Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX, USA

Absolutely beautiful place! Loved staying here.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
The only thing I think could improve was a strange smell coming from the bathroom. Pretty sure it wasn't me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Lovely Hotel but the room doors are noisy from early am !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place to stay, would recommend to anyone

Posted Jan 4, 2017
We had a wonderful time over Christmas here. Ran into a problem with a flight that was cancelled and the hotel staff was very helpful and offered to let us stay longer at a discounted rate. We ended up not doing that so we could be closer to the airport, but it was much appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Jason Ormston General Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your festive stay and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future. Many thanks, Jason Ormston General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Beautiful Castle and great location

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The castle was gorgeous and the staff was wonderful, professional and courteous. The food was great as well. The only slight set back was the plumbing. Both the sink and the tub had very slow drains. The toilet water pressure was low and the handle was flimsy. I loved Ireland and will definitely go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Jason Ormston General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear MM, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay however I am disappointed that you experienced some issues in the room in which you stayed in. I have passed your comments on to our Accommodation department to be looked into further. Thank you for your feedback, Jason Ormston General Manager Many thanks, Jason Ormston General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newmarket

Fanatic experience

Posted Dec 15, 2016
I had emailed questions prior to our arrival...which were promptly answered...Arrived in Dublin and got to the hotel in the morning and we're checked in no problem...some places wake you wait. ..restaurant was awesome...afternoon tea is not to be missed...cannot say enough...Thank you Clontarf!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Jason Ormston General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rick, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future. Many thanks, Jason Ormston General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mid West

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Location, staff and decor.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Nice location, close to 3 Arena yet very peaceful.
Lovely decoration in keeping with its construction period. enhanced by dedicated customer orientated staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Jason Ormston General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jackie, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future. Many thanks, Jason Ormston General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Arizona United States

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Loved this hotel. Not too far from Dublin. The staff was wonderful and helpful. Would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Jason Ormston General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Avra, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future. Many thanks, Jason Ormston General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016
The best part of the experience was the check in. The woman who checked us was friendly and accomodating. Otherwise, the staff seemed cold and disinterested. There was a large function during our stay and a majority of the common areas were blocked off as 'reserved' and we were unable to enjoy them and many of them sat unoccupied. The table next to the fire in the bar was reserved for over an hour and sat empty, while I proceeded to shiver in a corner. When my companion alerted the bartender that his martini had been served in a cracked glass, he simply sloshed the drink from cracked glass into new one and served it. The concierge knowingly gave away our called taxi twice to other guests. The taxi driver told me the concierge actually lied to him and told him that the other guest was associated with our room number. It seems that the hotel is focused primarily on catering to large functions and couldn't care less about their other guests. We will not be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from trowbridge

Better than advertised!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Appearance: Staff: Food:
Cons: Maybe a little more choice on menu eg no pasta dishes available
Location: Handy to bus stops - taxi service on site and something not seen too frequently in UK - a car battery charging unit for the eco minded !
Friendly,welcoming staff in all areas of the hotel. Could not do enough to help. Food top quality. Would go again if the right deal turns up !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful, luxury in a quaint castle

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Just perfect in every way. Beautiful castle turned hotel. Wonderful, friendly staff. Quaint rooms and décor throughout the whole hotel. Great service and excellent food. A little tough to find the location at first but all else was perfect.