Ratings based on 1,428 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Great staff. It's just a little way from things though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia.

When we come to Dublin will stay at the Castle.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
We did not want to stay in hectic Dublin so we opted for Clontarf Castle Hotel. The Castle is very impressive as you pull into the driveway from a quite residential neighborhood. The lobby is a beautiful room with modern furniture and antiques. The staff was helpful and pleasant. Out room was listed as a double bed but was actually a king. It is a very comfortable, nicely decorated room. We hope to stay here agin soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The hotel was beautiful, had updated amenities, including USB ports directly next to bed so a converter was not required to charge our phones. Huge plus! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the shampoo and conditioner!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Absolutely wonderful property!

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Buffet breakfast was wonderful. Gorgeous property Super staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head Island, SC

It's like Hogwarts!

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: The ambiance, staff and food
Location: Short bus into City Centre to experience all that Dublin has to offer
We arrived early morning and were greeted kindly and lucky that our room was available. The concierge was kind enough to contact our rental car company to help us exchange a faulty car. Then, we got advice on how to take the bus into city centre and recommendations on activities to do. The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. The food in the Knight's pub was excellent and the ambiance was fabulous. We would highly recommend the Clontarf Castle hotel...definitely a place to experience on a Dublin trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Amazing Anniversary Stay Abroad

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Location: Location is not "city center" but, it is worth it! Easy walk to somewhere to eat, and to the peir. Taxi to city center 9-18 euro. Not bad at all
This was our first time ever abroad, and we could not be more happy we choose to stay here. The hotel is beautiful, charming, and a once in a lifetime place to stay. Every employee we encountered was amazing. No matter what we needed; be it a taxi or dinner reservations, they were on top of it. Also, both the dining options within the hotel are out of this world! Also, the awesome staff upgraded us for our last night due to a noisy party that was going on. If you have the money, spring for the executive suit! Our stay was one for the books, and unforgettable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, comfortable.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Cons: Perhaps more signage of some sort to identify the entrance better for people driving.
Not easy to find the entrance if drive yourself, with a quite small car park. The only reason I didn't rate the hotel with a "5" is due to parking and locating the entrance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marin County, CA

Clontarf Castle - Best of the Best!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Everything! It's like a small city in there and you really don't need to leave for anything.
My daughter and I stayed here at the end of our trip and could not be happier. The staff - both in the hotel and in the pub - treated us like royalty! Everything was perfect. Very comfortable bed. NIce hot shower. Would have liked to try the huge soaking tub, but not enough time. The food was very yummy too. We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to experience it. Even though it's a bit out of town - its worth it! The views are great too!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Very pleasant stay just north of Dublin

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: This hotel's greatest asset is its staff! :)
Cons: Attending a wedding on a wet day, so little opportunity to go outside - consider creating a covered garden area for photographs.
Location: Easy access from M1, pleasant surroundings
Very well kept hotel, with good facilities. Staff at breakfast seemed a little under pressure, but apart from this, everyone was very pleasant and attentive. Staff were not saying "have a nice day" because that's what's expected - they seemed genuinely interested in having a conversation with guests and ensuring they did their best to ensure an enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clontarf Castle

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Loved it, it's a castle! Food especially was amazing I never care about the breakfasts but this was worth it and all the food was delicious! It would be nice if the bus was a little closer or train... but it was lovely! I would definitely go back and hope I can some day