Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: I loved the inclusion and the group activities present there, made it feel like a small family!
Cons: The showers closest to my room were under maintenance- slight inconvenience but nothing major!
Lovely hostel! I stayed during German university holiday so it was a bit noisy but very pleasant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Great place close to many attractions

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Location. Friendliness of staff.
Cons: The public areas of hallways could be a little fresher.
Location: Many a picnic I had sitting by the Blessington Basin - I felt I had discovered a secret treasure there! And so close to the fabulous Gate Theatre.
I stayed here twice..at the beginning and end of my trip to Ireland. Am an older (70) person travelling solo. Stayed in a 6 bed dorm with a large immaculate washroom just across the hall. Dorm was spacious with all 6 lockers functioning. Linens were clean. Rooms cared for. Lots of space to sit and chat with others. The breakfasts were grand..I especially like a granola start to my day. Serving staff were so kind and friendly. Although there was no onsite laptop for guests to use, there was an internet cafe close by. Dont miss the Hugh Lane Gallery!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It is ok but they have to change the carpet.

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Nice place, good price but carpet are dirty.... ....................
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from el paso tx

No private bathroom

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Theres no priv. Bath. The best thing is theclocation. In the hearth of edinburgh. Ifci werecadvised about the hostel condition, i would paid a little bit more to get a bettervplace to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan, England

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Neat atmosphere with the old church embellishments
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from dublin

Good location, easy stay

Posted May 1, 2014
Was as expected a backpackers close to city met some great people and had a good time
2 out of 5
by Scaramouche from New York, NY, USA

Mixed feelings

Posted Apr 25, 2012
Pros: Wifi, breakfasts, ambience.
Cons: person who tried to sell an expensive camera at a ridiculously low price was not expelled.
Location: Not a high traffic area. Other than the two stores to the left of the entrance I would not walk around at night.
There are many things to like in this hostel. Very good wifi. Very good breakfast. The guest kitchen provides free coffee. The small grocery store next door provides very good hot sandwiches. If you need razor blades walk out the front door, dogleg up Wellington Street and turn right and go to the Arab store. The bad thing is that anything you do not put into a locker may be stolen. I stayed for 14 days. I know of two stolen laptops, one wallet and credit cards, a gold chain, and two cameras which were stolen. there may have been more. Vandals smashed the downstairs window to guest kitchen area twice. The water in the showers is extremely hot and it cannot be adjusted.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't do again...

Posted Mar 24, 2010
Not a great hostel. I wasn't expecting much, it is a hostel after all, but I was really dissapointed. The who;le place just seemed dark and dingy, and I really didn't like the neighbors hoods that surrounded it. My cab driver even told me he wouldn't walk around there by himself! It's also not as close to the town center as they claim to be, but I expected that. I stayed out as long as I could and tried to only come back there to sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Smithers, BC

"Trash" Throwing Maids and Blame Laying Managers

Posted Mar 20, 2010
Housekeeping mistook my shopping bag full of purchased goods as "garbage" and throw it out with the trash. The maid admitted to her mistake but the hotel manager tried to lay the blame on me and would not pay for the items his hotel staff threw away... unfortunately i had to catch my plane so was not able to sort the matter out properly....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nijmegen

Ok altogether

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Cheap and clean but fairly basic. Still, you are in Dublin, close to the center.
Cons: Very basic, bunk beds shower hard to get working.Breakfast was just toasting and cereals.
Location: You could walk right into the center and see all that's worth seeing!