Ratings based on 851 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hostel; convenient location

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Rooms were very clean. The food available at the hostel was very good. Grocery shop available across the street from the hostel. Bathroom and shower facilities decent. The only thing that was inconvenient was the fact the nearest toilet was on the floor below the one I was staying on. Staff were very helpful. Overall a good experience and I would stay at the Generator Hostel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eersel

prima hostel lekker dichtbij het centrum

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: ik vond het interieur mooi gemaakt. mooie grote bar, waar je ook nog de mogelijkheid hebt om te relaxen op de banken.
Location: perfecte locatie. het centrum is op loop afstand makkelijk te doen. wil je met de bus of de tram, deze stoppen op een kleine 200 meter van het hostel.
echt een prima hostel. het personeel is super vriendelijk en helpen je overal mee. de kamers zijn ook super en je hebt ruimte genoeg. ook in de bar is het elke avond weer gezellig en je kunt er een potje poolen of lekker relaxen op de verschillende banken die er staan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

Nice hostel, clean, but rude staff

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Clean, safe.
Cons: Staff is rude and unhelpful.
Location: A bit out of the city center itself, a 20 minute walk to the Spire. Fine location and safe. Jameson Distillery next door.
The Generator Hostel is pretty nice: clean, safe, and inexpensive. The worst thing was that almost all of the staff members were pretty rude and bothered by almost any request. I swear it wasn't just me—I saw one staff member roll her eyes at a guest who was (silently) struggling with his luggage. As a newcomer and traveler, this can be really off putting, as it was for me. I expected more from any hostel staff member, but especially those in such a friendly country! It's a bit out of the central area of Dublin, but you can walk right to the Spire (direct center) in 20 minutes. It is next to the Jameson Distillery, which is pretty nice. The hostel itself has everything you need right there (food, drink, safe and secure lockers, lots of seating in the lobby, adapters and water sold at the front desk). Room was a bit cold, but I doubled up on the blankets so that was fine. For reference, I stayed in a private room with ensuite bathroom (and they upgraded me to a 3 person room for just me)—so I can't really comment on the shared rooms. Overall, felt safe and clean, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

schoon en gezellig hostel

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Vriendelijk en behulpzaam personeel. Je krijgt waar voor je geld: kamer en het sanitair zijn schoon. Met 10 minuten lopen ben je in het centrum, je zou ook het openbaar vervoer kunnen gebruiken. Prima locatie en gezellige sfeer in de bijbehorende bar. Als je van whiskey houdt, ga dan vooral naar de naastgelegen jameson distillery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bc

Hostel

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Muy preparado para la gente joven, buena comida, buen ambiente, y sitio muy chulo! Totalmente recomendable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Cons: Isolatie. Deuren kunnen echt beter geïsoleerd. Gangdeuren rustiger laten sluiten, dat heeft ons behoorlijk gestoord.
Gezellig hostel. Gereserveerd voor een kamer met 3 bedden en eigen badkamer, bleken 5 bedden te zijn dus dat is altijd een goede binnenkomer! Wij sliepen helaas naast het begin van een gang met kamers, met één van de bedden recht naar de deur. De deur naar onze kamer was weinig geluiddicht, en de toegangsdeur naar de gang van alle kamers al helemaal. Die klapte behoorlijk hard dicht. Paar keer per nacht dus wel wakker, maar het blijft een hostel. Ook hadden we een kamer die rolstoelvriendelijk is gemaakt waardoor spiegel en wastafel (waar je niet eens met je mond bij de kraan paste zo klein) lager hangen dan gewend. Wel erg ruim, dat is natuurlijk super. Gezellig hostel waar je leuk kunt verblijven met goede wifi, leuke zitplekken en goede locatie (ongeveer 10 min lopen naar centrum).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great value when traveling on a budget

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, wifi, spaciousness.
Location: Close to the Luas Tram so easy to get around Dublin. Very walkable location too with good cafes, a grocery store, pubs and movie theater very close.
Great location, spacious twin room, very clean and worked very well for my teen daughter and me who are traveling around Ireland and wanted safe, clean and comfortable places to sleep while visiting different places. One of the nicest hostels we've stayed in. Wifi was reliable and public transportation is super close.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicht vorbereitet

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Zimmer waren nicht wie gebucht vorbereitet und alles wirkte etwas improvisiert , auch auf Aufforderung wurde das Zimmer nichtsachgemäss übergeben
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. I have passed your info onto the relevant departments in regards to your comments. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A large modern hostel

Posted Jan 9, 2016
This is an amazing looking hostel it's huge with a large bar and cafe area. The food is really nice and the drinks are cheap as far as dublin's concerned. It's a must stay hostel one of the biggest I've seen. The rooms are standard, the shared bathroom rooms still have a sink which is useful. The only thing I would say is if you are traveling alone it might be extra effort to meet people just because of the size of the place and there not being a small common area or kitchen to mingle in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2016 by maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Good hostel but showerhead was broken and shower was moldy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards