Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay

Posted Aug 11, 2016
The hotel is very nice, the room was big, the beds were ok. We didn't have breakfast because we went early to the airport. The location isn't very good though, around 20 minutes walk to the temple bar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not a business hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Total refurb and new management.
This guesthouse has a name that could lead a traveller to confuse it with the prestigious Fitzwilliam hotel on St. Stephen’s green. It is nothing like the Fitzwilliam and you will be sorely disappointed if you go thinking it’s some sort of cute Georgian townhouse annex to the Fitzwilliam. It is an adequate place of a tourist class to have a rest, no better. Note: there is one ironing board per floor and one iron. There is no lift. The “air-conditioning” is a plastic electric fan. It is on a noisy street corner and the night I stayed there were police car sirens and drunks intermittently most of the night. The place was clean but shabby, with peeling paint and grubby looking electrical wiring. The sound proofing to the adjacent room was not great – the gentleman in the adjoining room had a nasty cough that he shared with me loudly during the night. The place has a dank smell.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

You better be fit!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Convenient location near Merrion Square, on a bus line. Nice neighborhood.
Cons: An indication on the website about accessibility. Information should be much clearer so people know what they are getting when they book.
Location: On bus line, near museums and parks.
On the website we loved the location near Merrion Square, the charming Georgian building, on a bus line. Unfortunately the website did not seem to mention that the building has four floors and NO LIFT. One of the members of our party has difficulty with walking and stairs, and after she staggered up the long stone steps to the front door, she was appalled to find that our rooms were on the 4th floor and were only accessible --hauling our luggage--by steep stairs. To be fair, the desk clerk was horrified about the situation, but was unable to move us to a lower floor. So every day she had to face those stairs, and it really spoiled our Dublin visit. And when we finally made it to our rooms, even the beds were no refuge, uncompromising and hard, rather like what I would expect in a hostel. Bathroom was minimal, with a shower stall too small to bend over in, and no counter space at all--at least there was plenty of hot water! There were a couple of small breakfast places nearby, but we couldn't find any restaurants at all for blocks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

4th floor room and no lift!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
No mention on web sit that not suitable unless you cando stairs...25 between first three floors and 14 more to top floor rooms.
4 out of 5
by Sarah from U.S.A

Peaceful Hotel in a great town

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
The Fitzwilliam townhouse is a little further from the main city but its still relatively easy to get to the city. About a ten to fifteen minute walk. The staff was incredibly helpful and in a peaceful neighborhood. A good stay overall.
5 out of 5
by Carolyn from Cocoa Beach, Florida

beautiful Victorian hotel in great location

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was wonderful and we were able to get this booking at the last minute. The owner was so helpful with our bags, directions around Dublin, and finding us a taxi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay again

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Average room, very noisy, terrible beds
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Location ok

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Hotel staff were quick and helpful, however hotel really needs updating. Our room was clean but bathroom small & shower inadequate. Staff did offer to change our room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value and location

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location. Close to Stephens Green and Baggot st.
4 out of 5
by Hannah from Bristol

All in all, a pleasant stay.

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
Nice little townhouse tucked just a few minutes away from the sights of Dublin. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay. Pros... Fast, free wifi, warm, comfortable bed. Cons, a bit small, not too much on TV and if you can help it, avoid having a room on the ground floor. You could hear the noise of the extra fan and the music of the cafe in the basement. Other than that I really enjoyed staying at the Fitzwilliam.