Ratings based on 1,329 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

Nice hotel close to bars

Posted May 30, 2017
Had a good time at the hotel. Staff were friendly. The hotel bar was lovely too. The beds were a bit on the hard side for me but I suppose is personal preference. There were a few things That needed updating for example the hair dryer in the bathroom was hanging off the wall so didn't dare use it. Apart from that the hotel was fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Great location.

Posted May 30, 2017
The hotel is quite dated and does probably need some refurbishing. The location is excellent and within walking distance of almost all attractions in Dublin. The staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

An O.K Hotel.

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Price. Staff. Always lots of "Good" coffee & tea in the room. Most rooms very spacious, if you don't mind no view.
Cons: Better internet system.
Location: Lots to do nearby. You are basicly in the heart of things, restaurants, pubs, shopping, mall around the corner, etc.
For the cost it was fine. We should have choosen something a little closer to bus stop. No wi-fi in the rooms. But then again the cost was much less than all other Hotels. Staff was amazing. Rooms did have lots of character!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: WIFI! It was only available on floor level one. It's something you want to be able to have it in the rooms where you have comfort and privacy.
Location: Lots of shopping, restaurants & bus stops. All walkable and it felt safe.
Our hotel was chosen online without ever being in Ireland. That can always be scary! It turns out we loved the hotel and the location! We actually wished that we could stay longer! Thanks for a great experience Grafton!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Location was good.

Posted May 25, 2017
Very outdated, bed bad very hard mattress, curtains couldn't close as broken, net rail broken, old box tv, toilet door handle screws loose very old outdated furniture, some round pin plugs, shower bad as had to turn the knob but very hard to turn. Wifi was told you could get on the 1st floor but couldn't & could get it outside door of the hotel reception. Staff were friendly & good location but wouldn't stay there again. When mentioned about my concerns we were told hotel is being closed from Monday for refurbishment which will take 2 years but when I came home had a look on the hotel site & no mention of closing for refurbishment but showing availabilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good location- Terrible Quality Hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
Friendly desk staff and easy check in however our room was disgusting and when we asked for new bed skirt and addressed the stains (what looked like blood or some dark brown fluid) the manager/staff member said there is nothing they can do. The bed skirt looked like someone stepped on it a hundred times with dirty shoes, bed comfort is "okay", the inner curtain fell at which the manger/staff member just came and chucked it to the corner of our room instead of fixing it or taking it out of our room and the curtains were so dirty I was afraid to touch it (frequently washed my hands if I had to open or close the blinds). Also wi-fi is on separate floor and goes in and our (very poor quality). Only thing we enjoyed is it was across the Hairy Lemon (great food, service & drinks) and walking distance to everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice staff But

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: See Above.
Location: If you like to walk, which I do all kinds of things. Get a map of the city that will guide you.
The hotel was ok nothing more. Needs an update on T.V., internet was only on the 1st floor and if you had three people on it that was to many, fix windows mine wouldn't lock, Toilet wouldn't always flush, the lobby didn't give you that warm feeling or welcoming kind of cold add some flowers and brighten it up. They need to get rid of the lights hanging out side or have it done by a professional. Get new tables and chair that sit outside and clean the area. That area could be so welcoming if done right.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Excellent location for the more arty side of town.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: We liked the location, and old world comfort.
Cons: The rooms could use some love. A new tv wouldn't cost much, but the carpets definitely need to be changed.
Location: Near Grafton Street, within easy reach of Temple Bar, accessible to the museums and galleries
We stayed here for a long weekend in Dublin. The hotel was easy to find after a short walk from the bus drop off point from the airport. Our first impression of the outside was that it was quite grand, but neatly tucked away. When we found our room it was clear that the grandeur was slightly faded, but still comfortable. There was a tv, but it was old style and the sound was terrible (and the volume down button was broken which meant you had to get out of bed to turn it down). The curtains were badly worn, but thick and heavy which meant we slept really well on the very comfortable double bed. There was some noise from the road outside and the pub over the road, but then it was Friday/Saturday night in Dublin! We live in a city, and you learn to expect some noise. It didn't go on all night, and it wasn't a disco. The bathroom was clean, although dated, and the shower worked well enough. The plumbing is obviously quite old and so the drain ran away slow. I suspect that the modern shower gels foam more than old soap which wouldn't help.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central to shops and bars

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Hotel was clean and tidy just dated in need of a few repairs and decor changes. There was only wifi on the lower floors.