relax and enjoy gardens. Bar and restaurant spacious and lively breakfast choice best I have seen in any Four Star Hotel. My daughter very impressed with pancake machine lots of nice touches. All staff pleasant and helpful would highly recommend this hotel for cleanliness,style and comfort
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Laura Mangan, Hotel Management
Hello Pearl, I would firstly like to thank you for choosing to stay at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge recently. I was happy to note that overall you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in the quality of our service, and it is very pleasing to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations. I have forwarded your feedback to the Management Team. I very much hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in the future. Warmest regards, Laura Mangan, Brand Ambassador, Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge