Ratings based on 1,165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tuncurry Australia

Lovely hotel within walking distance of Central Du

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Most everything
Cons: Not having a fridge in room. Common in most places away from Australia.
Location: Plenty of Irish pubs and shops.
It was an excellent stay. It is within minutes of everything in Dublin while being a bit out of the city centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Good and close to city center

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Public spaces are nice, rooms are serviceable, nothing too notable. Food and service was great--location is ideal for getting around on a budget. I would definitely stay there again for the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prima hotel in het centrum

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Netheid, Personeel
Cons: Verstelbare douchekoppen.
Location: je kunt er van alles doen, er is een winkelstraat er zijn veer kroegjes en je kunt elke bus nemen die je wilt. De bussen rijden af en aan.
Om een paar nachtjes een slaapadres te hebben is het een prima hotel. Het is er netjes en het personeel is vriendelijk. Helaas was er naast het hotel een verbouwing waardoor we elke ochtend om 7uur wakker werden. Dit is vervelend, al helemaal als je de avond ervoor bent wezen stappen. De kamers waren best klein. Er was ruimte voor 4 bedden maar dan zit de kamer wel vol. De badkamer is prima, alleen zit de douchekop erg laag. Ik ben 1,90m en moest bukken om onder de douchte te komen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K.C. Missouri

LOVE this place.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: The staff.... STAFF, STAFF AND STAFF, simply amazing. The bar/restaurant was great, food was amazing and again the STAFF was amazing.
Cons: Options for movies, pillows (for the love of god replace those pillows) and bathroom lighting. I say those things being super picky.
Location: Lots, we walked to about everything we wanted to see and do. You can find closer hotels, but, you will fight traffic. The train station was next to us
When we first arrived my initial thought was... wow, I really over paid for this place. After spending 6 nights I don't think I could ever say enough about how wonderful this hotel is. It is an old building, but, being in Dublin, Ireland, most buildings are old. Aside from how old the building was and typical stuff that goes along with such buildings, everything was amazing. Very nice decor, comfortable beds (pillows were horrible), good sized room (stayed in a premium room with king sized bed), clean bathrooms (maybe a little more lighting) and the staff. This is what made me love this hotel. The staff was amazing. They were very eager to know what we were going to be doing for the day and if they could help in some way. Daniel, was amazing, my fiancee wanted to go to a beach and Daniel had the perfect idea. It turned into one of the best days we had ever had together.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: ok
Location: main drag
renovations and no lift working. a work in progress. overall centrally located pubs all around hotel and a train station over the road all add up to a enjoyable holiday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Evansville, IN, USA

excellent airport location if you arrive late

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: airport location
Cons: needs an upgrade on mattresses. and decor to get a 4 star.
Location: pretty much an airport location hotel. not for night life. sight seeing is close if you have a car.
convenient location, friendly staff. close to driving distance to see the tourist attractions. no night life close by.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Österreich

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Waren auf einer Städtereise, die Lage des Hotels dazu in der Nähe von Bushaltestellen ist sehr gut.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Go somewhere else

Posted Jun 19, 2016
It was just ok. There is no parking. You have to park 7 to 10 minute walk away, in a unsecured lot that costs 9 euro per night. The hotel was average. The only good thing was it was across the street from the train station. I'd stay somewhere else next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Air Conditioner - Walk into a HOT HOT HOT room

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms.
Location: It was good
Checked in late, was give a room on the 2nd floor. Get into the room, notice 2 things - 1) Room is about 95 degrees (F) and 2) it is next to the train tracks. I look for the AC, so I can close the windows to reduce noise. I can't find it but did find 2 fans. I'm not much of a complainer but I had to complain and was provided another room which was a little bit better but still not AC. Luckily it was not hot the second day, so not at bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown close to trams and train

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: The excellent staff
Cons: Attention to detail in the room environment-- ensure plumbing fixtures work, if slate or tile floors-- ensure they are properly secured.
Location: Close to all downtown activities. Easy to get around.
Some things to work on: The hotel seems to be going through some changes. It appears there is an effort to upgrade this older establishment-- however, there seems to be a disconnect with making the customer's room experience a priority versus the improvements to the hotel lobby, restaurant, and other common areas. We had to be moved from our original room because the AC didn't work. We were moved to another room considered one of their "better" rooms. Although larger and further away from the street level the plumbing needed maintenance, the floor tiles were loose and the grout was missing-- not the best for keeping the floor clean. What they are doing right: I have no doubt that the North Star will eventually live up to the 4 star rating sometime in the future if their staff is an indication of the effort moving forward. Everyone we dealt with was pleasant and helpful and tried to make our stay as nice as possible. The lobby area was going through some changes which will ultimately be very attractive once complete. The restaurant is absolutely wonderful. The food outstanding-- the service excellent!!