Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, location. Having a big party there in March so a lot of my friends are going to stay there.
Cons: Always smelled of Sunday roast dinner.
Location: Howth, town, Sutton - lots to do.
Lovely staff, great breakfast and the room was lovely - great sea view and the bed so comfortable. Heni, Ciara and Quintin were great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Great hotel 5 minute walk to the train for the city. Room was great staff was great. Right on the bay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The Marine Hotel, Sutton,Dublin

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Loved the location, and the fact the hotel backed onto a beautiful beach with wonderful views across the Dublin coast. Transport links were excellent, and the staff were hardworking and polite. The Meridian restaurant at hotel was of a very high standard:great food and generous portions. Only criticism is no drinking water provided in rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Good location, lovely views

Posted Aug 17, 2015
We needed a one night stay in Dublin before catching ferry back to the UK. Sutton Cross is a good location for the airport and ferry with good transport links to the City and the lovely town of Howth. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent value for money and very friendly staff. Well worth an overnight stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford

Wonderful stay

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Location, views and friendly staff.
Cons: The lunchtime meal (we were there for a family event) was delicious apart from overdone vegetables and being a bit rushed.
Location: Dublin, city, Howth and coastal towns fron Bray to Malahide easily accessible on the DART railway.
A bit of a trek to find my room which confused me on arrival at night but when I opened the curtains the next morning the sea views and balcony were fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cahir County Tipperary

Excellent Hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Staff, lounge areas, pool, sauna, ample parking, breakfast, spacious bedroom, free wi fi & parking.
Cons: 30 minute delay in serving bar food, waiter was apologetic though.
Location: 3 minute drive to Howth Harbour, which has fresh fish shops and restaurants at the quayside, great for long walks along the harbour.
Friendly welcome at reception, Beautiful views from bedroom of Dublin Bay, Howth and across to Killiney and Dalkey Island. Will stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

A bit tired

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Decoration and airflow, rooms are small and windows smaller with no A/C could be a problem for some.
Location: Close to Howth and airport
Bathrooms and carpets need sprucing up, worn out and need a bit of a clean. No A/C. Breakfasts a bit disappointing as was the service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly and accommodating
Location: Not much in that area. We walked to a nearby town called Howth. About 20-25 min walk. There was a market and nice walking trails there.
Went to the Marine Hotel after travelling Europe for 4 weeks already. Loved how spacious the rooms were! I actually had room to open my suitcase on the floor. There seemed to be a couple family gatherings as the bar & sitting areas were packed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from UK

Good hotel with beautiful view of Dublin Bay

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The setting and the staff.
Cons: The noisy pipes could be fixed.
Location: The hotel had three different options for eating and a good bar. DART and bus service into Howth for seafood and Dublin for the craic.
Comfortable, spacious room and shower room. Very clean. Staff in hotel and especially in Schooner Bar were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Lovely view over Dublin Bay from the bars and restaurant with tables outside - very pleasant in the sun. The only slight niggle was noisy pipes early in the morning. Running the tap helped to get rid to it. Would stay there again. Use the DART to get into Howth, a lovely coastal town and also into Dublin.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but understaffed

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Recently visited the marine for a friend's wedding and stayed four nights, hotel was in a great location with sea views from some rooms. The guy on reception (keith) was exceptional, always willing to help and assist and a real font of knowledge, can't speak highly enough of him. Breakfast teams were really great however when the hotel was full they were badly understaffed and service was a bit of a shambles, also on wedding day (bearing in mind there were two events on so hotel heaving) they had one poor guy working the bar leaving a big queue and some frustrated customers. Food staff were all foreign and sometimes they got confused... For example took our order then when we asked (after an hour) where it was he replied "no more food".... Manager had to come out and say it was fine.... Then when we said we needed to nip to room to get money he rang up immediately and woke our infant demanding the money... In summary decent hotel with some exceptional staff and some poor ones in the pot... Hotel management need to staff more appropriately