Ratings based on 1,770 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

2nd floor needs an overhaul

Posted May 18, 2017
We stayed on the 2nd floor. Dirty carpet in the hallway and the smell of smoke between 2 hallway doors. The bathroom door needs to be replaced. The kettle was leaking. There is a grocery store/deli mart right next to the Hotel. They have DELICIOUS food. Quite a few people hanging out close to the Hotel drinking. Noisy. Leaving their trash behind. Good connection to the LUAS downtown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Bathroom was dirty, shower curtain was black in places. Rooms are not well insulated, could hear the tv, people's conversations, alarm, and wake up call in the next room. At least a 15 minute walk to temple bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing customer service

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Basic hotel for a short stay
Cons: Customer service, and efficiency.
My booking was prepaid via Expedia for B&B. However, the front desk staff member insisted that it was not. I showed him proof of prepayment on my iPad screen, and forwarded the confirmation showing this, via email. At breakfast, I was informed that breakfast was not included, which was not true. They eventually figured out that it was. Upon checkout, they sought payment once again, stating that they didn't have time to check out whatever issue they were having with their system, and ðespite having the confirmatin email proving prepayment. They wanted my card 'just in case'. I refused, and referred them to Expedia to sort out, as I did not want a situation where I paid on the double, and difficulty claiming a refund.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Ideal location walking distance to all places

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, overall appearance
Cons: Didn't like the fact that you had to plug in the whole tray to boil the kettle, otherwise its excellent.
Location: Its central to all places, Jamesons factory, Guinness factory, Temple Bar and Grafton Street. We walked everywhere but was also handy for buses.
This was an ideal hotel, within walking distance to all places and bus stops if required.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Hawaiianstitch, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards The Team @ Maldron Hotel Smithfield
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Perfect location and excellent service!

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The service, the location, the cleanliness.
Cons: Providing mini-fridge and microwave, but it really wasn't an issue.
Location: Across the square from the Jameson Distillery, grocery store next door. Very near the Luas and the river Liffey.
The location of this hotel was ideal. We were an easy walking distance to anything we needed during our stay and we could see any of the important Dublin landmarks by foot. The hotel and neighbourhood are safe and clean; the room was clean, well-furnished and very comfortable. If I ever return to Dublin (and I truly hope I do) I would stay here again. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Ally, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future Kind regards The Team @ Maldron Hotel Smithfield
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Great location

Posted May 1, 2017
Highly recommend this hotel. The staff is great! The location is perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island New York

Centrally located. Easy access to light rail.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
It was our last stop on a 15 day tour of Ireland. We truly enjoyed this our second trip and would definitely consider the Maldron for our next excursion.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Ron, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back on the next excursion. Kind regards The Team @ Maldron Hotel Smithfield
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Location is great! Easy access to airlink and hop on hop off tours. Cobblestone is right across the street as well which was a highly recommended pub
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards The Team @ Maldron Hotel Smithfield
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, California

Excellent location and value

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Quiet, convenient, good security, easy to access, close to bus routes.
Cons: My thermostat was dead, so temperature control was a bit of a challenge.
Location: Jameson Distillery is just across the square. Also a few steps away is the Cobblestone Pub, where traditional Irish musicians hold nightly sessions.
Located close enough to Dublin Centre City to be convenient, and removed enough to be uncluttered and peaceful. The room is properly appointed with a comfortable bed, desk area, TV and (instant) coffee maker. There's a very good grocery next door including a salad bar, excellent sandwiches and coffee. Perfect for the business traveler.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Clarke, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards The Team @ Maldron Hotel Smithfield
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Nice hotel but kept getting woken up at 5am

Posted Apr 22, 2017
The hotel was nice, a spacious room with comfy beds and a bath. However, on both nights at 5am the radiators would start making loud clicking and banging noises and I got up to try and stop the noises but it would not work. This went on for 30-45 mins on both nights making it very difficult to sleep at this time. It was loud enough it woke us both up and kept us up until they stopped!