Ratings based on 1,048 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trelleborg, Sweden

Could be better

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Cheap drinks and the bar atmosphere.
Cons: Lighting in the hallways, very dark. Remove one set of bunk beds in each room
Location: Kinda in a old industrial area,15 minute walk to guinness and temple bar. Jameson distillery is right next door. Good grocery store across the square.
I stayed at this generator location after staying at their hostel in copenhagen. I was disappointed in their dublin location. The hallways were very poorly lit and smelled like sweaty socks. The rooms were very tight and maybe had 1 meter of space between the bunk beds and you had around 50 sq/ft of floor space. My mattress was completely blown out and needed replacing. The food was ok, excellent burgers but their pizza is a waste of money, looked like it came frozen out of a box. They could improve on bar staff, most of them seemed like they didnt want to work there and I was never thanked for any of my tips. Would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Posted May 16, 2017
Really enjoyed my stay, Brilliant place, great location, great food, lively atmosphere & great live music. Would deffo stay again. Very clean and staff were helpful with everything
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the great food, great location, and such a brilliant place during your recent visit. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access

Posted May 8, 2017
Great hostel, loved the bar and cafe down stairs!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed a great hostel in which you loved the bar and café during your recent visit. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I Was Very Impressed....

Posted May 6, 2017
....I was looking for Hotel Accommodation in Central Dublin at short notice. The Generator location seemed Ideal. The sharing was completely okay, and the facilities were brilliant.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed brilliant facilities during your recent visit. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great Hostel for the Price

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness Amenities (Cafe and Bar) Services (Calling Taxi)
Cons: Cleanliness of the dorms
I stayed at Generator Hostel Dublin for 5 nights and 6 days. I was surprised at how clean the facilities were and how friendly everyone was.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you encountered very clean facilities during your stay. we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool and clean.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pretty clean. Comfortable. Shower cubicle is rather small though. Could have provided bins in the common walkway. Overall, not bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed a pretty clean and comfortable property during your visit. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice hotel decent location.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: The live music downstairs on the weekends.
Cons: Beds.
Location: Good location, food and drink nearby, about 20 min walk to the city center.
Had a great experience with the exception of the comfort of the bed, it was quite uncomfortable and I could feel the springs on my back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the good location during your stay. Kind Regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
My key stopped working about 4 times but the staff kindly fixed it each time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are sorry to hear that your key stopped working during your stay. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel close to Dublin City

Posted Mar 13, 2017
When I arrived the staff was very nice and greeted me nice. My stay was perfect just in the shower rooms there are no tables for your toothbrush or shower gels. But all in all its perfect :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed really nice staff during your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to Luas stop and city center

Posted Mar 2, 2017
this hostel close to city center with friendly staff and neighborhood it is a valuable choice when you stay in Dublin
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you encountered friendly staff during your stay. Kind Regards