Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Angelica, NY

Lovely hotel and welcoming staff

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The staff was by far some of the friendliest we've met in Ireland. Ella at reception is wonderful and so is Martin in the bar. Both very helpful also.
Cons: The shower in our room was so powerful, we soaked the floors twice. Be wary when you turn it on, because the pressure is extreme & the curtain flimsy.
Location: Enjoy the village, by all means. Lovely pubs, lovely walks, and a great supermarket. Be sure to climb to the Obelisk and explore the trails up there!
We love to walk, and the Fitzpatrick is close to many places of interest. Dalkey village is a few minutes walk and we spent a couple of days exploring there. There are also many parks nearby, if you choose to walk in the direction of Killiney, you'll find several, not to mention the walk up to the Obelisk above the castle. The beach isn't far off, down the hill, and if you're too tired to walk back, you can take the train up to Dalkey. The food was wonderful in the hotel, and it was the afternoon teas we enjoyed most. The Library Bar staff were all friendly and helpful. Overall, it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Everything I had No problems.
Location:
The hotel was very comfortable and rooms meticulous clean. I was in room 520 and the noise of the heating system kept me from sleeping. I spoke to staff about the situation and without any ado I was given room 300. This room was excellent. The staff were all very polite and I feel they did there very best to make my stay comfortable. The lady in the breakfast room was very pleasant and did everything she could to make the meal suitable to meet everyone's needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Sandra Jackson, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to write about your stay with us We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming back to the Castle on another occasion Regards Sandra Jackson Senior Executive Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting, great location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Cons: Bit dated in places but refubishment under way. Breakfast disappointing both in quality and choice.
Location: View breathtaking. Fantastic bars and restaurants 15 min walk or 5 min taxi.
Lovely relaxing stay. Staff couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful. Bit further to walk to village than I thought but taxis reliable and cheap enough.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Majestic building

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Novelty hotel with great history in a fantastic location with scenic surroundings
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just a great family run hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Great place to stay,great staff and afternoon tea.Say hello to Philip,the hardest working floor manager in the business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A Hotel with character

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The lobby bar setting and the downstairs bar
Cons: Needs a tidy up. Getting a bit shabby
A nice Hotel bar in a relaxing setting. The Hotel has character and the food in the downstairs bar was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Good hotel, close to local amenities.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
We had a nice stay, the only let down was no facilities for my kids, except for the pool , which was only available for them at certain times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ponte Vedra FL

Beautiful hotel close to a quaint village

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The location, hotel personnel and comfortable room.
Cons: The water pressure in the shower is low; but it was not an issue.
Location: Dalkey Village is beautiful! Only a 10 minute walk, the village is quaint, friendly and has very convenient train station.
My 12 year old son and I visited Ireland to explore our heritage during the 2016 Thanksgiving break. We visited/toured the Aran Islands, Galway, the Rock of Cashel, Blarney Castle, Cork and Dublin. I chose the Fitzpatrick Castle because of the "South Dublin" location and close proximity of the Dart train to Dublin and the seashore. Dalkey Village is just a 10 minute easy walk (On a sidewalk - not street), with beautiful homes with old stone walls and mature landscaping. The hotel is beautiful and inviting. Our room was very clean, and the beds were like clouds, so comfortable. The hotel personnel are so friendly and helpful. We truly enjoyed our stay!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable bed & excellent service

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff