Ratings based on 2,431 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from d

Work, rest and relaxation

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Great experience for the most part - the gym was exceptional - staff, particularly young female with Long blonde hair was an absolute pleasure to deal with. The HEAT - the room was a sauna with no temperature control. Radiators off and we had to sleep with no blankets and still feel too warm
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Brian Erb, Deputy General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Donna, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Brian Erb Deputy General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business district of Dublin

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: The staff was very helpful with city and tour information. No problems what so ever. The rooms were cleaned everyday. We made good use of the fitness
Cons: The rooms were very warm due to being in between building. There was not much of a breeze because the windows had no screens and only opened slightly.
Location: Access to the river bridges, buses, train stations. Everything was within walking distance.
The hotel was great. The location was good easy access to buses or within walking distance from the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted May 29, 2017
Staff great, room great, food great. Get a taxi in to town as it's a bit of a walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Brian Erb, Deputy General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Brian Erb Deputy General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location & drop off point from airport

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Customer service
Location: Lots of places to go and visit
Would have been excellent if not for the front desk not asking me how many people would be having breakfast when I requested for the voucher. She just assumed that I would be alone which made me feel uncomfortable while in the dining room when the waiter made me wait which then created a long line behind me. That was an embarrassing situation for me especially in a foreign country.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dublin break

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The facilities.
Cons: A bag check system
Location: Fairly near Dublin centre about twenty minutes walk
Hotel was lovely only problem was leaving the bags before we checked in and after we checked out. We were given a ticket number both times but when we came to retrieve them they couldn't find them without our help the first time a manager I think came in and wasn't happy my friend was in the room even though the staff member had asked her to come in to look for bags and the second time we had to wait twenty minutes before any one looked for them and then they still couldn't find them without our help.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Brian Erb, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, at the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane we always welcome our guests feedback positive or negative, as we believe this is the most important tool we have to improve our services. We were very disappointed to read your review regarding a bag check system. I can assure you I will investigate this matter future and introduce corrective action accordingly to ensure such matter do not reoccur. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the points you raised in your feedback in more detail, if you wish to afford me this opportunity email me your contact details and I would be more than happy to contact you at a time of convenience. Kind Regards Brian Erb
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Never again.

Posted May 22, 2017
The hotel is in a good location to access the city centre. The noise from outside is quite shocking to be honest as regardless if the window is closed or not, you can hear everything from the busy street and I've never had that problem with city hotels before. The front desk staff were mostly adequate, rather neutral and there were no pleasantries, no asking about the stay, no real customer service but at least only one of them was rude. The staff in the lounge were lovely though. The room was fine but it was a bit inconvenient because there was nowhere to charge anything next to the beds, so it meant using the laptop and phone plugged into the dresser. The bed mattress is extremely firm, like a rock. The room service menu is extremely limited so unless you want curry, burgers, steak or pizza there really isn't much to choose from. They changed the menu and prices so what you're charged isn't what is advertised. They charged €5 just to bring the food to the room, despite that it said it was €3 in the menu and a 200ml coke for €3 despite that it said it was 500ml in the menu. It was a ripoff and it put a damper on our holiday. We ended up ordering delivery from a nearby restaurant and they only charged €2.50 for delivery which was quite laughable if you think about it. The inside of the hotel was very beautiful but the room was quite bland. On the plus side there was a balcony and a kettle for making tea. I wouldn't stay here again and I wouldn't rate the service as 4 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Union City, New Jersey

Quiet location!

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The location and staff.
Cons: The bar area needs improvement on its service and the bar manager could have been more accommodating.
Location: Only 15 minute walk along the river to O'Connel Street.
The hotel is located in a quiet location only a 15 minutes from the busy downtown area (O'Connell Street). The staff was most helpful at the front desk. I do not recommend the food in the bar area. The breakfast on the mezzanine floor was very good but some ideas were cold on the buffet. The gym and pool are very good with many machines to workout on. The 757 bus (airlink) is directly outside hotel and beats taking a taxi. I would recommend this hotel to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA, USA

Nice hotel 20 minutes from City Centre

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Room size and breakfast buffet
Cons: The location of the hair dryer is inconvenient. I would prefer it in the bathroom instead of attached inside the dresser drawer.
Location: The location is near the docks. There is a nice pub right next door, and restaurants and a grocery store near the docks.
The hotel was near the docks in Dublin about 20 Minutes (1 mile) away from the busy Temple Bar Area. They allowed us to check right after we arrived from the airport, about 3 hours prior to their posted check-in time. The Hotel personnel were very helpful, and the rooms were very nice, clean and roomy. The beds were very comfortable. The pillows were a little bit hard, but a softer pillow is just my personal preference. Our daughter was ill for the first few days, so we spent a lot of time at the hotel during those days, and there was loud construction right next door to the hotel (began at 8:00 AM, ended at 4:00 PM), which was of course not the hotel's fault, but it bothered us just a little, since we wanted to keep the windows open. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was excellent! My husband and son liked the convenience of being able to use the hot tub a couple of times. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again, because for me it was nice not to be in the crowded area, and there was a very nice pub ("The Ferryman") just a couple of houses down the road, but for someone wanting to be close to the Temple Bar area be advised that it is a brisk 20 minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Excellent hotel

Posted May 13, 2017
Just 10 minutes from Temple Bar the hotel is ideally located. The amenities are super and the staff friendly and courteous. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FM

Posted May 12, 2017
Excellent location. Lovely hotel, front desk staff were excellent. We would return.