Ratings based on 467 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Very beautiful landscaping

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Very lovely place to stay. Enjoyed the different animals and the landscaping is magical.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Disappointed as you dont stay where the pics show!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: We loved the buffet breakfast , we couldnt fault it .
Cons: The way the photos dont show where you will actually be staying . And also its attention to small cleaning details.
Location: A really nice pub with good grub & a spar shop within 15 mins walk.The hotel is based 12 miles outside Dublin a mile from small village.No car no Go!
We went here for a long weekend in dublin for my partners birthday. Firstly after getting off the plane we then realised that you have to travel on public transport to the city centre (which you can pay for online as an extra), to then get another bus ,travel some 12 miles (which was more money)then once you get off the bus, which you will have been on 1 & a half hrs ,you have to walk nearly a mile to the hotel.Then once you get there at reception, they tell you that your room is actually a small walk away in what looks like a block of posh council flats, if you think you are going to stay in the pretty hotel that is shown in the photos then you will be disappointed, this is only for breakfast/dining and the bar and lounge.The room was pleasant & peaceful & clean enough although the sink in the bathroom didnt have a plug, & there was black gunk coming out of the sink overflow .Where the shower surround joined the bath, it needed a good clean and had dried on soap scum. This was overcome by the way the loo rolls were presented with pretty stickers though !lol. the bedrooms were nice although if you are staying in a back room the patio doors arent cleaned as they arent on show to the public. The bed is comfy but no pillow or mattress protectors on the stained mattress. On the plus side the gardens are lovely & the hotel paddocks do have lamas, a pony and a resident ostrich. The buffet breakfast was amazing .Hotel too far away from city centre, if no car, so buy an umbrella !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cork

It should be awesome, but it just all fell short

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Great location, close to Lucan, access to M50 easily.
Having stayed previously at Finnstown and stayed in the 'Garden Rooms' I was happy enough with the cost vs service. However this time we were put in the suits near the fitness center and it was just terrible. The bed was rock hard and I could feel the springs. The room was shabby and carpet was stained, no curtains/pictures - it was all just a bit drab and depressing. I had requested a non-smoking room but the bathroom stank of smoke. To be fair to the hotel they did move us to a garden room when requested. Went to the bar on the Thursday night for a drink, however at around 10.30pm you definitely got the undercurrent of 'please leave' as the bar people dragged the rubbish bins through the bar, threw bottles into the bottle bins (it was dead quite with only a few people there, the bar was certainly not under pressure) etc .. and while you could have stayed, it certainly didn't make you feel like you wanted to. By the time the fire alarm went off on Sunday morning at 9.30am - I think I was happy enough to leave. Look to be fair, overall its a beautiful house, in a great location, and its reasonably priced .. so I am trying to balance it all up). Its just a pity that so many of the details are missed, but I am guessing as long as the place is busy, its hard to see the owners make any changes ?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful, romantic getaway near Dublin

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Big rooms, clean, large area to explore, romantic
Location: The hotel is about a twenty minute walk from a great shopping center that has a supermarket, and a five minute walk from a local pub.
Finnstown is absolutely stunning. It's set deep behind a long road of trees and feels far away in the countryside despite being only minutes outside Dublin's city center. The only downside to this hotel is it's distance from the city center, you'll need a cab and it can add up, but I felt it was well worth it for the romantic castle feel and spacious rooms it offers in return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart, Germany

Nice Castle Hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The idea of a castle
Cons: Instead of saying we are staying in a castle specify it is the garden building next door.
Location: It is in the country of Dublin and Chinese place near is horrible.
We like the idea of the castle. But, we did not stay in the actual castle. We stayed to the side "garden area". The electricity was mild, which took a while to charge our items. The grounds were nice with the random animals.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice grounds, good facilities

Posted Sep 27, 2016
It is a nice hotel but is beginning to show age in carpets, bedding, etc. Comfortable beds. Breakfast buffet good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 26, 2016
This hotel was absolutely gorgeous. The grounds are stunning and provide nice walks if the weather is good. There was a wedding in the hotel the night we stayed and even still, we didn't hear any noise and felt we had perfect privacy throughout our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Beautiful hotel and nice grounds

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Nice breakfast, spacious room.
Cons: nothing
Location: Easy to find. Close to Dublin.
It was wonderful--clean, elegant and everything was perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Summit, NY

Disappointing hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: It was not far from Dublin.
Cons: Some updating, cleaner glasses, top sheets on the beds.
Location: Location was good as it was not far from Dublin. Lots to do in the Dublin area.
Read the reviews (4.3 out of 5.0) prior to booking and felt pretty confident it would be good. Was very disappointed in a number of ways. Room was okay, needs some updating. No top sheet on the bed - really hoping that they was the duvet every time there's a change in clientele. The place smelled a bit musty/dank. Eat in the bar/pub downstairs and the water glasses delivered with the pitcher of water were disgusting to say the least. The waitress (who was very nice) apologized and explained that they were in fact clean and that they come out of the dishwasher that way. Something needs to be done about that. We were told that breakfast was included in the room charge but when we checked out we were charged $10 Euro per person. We would not have gone there had we known as the breakfast was not very good. I think this could be a very nice place if they put some work into it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful country club feeling hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Could not of been happier with this decision. Close enough to Dublin that a taxi was not too expensive. The rooms definitely needed some upgrading but the grounds, facilities and staff definitely made up for it. Would definitely stay again. Thank you Finnstown