Ratings based on 1,028 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel close to Dublin City

Posted Mar 13, 2017
When I arrived the staff was very nice and greeted me nice. My stay was perfect just in the shower rooms there are no tables for your toothbrush or shower gels. But all in all its perfect :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to Luas stop and city center

Posted Mar 2, 2017
this hostel close to city center with friendly staff and neighborhood it is a valuable choice when you stay in Dublin
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
no issues
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the great location with no issues during your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place for the price

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff that answered all of my questions. I was pleasantly surprised that they had very good food available, in particular the burger, and if you're willing to purchase breakfast, although they have free breakfast options available. Generator is just north of the river Liffey, and most of the tourist sites are just south of the river, but I recommend doing the free working tour that meets every day to tour the sites. Downsides: I understand what I was getting for the price, but if you're tall like me, the beds may feel a little cramped. Other than that, I enjoyed my time. I recommend staying here, and may check out their other locations in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed a very friendly and helpful staff during your stay. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The lobby was very inviting. The tables looked cute, with the table legs being books.
Cons: The room toilet could need some reno. It looked dirty maybe cause its old. toilets could have a little nook for our shampoo which is reachable.
Location: Old jameson distillery is a few steps away, though its currently closed for reno.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We do still offer Jameson whisky tasting in our property during the time that the factory in closed for renovation from Jameson staff members. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hostel with bar!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Awesome hostel with great vibes super close to downtown. Really easy to get to, and the bar downstairs was perfect. Rooms were very nice and super clean!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the perfect downstairs bar during your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Epic
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that your stay was epic. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right price for right quality

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great trip, done annually. Little time spent at accommodation but had all we needed and more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you nejoyed your recent stau. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hostel in Dublin

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The Generator was an all around nice place to stay. They have everything you need, cafe, entertainment, drinks and a very helpful and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the friendly staff during your stay. Kind Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Cons: Everything, from nicer staff to better accommodations.
I booked a twin ensuite room for me and my sister. When we got there the front desk was rude, and decided he would help another guest while he was helping us. Then I was informed that they were putting us in a four person room (2 sets of bunk beds) though we would have the room to ourselves. This is not what I paid for, and I am highly disappointed with the treatment with the hostel staff. They were not able to help us plan for trips around the area. My sister and I wandered around Dublin until we found a traveling company that could. For the money it's is not worth it, my sister's bed had lighting and plug ins that did not work and the bathroom had mold in the grout. If you are thinking about staying here don't, it's in a crappy neighborhood that I did not feel safe in. Words cannot express how much I disliked this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. When booking a twin room Through Expedia, that means that you could be in a room with two single beds or two sets of bunk beds. All based on availability. We have a tour guide desk that has staff attending to it 7 days a week that are more than happy to answer any guest questions. Kind Regards