Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westport , Ireland

Lovely hotel with character, great for nightlife

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Everything! Location, staff, view over St Stephen's Green, decor, quality, period features, just beautiful!
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: Location is Ace, centre of nightlife, shopping!
Great hotel with character, I love the old building it is so lovely, with all its original ceilings, woodwork, and period features. Lovely furniture and class decorations in the rooms. The location is ideal being both right in the centre of the shopping area of Grafton St and also all the nightlife around there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from clonmel

We had a very enjoyable stay. Beautiful townhouse

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Superb location,all excellent.we were very happy with our trip
5 out of 5
by Ian

Excellent

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful stay from start to finish. Unfortunately the restaurant was booked out when we arrived. However the gentleman at reception called us in our room and offered to enquire at local restaurants to see if there was availability. He was back to us in ten minutes with a table reservation a few doors down in Peploes, one of our favourite restaurants in the area. The room was very comfortable with excellent facilities including a coffee machine. After our meal we returned to the Cliff Townhouse and enjoyed a couple of cocktails before retiring for the night. We love the breakfast in the Cliff Townhouse. The service is excellent and the food is superb with locally supplied fresh and homemade produce. The waitress was excellent and was able to tell us the source of each item as it was served. Our seat by the window overlooking St. Stephen's green and the relaxed stress free atmosphere in such a beautiful space really tied off the perfect Dublin city centre overnight stay.
5 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
You have to walk up a flight of stairs to get to the elevator. The floor I stayed on required walking up an additional 2 flights of stairs after getting off the elevator. The people at the hotel were very attentive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chic central boutique hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed this stay - prime location, lovely staff, excellent breakfast and very comfortable room. I will be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value. Perfect location.

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
The Cliff Townhouse was clean, elegant and affordable with a fine restaurant attached. You can not beat the location - right on St. Stephen's Green, a block from Grafton Street shopping and easy walk to Trinity College and Temple Bar. The Transport for Dublin and all the Hop On Hop Off buses stop right in front of the building. This guest house is right in the center of all the cool Dublin action - day and night. There is quite of bit of construction going on right now, both in the hotel and in the streets surrounding Stephens Green, but that didn't slow us down one bit. One caveat, if you don't like stairs this is not the property for you. The lift is a joke - only services two floors - and the stairs are magically endless. Somehow our 4th floor room seemed to require 8 flights of stairs to get too. For us, it was part of the charm of the historical Georgian building. But no fun dragging heavy suitcases up. There is no bell service. Anyway we loved the Cliff Townhouse, recommend it highly and would stay again when we come back to Dublin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Great place to stay. Close to everything.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The location and breakfast
Cons: Room were slightly small but I expect that in an older hotel.
Location: St Stephans green is across the street. Visit Oscar Wilde's statue there or take a lovely stroll. In walking distance to many sights.
This hotel was exactly what I hoped for. It was close enough to the heart of Dublin without being too close to all the noisy bars. We went to the bars to party and then had a comfortable walk back to the hotel. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. There was a bit of construction going on in the hotel but it wasn't an inconvenience to us. I picked this hotel not only for its location but because it came with breakfast. It was an amazing breakfast. We had our pick from the menu. It was served in style with very attentive staff. Certainly not your ordinary continental breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great location- But disappointing experience

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Quality of staff and focus on customer satisfaction
Location: Walking distance to everything!
Location can't be beat, but for a boutique hotel with this rating, we did not have the warm, friendly experience we expected. First issue- lots of steps! There are stairs to the lift, and the lift only goes to 2nd floor, so lots more stairs after that. To top it off, the List was out of service. When we arrived. The desk staff aplogozed, but did not offer help with our bags. Same upon checkout. We also had an issue with our toilet and we were told we'd have to wait till the evening for someone to look at it. We were then told that they could not find a problem. When we insisted, they sent someone the next day and it was addressed. There was painters on ladders blocking the stairs too, at 11pm. Who does that when guests are returning to their rooms or trying to sleep?Service at breakfast was provided by a very inexperienced server. I know issues occur, but it's how they are handled that set the best away from the rest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice hotel, very average service

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
The Cliff Town House is nice but I was a bit disappointed with the level of service. Check-in was friendly, in passing the reception a few times during our stay no one said hello or cracked a smile and when checking out no question on how our stay was. Based on ratings here I expected better. On a positive note, the room was nice, bed was comfy, shower was amazing and breakfast was tasty.