Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
We loved our stay at the hotel and although the issues we had were purely cosmetic (water damage on ceiling ) the room was spacious as a family room and beds were comfortable. Our room was made up every day and clean. We enjoyed the pool facilities and helped us relax after our hard days touring. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and couldn't do enough for us especially at breakfast which was tasty and plentiful. The decor made us feel as the we were in a grand setting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Good location

Posted May 22, 2017
Unfortunately the card I'd made the reservation with expired before we arrived. However, the hotel called me to advise and I was able to renew the reservation, I thought, with another card. Check-in was fine except no one offered to help with our luggage which was slightly disappointing. The room was good on the 5th floor. Breakfast was a hot and cold buffet at €15 per person not included in our rate so we only tried it once - it was nice but not good value we felt unless you're a big eater. Tried the Dungeon bar food once as well which was simple but good. Check-out was confusing as I was expecting to settle for the room plus extras. However, I was told the room was settled already with no clarification of how or when. I expect to find it was billed to the card I used to renew the reservation which is not what I intended and will result in un-necessary transaction fees on my card. The whole check-out experience was disappointing due to this lack of clarity and its consequences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

First time in Ireland

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: We liked the cleanliness, the decor, and the staff.
Location: There is a small town nearby, with shops, restaurants, etc. Quaint little town. We really enjoyed it.
My husband and I were recently in Ireland on vacation, and we spent our first three nights at the Fitzpatrick. We loved the old world feel of the hotel. It just feels like a very special place, almost a step back in time. The room was clean and comfortable, the food was really good, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Great place to start our time in Ireland and Scotland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina USA

The location was ideal for day trips.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: We had a wonderful room, 323, with a fantastic view of the Dalkey, the sea, and Dublin. The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay.
Cons: Our room, 323, could be updated with a new carpet. There were several bleach spots from the bathroom to the hall door on the carpet.
Location: Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel was the perfect location for day trips to Dublin, Cliffs of Moher, Glendalough, Waterford, and the beautiful countryside of I
Our experience at Fitzpatrick Castle was very positive. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We especially looked forward to a wonderful Irish breakfast each morning before we started our day sightseeing. We spent a lot of time in the library as well as in the Dungeon during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Castle stay at an affordable price

Posted May 13, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Several sights close by and easy access to the Dart to get to Dublin. Nice bar in the dungeon with live music on Saturday night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Remote, but wonderful.

Posted May 5, 2017
Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and went out of their way to help me with directions, suggestions, etc. The building itself was impressive and spacious. My corner room (522) on the top floor had a beautiful view of the water, but the glass in the huge window was old and clouded, so it wasn't as great as it should have been. Also, it had a great tub, but the faucets were hard to reach because of the glass partition. You had to sit or kneel to reach to the back of the tub. Awkward and strained. My pre-set phone buttons weren't working, but within ten minutes of reporting it, the nice maintenance guy came up and took care of it. Despite those few glitches, it was a great spot. The walk up the hill behind the hotel provided incredible views! Thank you to Margaret for that winning suggestion. I walked down to the DART to take the train into the city every day (€40 for a seven day pass!) and it took about 15 minutes including taking photos! At the end of the day, I'd walk from the train to the taxi queue on the main street and take a taxi up the hill for about €4.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wolfeboro, NH

Deceitful Advertising on Expedia

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The location was nice.
Cons: The entire structure needs to be improved and have the walls patched to improve the appearance. The reception staff should be retrained.
Location: Dalkey is a fantastic town with great restaurants and shopping. There are amazing views and is quite lovely.
The hotel room looked nothing like the picture! The bathroom was dirty and had hair all over the sides of the shower. The walls of the room had drywall cracks down every side seam on the walls. The linens smelled dirty and I was afraid to even sleep on the sheets. I called the reception desk to see if there was a room we could be transferred to that looked like the picture I booked and that was clean. The woman was very rude and told me they were fully booked and abruptly hung up. It was a devastating end to what had been an amazing vacation throughout Ireland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel.

Posted May 2, 2017
This is a comfortable and elegant hotel. The staff is overall very friendly and helpful. The two women at reception and tour info are great. The only drawback for some is that it's a good ten to fifteen minute walk to Dalkey village and to the Dart. Going back is uphill much of the way. I will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Friendly, informative and genuine group of people!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Travel to son.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
This pool looks lovely but... It was only open to kids for apx 3 hours. The time were not convenient for explorers. The room was spacious and comfy we had 5 in a family room.