Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in beautiful Howth

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: Its location and surrounding, beautiful golf course
Cons: The hallways and rooms need a bit of an update. add a little microwave and that's it.
Location: The fish wholesale market and small seafood restaurants, the cookery school, walking trails around Howth
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Montreal,Quebec

Nice Hotel on the golf course and close to Howth

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Size of the room. location, the golf course, the staff
Cons: The TV was mounted in a position impossible to view comfortably from the bed; also the number of channels is very limited for this class and location.
Location: Right on the golf course, Howth is a nice place to walk around, especially down by the Marina, an active fishing harbour. Lots of nice pubs around
Very nice stay; whether you like golf or not, and a shuttle bus is available to local pubs & restaurants if you don't want to drive. The view from the hotel looking down on Howth is really nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DEM from USA

"Fawlty Tower" as referenced by a taxi driver

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: The staff was pleasant and eager to help. The breakfast food choices were good. The bus that takes one to the pier and restaurants.
Cons: Good design and management.
Location: Great spot: golf, walking in the surroundings, the pier.
This is probably the best location in Howth. However, the hotel is in bad need of good management and help of a decent designer with renovation. The grounds are magnificent. We had a newly "renovated" room that had still the same old furniture (sinking sofa bed) and rather cheap new furniture put here and there in the room. In the new bathroom, it seems like management/designer did not want to pierce holes in the tiles. Therefore there was no toilet paper holder, no soap holder in the shower, no counter space. The only place to hang clothes was in the bathroom!!!! There were two other closets in the room where the old shelves remained. All together a rather cheap upgrade. I understand they combined two rooms together but without a sense of how to make the place comfortable and practical. All unfortunate really. The carpet in the hallway was and in bad need of change. I could go on for another page.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

View from room is very nice

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: The view from the room
We only stayed 1 night and didn't have a chance to enjoy the restaurant or pool or spa but it all looked wonderful
3 out of 5
by Emma

Beautiful location... Needs some TLC!

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: View/location
Cons: Housekeeping Maintainance
We stayed in a family suite for 4 nights whilst attending A wedding in Dublin in June 2013. The hotel is in a beautiful Hilltop location overlooking the sea. The staff are really pleasant and try to accommodate Any requests you have despite their limited resources (we asked for an Iron to iron my husbands shirt for the wedding and had to wait until 10:30 at night as they only have 2 and they were in use) The room was not clean when we arrived. The toilet wasn't clean and had not even been flushed by the last User. The shower had hair on the tiles and a dirty screen. There are many more Things that I could mention but these were the main things. We reported the dirty toilet and Shower but were told housekeeping had gone home. I ended up cleaning It myself. There are also no net curtians/blinds and we had to Have the curtains closed practically all the time as there Were corridors and rooms opposite on the same level that could Clearly see into our room - this is if they can see though The filthy windows! Overall the whole of the hotel needs some TLC and a good clean. It seems they try to keep the areas that are used clean (ish)and tidy but When eating breakfast we had a view of a room above The bar that appeared to be filled with junk! It's such a same because the location is amazing and this could be A beautiful sanctuary I'm sure it once was. Sorry to complain but we were so disappointed and hope That our comments may help improve things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by eric & mo from Stalybridge, UK

wonderful break

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: The views
Cons: Nothing
Location: Magnificiant
Our stay 11/06/13-14/06/13. On arrival we were greeted with a very warm &friendly welcome,also the added bonus our room was ready well before time(11:15), which enabled us to explore the grounds of the hotel which are stunning well recommended.All hotel staff we met were very helpful and friendly.The courtesy bus the hotel provided was excellent no fixed times just ask at reception, or if in howth phone up and they would pick you up.Very good indoor pool and gym.Food good in hotel and very good restaurants in town.Rooms very comfortable ask for room at front of hotel for the magnificiant views,we would definitely return.All in all a brilliant break. Eric & No PS very good train service to Dublin centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is great for a near city break

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast
This hotel is all about the location. Nine miles from the city, in a great place by the sea with nice bars and restaurants. Perched on a hill with stunning views over the sea and the city. Rooms are fine, but a bit tired. Likewise the breakfast. Staff are nice but a bit scatty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mee-Mee from Northumberland uk

Superb value for single traveller

Posted Apr 26, 2013
Pros: The Spa!
Cons: Outdated decor in some of the corridoors
Location: Fantastic, situated on a hill, surrounded by golf courses, and a view across Dublin Bay to Eye Island
Hotel was a little care-worn in places but the best thing there for me were the facilities ie. excellelnt Spa - fitness and swimmng pool etc - staff were great - the view from my bedroom was one of the best seaside views I have ever seen in Great Britain - also I had a large family room with double bed and no single supplement - that alone would take me back again. Also complimentary shuttle service to near-by delightful fishing village of Howth was a brilliant bonus too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

A pleasant place to stay.

Posted Jul 31, 2009
Some of the public areas of the hotel are a bit dated but our room was bright and modern with a lovely view across to Ireland's Eye. Hotel is up a long driveway from the main road but a shuttle service to the centre of Howth is provided and we didn't have to wait at all when we requested this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great if you have a car.

Posted May 4, 2005
I liked this hotel very much, but it was very far from anything. I had a rental car which I needed to turn in at the airport and the hotel has no courtesy service from the airport, so I decided to turn the car in in the morning and take airport transportation to the ferry terminal. Oops - no transportation there either - I ended up taking a taxi at a cost of about 75 US dollars!