Ratings based on 1,205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The Hamptons

Wouldn't stay again most likely

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Nice amenities in the room, good location, central to walking everywhere
Cons: the smell! Also, the shower tub combination was very uncomfortable for anyone taller than 5' 4" and very narrow where you stood under the showerhead.
Location: Central to Trinity, Temple Bar, Grafton Street all a short 15 minute walk away. Hop on Hop off bus tour was amazing as was Guinnes Storehouse.
We checked in and immediately noticed a smell of sewer in the room. It was late so we went down to the restaurant attached, McGettigans and had a quick dinner which was very good. We stopped at the desk to mentioned the sewer odor and front desk staff was extremely concerned and helpful and came back up to the room to check it out. Of course the smell had dissipated. They offered to move us to another (smaller) room but we decided to stay in our room. The smell returned, but not as strong and my husband said it was due to a bad seal around the toilet. We were only there 2 nights so we dealt with it and just kept the bathroom door shut. We noticed the smell was in the 2nd floor hallways as well. The staff was extremely nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Very good hotel and staff. Great location. Enjoyed breakfast. The staff were helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Loved hotel, but was very noisy from street outside
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hote in posizione strategica

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: personale, camera
Cons: il prezzo
hotel vicino al centro senza bisogno di prendere mezzi di trasporto
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Reno but very nice

Posted Sep 21, 2016
The building is being improved but was quite nice. The rooms were big and clean, but there were random stairs and hallways that were difficult to navigate with big suitcases. Don't eat at the restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Helpful staff in a bad building

Posted Sep 20, 2016
I feel sorry for the staff at this hotel as there is much to complain about the facilities. Despite this, they were very helpful in trying to respond to my concerns. My first room was on the ground floor. When I arrived my window was open. Outside my window were iron bars (like a prison) to protect me from the alleyway behind. I soon learned why the window way open. While it was only 15 degrees outside, it was 26 degrees in my room. The air conditioner wasn't working and despite a staff member's valiant attempt to fix it, it could not be resolved. I asked to be moved to another room and was delighted with a quick positive response. In fact they gave me an upgraded room on the sixth floor which at least resolved the iron bars onto the alley view problem of my first room. Unfortunately, the air conditioning in my new upgraded suite was not up to the task either. Again the AC did not seem to work. I still don't know why the interior of the hotel was so hot as it was only 15 outside. In any event, I had to sleep with my balcony sliding door fully open all night to achieve a reasonable temperature in my room. The only problem was the construction site next door about 10 feet away from my open window at which work commenced at 730am. Needless to say I was very frustrated by my short stay. Hats off to the staff for trying their best, but the physical plant and location of this building are a real challenge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

a good location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Wonderful friendly staff at this hotel, the lobby and bar area are very attractive but our rooms were all on the ground floor which led to a very noisy stay eg squeeking and banging fire doors all night long and revellers walking past keeping us awake. When we stayed the air conditioning was broken and the bedrooms and bathrooms all looking tired and dated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 star hotel priced and rated 4 star

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: good restaurant, accommodating staff
Cons: too many things
Location: a lot to do nearby, but neighborhood a little scarey
Shabby, outdated, noisy room with many problems in a sketchy neighborhood
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice hotel, close to the Connolly Station

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The staff were excellent and the location couldn't be beat.
Cons: It would be nice to have a clock or radio in the rooms.
Location: The hotel is walking distance to a main rail station in Dublin, so you can easily get around the town. It is also walking distance to many nice pubs.
The hotel is clean, the staff is professional, and the rooms are adequate. The pricing in the hotel for food and services were as expected for a European hotel. I didn't get a chance to visit the amenities on site (workout room and sauna), but the front desk staff and concierge were great. The hotel is walking distance to a main rail station in Dublin, so you can easily get around the town. It is also walking distance to many nice pubs, restaurants, and coffee shops. If you are looking for a step up from a hostel, this hotel is a great choice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Central hotel with great restaurant

Posted Sep 13, 2016
This is my third time to stay in the North Star and it is improving with each stay. There is some building work going on which didn't disturb my stay but when finished should make the North Star even more attractive. Very close to railway line and station. I was in the rear of the building this time so noise was limited but at the front even the water in the glasses vibrates when a train passes. Room was large and clean if perhaps a little dated. The main thing is the restaurant which serves a great menu in a very pleasant atmosphere. Overall a good place to stay in the City Centre!