Ratings based on 1,207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay here, just be aware it's not actually in the main part of Dublin so does require some extra travelling. Ate in the Knights bar twice which did good food. Breakfast had a good selection.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but forget having dinner in house

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Regardless of staying there they would not let us eat at their best restaurant. First for me.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

What a wonderful place to stay.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The Castle has some amazing sites within it and the staff were always ready willing and able to assist us with anything we needed.
Cons: Nothing .... We were amazed by everything
Location: Its 20 mins from the airport and about the same to downtown Dublin. The Castle is situated in a lovely corner of Dublin and is just stunning.
We actually got married at the Clontarf during our stay and it was absolutely fabulous. The staff were so friendly and everything was just perfect for our special day. I would recommend Clontarf Castle to anyone wishing to visit Dublin. The Castle is absolutely gorgeous.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, 10-15 min. walk to harbor seawall

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Very nice lobby and bar. Rooms were very nice and comfortable.
Cons: Doors to rooms do not close easily nor quietly, have to slam them closed. Shuttle service into town or at least to the bus stop on Clontarf road
Overall great experience and highly recommended. Nice location, although fairly far from the city center.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traumhaftes Castle-Hotel in der Nähe von Dublin

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Location: Das Hotel liegt leicht im Norden von der Stadt Dublin. Es ist die Stadtmitte aber leicht mittels Bus oder Taxi zu erreichen.
Dieses Hotel ist wirklich wunderschön gestaltet und die alten Schlossmauern wurden gekonnt mit modernen Zügen verfeinert. Die Zufahrt zum Hotel ist leicht und mittels Abzweigung bei einem Kreisverkehr zu finden. Es sind genügend Parkplätze verfügbar. Die Bars und Restaurants laden zum Verweilen ein und das Essen ist super lecker und ansprechend angerichtet. Das Frühstück war äußerst vielfältig und wunderbar aufbereitet. Das Clontarf Castle Hotel ist absolut zu empfehlen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver, can

We stayed in a Castle!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Very helpful & knowledgable staff. The hotel design and feel.
Location: The location, although away from Dublin, is only a 15 bus ride to the city centre. There is a bus stop 200 metres from the hotel. Take bus #130.
You feel relaxed once you walk through the doors. Everything about the hotel was fantastic to the extremely helpful staff to the inspiring design of the hotel/castle. The front desk clerk Brian welcomed us for our 10 year anniversary with a superb upgrade into a large room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New England

A hidden gem on the outskirts of Dublin.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: The integration of the remnants of the castle into a modern hotel created its own charm. The staff was very pleasant. The pub served great food.
Cons: Hotel location makes it difficult to easily get into Dublin. While taxis are available, it would help to have better map/directions to train stop.
We booked the hotel sight unseen and were very pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed the hotel. It is impressive to view and is in a nice, residential neighborhood. The staff was professional and helpful. The room was fairly standard but clean and comfortable. The gym was small but usable. We liked the onsite pub/restaurant and the menu. We found the breakfast buffet to be comprehensive but a bit pricy. There are not a lot of things to do and see near the hotel. One needs to take a taxi or walk to train stop to go into downtown Dublin. We would stay there again and would recommend to our friends and family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Historic castle hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The ambience and the history are great in this historic castle, which is also very modern in the re-design and entryway.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Located in an upscale residential Dublin neighborhood a block from the port. Several miles from downtown Dublin. Good restaurants nearby in Clontarf.
Elegant castle hotel, seems newly and tastefully built. Lots of history, if you do some research. Not overly opulent but very comfortable and interesting in the furnishings and lobby area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved this place.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Had a great time here. The front desk and pub staff were so nice and efficient. The hotel is just cool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Beautiful hotel inside and out!!! Would definitely stay again!