Ratings based on 1,260 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston, Lancashire

Generally, a lovely hotel!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort and price!
Cons: The rooms could probably do with a bit of an update generally but were very comfortable and the location was great so I wouldn't complain too much!
Location: Excellent! Pubs, shops and transport very nearby. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Temple Bar area which is a nice walk anyway!
We couldn't have asked for a better location! We had pubs, shops and transport easily accessible to us from this hotel. There are some great restuarants and boutique style shops all within a few minutes of walking around as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It really needs refurbishment

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The receptionists are friendly
Cons: Renovation
I was surprised by the facilities provided based on its star. It's in a good location, not in a "center of center" but is ok. about 8 mins walk to temple bar and trinity college. However, the interior of the room must be the oldest one I've ever stayed as a hotel. TVs are the ones in 80s, most basic kettle, a double bed which is literally put together by 2 single beds and mattresses so you could always feel the irritating gap in the middle... The toilet clearly has some problem that it takes only a full flush when you try really hard for more than 10 times! No slippers, Hot water is not consistent for taking shower. No security box, loads of stains mark on the carpet which is quite gross. Stayed there for business trip so not bother spending time changing the room but it's really disappointing. There's no sound proof at all so that you hear everything outside the room, the chat in the hallway, and even worse the traffic noise from the main road outside. Also no wifi in the room but it's listed in the hotel intro so is expected. But the wifi connection in the public area is horribly slow, had a quite hard time trying even just check in my flight. The ladies in the reception are friendly though. In total, it's an old building so it could be a much better and nice place to stay if they upgrade the facilities inside really.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Clean if a little tired hotel - very convenient

Posted Feb 14, 2017
This hotel is just on the edge of Temple Bar and near St Stephens Green so perfect for walking around to the sights and nightlife without being right in the centre of the noise . Our rooms in the 5th floor were huge and comfortable , very clean with flat screen tv, tea and coffee , iron etc. The furniture was old fashioned and the bathroom needed updating but was clean and the shower was good . Hard to fault for the price we paid in that location - the staff were friendly . We also enjoyed a late evening in the Break for the Border bar /club which is attached to the hotel - good cocktails and beers reasonably priced and danced until 3am with a friendly mixed crowd of people. It was so cold and wet during our weekend in Dublin it was quite a bonus to go upstairs to bed in the dry ! Very sad it wasn't open on Sunday though so ended up in the Hairy Lemon over the road and later for cocktails in Alfie's a few minutes away . We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as were up too late both days but great places to eat opposite the hotel. We were a party of 50 somethings with our 2 20 something sons on a family trip and had a ball - the hotel was perfect for our group .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: just a very warm and welcoming place 2 stay rigt in the middle of all the fun hotel staff we very helpful and cherful
stayed in this hotel had a brilliant stay arrived early and let us in the room thank you room clean very warm no problems at all let us keep room on check out day till 2 as our fligt was a late 1 thank you would recomed this hotel 2 anybody a brillant 2 day stay the only thing was the hotel bar was closed while we were thire but was not a problem as they are so many around
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Friendly staff, good location but no wifi in rooms, bit rundown, grubby bathroom, cold, noisy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston USA

Good price, great location.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Clean, comfortable, but small room. A bit older and worn, but everything worked. I would use it again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
The hotel was a great location! However wifi was only available on one floor of the hotel and even then it was spotty which was frustrating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

The hotel was centrally situated.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Cons: The decor was in need of some renovation.
Location: It was close enough for us to walk to Dublin castle and all the sights that we wanted to visit. Also very close to shops.
The only problem, we had a little trouble finding it , as it is tucked away in a little corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
It was peng ting, bigger than wag one originally thought! Would recommend to a bredrin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel central to Dublin City centre

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Central location, staff were very friendly and polite
Cons: Decor slightly tired
They offer smoking or non smoking rooms Beware 2nd floor, restaurant and NIGHT CLUB on 1st floor so was booming til about 2am ☹️️ Breakfast super and good value