Ratings based on 982 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Welcoming hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I used the Skylon Hotel as a stop-over for one night. I didn't use all the hotels facilities or restaurant. The bedroom was clean and tidy with modern decor. The room was basic but comfortable with the usual tea and coffee features you'd expect. The hotel is on the outskirts of the city center, about 30 minutes walk, but can be easily reached by bus on many routes. At the time of my visit the bus trip cost was €2.70. (Note the use of coins and exact change needed on the buses or use a travel card. Overpayment results in a credit note which will need to be claimed back.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sussex

Good hotel just outside the centre

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Good hotel with modern rooms, nice reception area, lovely and lively bar and good breakfast. Our room was on the 1st floor and overlooking a flat roof which had the large extractor from the kitchen which was very noisy. We were offered a move but it was a noise we became used to, so not a huge problem. The room was also very hot despite the radiator being switched off. Also, the shower was tempremental and could change from cold to scalding without warning. The bed was very comfortable and the tea and coffee in the room was replenished daily. A room safe, ironing board and decent hairdryer was also a plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

A PLEASANT BUT SHORT STAY

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING. THE ROOMS, THE BAR AND THE BREAKFAST WAS FULL OF CHOICES.
Cons: NOTHING
Location: WE PURCHASED A BUS TICKET AND EVERYTHING WAS EASY TO GET TO.
THE MINUTE I WALKED IN I KNEW WE CHOSE A GOOD HOTEL. IT WAS CLOSE TO THE AIRPORT AND CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTER, WHICH MADE OUR EXCURSIONS MUCH EASIER. THE ROOM HAD LOVELY COLORS AND VERY TIDY, I DIDN'T THINK THAT THEY WOULD CLEAN AND REPLACE THE TOWELS FOR ONLY A WEEKEND STAY. EXCELLENT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location Easy bus journey to city center and

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Stayed before Always very good I would recommend it Friendly staff Car parking good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good comfotable hotel, close to the city &

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location, chocie of restaurants
Cons: air con in the rooms
Location: 10 mins drive, 25 minutes walk or a bus ride from the city centre, you choose, all are available. Easy connections to the Dublin ring roads & motorway
I stay here for business. I have a few appointments in the surrounding area and the city centre which is just a 10 minutes drive away. The hotel offers parking and a decent bar restaurant; there is also a good selection of local places to eat just across the road, including:Thai, Italian, Spanish & French/Euro. Hotel bar is good with chatty and friendly staff. Rooms are a good size, but, without aircon which meant I had to open the windows onto a busy/noisy road. Bath/shower a little small. The hotel and rooms are very clean & comfortable.The hotel staff have also been amenable to me meeting customers in their foyer. I even heard mention of using a meeting room. City is 25 mins walk or there are many buses to chose from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Convenient Location for exploring

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Bed Comfort, Breakfast served perfect, Brasserie relaxing atmosphere, great helpful and efficient staff all over
Location: Dublin Airport less than 15 mins, Great base to explore City with frequent Buses and Taxis, convenient for access to M50 for country and coast touring
We returned to the Skylon having stayed last year and very pleased with the great improvements carried out. Room was very comfortable and clean. Location and ease of access to main travel routes is excellent. You can be in the mountains or having afetrnoon tea with minimal driving. The Restaurant was new Brasserie Style and we met our guests for dinner several times. Food was high standard and the Staff both friendly and efficient. very enjoyable Must mention Alannagh who served us, smiling and welcoming and whose cheery outlook is a great assett to Team Skylon, thanks for making our stay memorable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Such nice people at the hotel - let us check in early (our flight came at 5 AM), were very courteous and polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Double room was a bit small, but a fairly nice view over Dublin. Staff were very friendly. Cocktails and drinks were very good. Overall very pleased with the stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh,PA

Nice hotel easy access to airport.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The staff, the restaurant and the location.
Cons: We were there in September and had some warmer weather. It would be nice if the rooms had airconditoning. There was a fan in the room which helped.
Location: The bus stand was located across the street. Buses ran often to take you to all the main attractions.
The hotel is located in a nice area with the bus stand near the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was great and helpful with anything we needed. I would reccomend the Skylon to anyone interested in staying outside the city but convenient to the city and the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berkshire uk

Pleasant unscheduled stopover

Posted Dec 24, 2016
in getting home for Chistmas we found ourselves unexpectedly having to stay night in Dublin. The Skylon is a comfortable modern hotel with friendly welcoming staff.