Ratings based on 1,173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

WOW! What a great Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Everything! Luke and the desk staff took the time to ensure that we were comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay.
Cons: We can't think of anything.
Location: We had a car so we were able to see the local sites before heading into town for a visit
Absolutely beautiful inside and out, comfortable room, great dining. This hotel has everything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

best hotel stay

Posted Jul 24, 2016
It was the best hotel stay of our vacation for our 30th anniversary. Staff was great. Breakfast was outstanding. Room was wonderful. It was ALL great in our opinion.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Garden Grove cal

Very helpful nice and happy staff

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Lots. Of. Fun. Good bar nice people here close to. Railroad. And. The water way
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south uk

Birthday treat

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: All very good
Cons: More space in restaurant at breakfast as getting between chairs was very tight especially carrying plates, was embarrassing asking people to move
Location: Great city lots to do buy a leap card and travel all over on Luas dart and buses
A week long getaway as a treat for partner lovely food good walks and loads of history easy transport buzzing city very friendly people
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Biloxi, Mississippi

easy trip to the sites of Dublin from hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: its history and the way it has been updated using the original stones, tower etc and then adding a very nice modernization
Location: not much to do in the location but very easy access the the night life of Dublin, taxi cabs the way to go !!!
would stay without question, relaxing, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, can't wait to make a return trip
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful castle hotel with incredible restaurant!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: The food at the restaurant on site, the rooms and the excellent service given by the staff. I can't think of anything we did not like as all was incre
The service at this hotel was outstanding. The beds very comfortable and the restaurant was amazing. The salmon was the best I have ever eaten and the deserts were delectable. If we ever travel to Ireland again this will definitely be our first choice of hotels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing castle stay - felt like royalty!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
My friend and I just stayed at Clontarf Castle 2 days ago. We wanted to spend the night in a hotel in Iteland, and this did not disappoint. We got upgraded to a Jr. Suite, and it was fantastic! Everything was perfect (ok, well the pillows weren't great). The castle looked cool but had modern updates. We had robes and slippers, a canopy bed, window seats, a couch, etc. We almost skipped going back to Dublin that night because we were so impressed with our hotel. I wish we had more time to explore. All the lounges looked fabulous. We did the continental breakfast buffet and it was excellent. I would love to stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful hotel in a nice, quiet part of the city

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The hotel was beautiful, historic, and had wonderful staff (and it had air conditioning). The bar inside of the hotel was so cozy and fun and the food was very tasty. I would definitely stay there again. :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

When in Dublin, stay in a castle

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Cons: Don't overbook.
Location: Very close to West Wood Club with pool, transport and surrounding area.
This hotel was my first choice with its favorable reviews and medieval feel. Did not disappoint. First night started poorly. Was given an accessible room - the last room they had as they were sold out - and it wasn't the one I booked. Staff were hanging out and smoking outside the window, it was noisy, and the bathroom reflected its purpose. As a result, the very lovely Frederika and her manager agreed to put me in a suite for my second night as compensation. Also had room service, and the server and the food were both fantastic and of high standard. Second night my luggage was moved to a suite and waiting for me upon return from a day trip to Cliffs of Moher. An absolutely beautiful room with view of ancient graveyard out back (hey, it's a castle!), very chill and plush, and everything I hoped for. Internet was fast and stable, room was quiet, room service was fast and fab, bed was comfy and luxurious. The grounds are absolutely lovely, and lots of detail to give it a majestic feel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Comfortable Stay

Posted Jul 14, 2016
We only stayed one night, but the staff was great. We were early, but our room was ready. We also ate in the bar area and had a wonderful dinner. Peaceful night's sleep too, comfy beds and a great breakfast in the morning. Overall fantastic stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Jason Ormston General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tracy, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future. Many thanks, Jason Ormston