Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Really enjoyed our stay and what a view!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Amazing water view. Fairly prompt, reasonably priced and very tasty room service. Great value for what you get.
Cons: It could use some love and care (upgrading) - but most of Ireland could!
Location: Walking a long the beach was great - even with a little rain. The Grand Hotel is a 15 minute drive to the Dublin airport.
The hotel is past its prime but we loved it anyway. The main entry has high ceilings and is quite impressive. There are multiple options for dining. The room was comfortable - nice bedding and blackout blinds. Wifi worked well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norhern Ireland

Wonderful hotel, staff, food and facilities.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Everything apart from the noise fro car park which preventing me from sleeping
Cons: Noise from car park
Location: Excellent location, within walking distance from beech and town - could not be improved upon.
see above. However, we were given a room overlooking the car park with buses parking directly under our window. Buses, one in the afternoon and another early the following morning, both kept their engines running for aprox 40 minutes. This together with constant car alarms sounding throughout the night ensured that I was unable to rest on Saturday afternoon and unable to sleep on Saturday night. I had a long drive home on Sunday and was exhausted. This will not deter me from staying at the Grand again but I suggest that bus drivers are asked to switch engines off and guests asked to switch off car alarms when they activate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Location is great in a lovely village.
Cons: Air conditioning
Room air conditioning much needed. It can get rather stuffy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel but...

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel! No air conditioning and coming from the U.S. it took some getting use to, but the climate is perfect for leaving the windows open!
5 out of 5
by Sue from Burford

Perfect for sightseeing or relaxing.

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
I visited Dublin & Belfast but also spent time wandering around the town, beach, castle and general area. Lovely relaxing break. Lots to do if you want to but a lovely place to just unwind and look at the view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super location

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Its days of grandeur are somewhat faded and although there is an impressive front lobby, beautifully furnished, the room felt a little tired. An expensive stay that didn't include breakfast, however our room had a wonderdul sea view and the setting is perfect for this delightful town close to Dublin centre and adjacent to a lovely estuary and coastal walk. By adding a few personal touches in the room, such as biscuits on the tea tray, some bottled water, glasses and a clock radio this could be easliy updated to compare with many hotels of this calibre . We stayed in the area to visit family.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Grand hotel with only a grand lobby.

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Nice enough hotel. Beds brutally firm. Spend half of the next days complaining of a sore back until the next morning..... and repeat. Nice pool. Although bubble pools were broken. Sauna not overly warm. And changing rooms dirty. Hotel restaurant fully booked both nights so had to eat out but was our advantage as malahide is lovely and restaurants are brilliant and delicious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
A first class hotel, great atmosphere and staff are always very helpful if needed. This is our sixth stay at this hotel and we have never been disappointed. Looking forward to our next visit .
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
Our room was older and could use a freshened up look...however the town was beautiful and we had an amazing ocean/harbor view.
3 out of 5
by Ann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels