Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Adequate hotel with a good location

Posted Jul 8, 2016
It was an OK hotel. The building is old, but the room is relatively clean. The shower is quite small, I'm OK with it except that it doesn't have a place to put the shower gel and stuff. I stayed on the top floor, noise from the bar wasn't actually a big problem. The staff are really nice and friendly.
1 out of 5
by Peter from Algarve,Portugal

Rooms above popular Irish Pub

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
I love Dublin and have stayed many times, this is the worst experience. My fault I did miss the bit about up 5 flights of twisting stairs , then down a further flight! In fairness I had a 20K bag and the very kind gentleman behind the bar carries it on his head to my room, getting it back down early in the morning, now that's a different story.Also when I saw that breakfast was not included in the very high price, I did not appreciate that the place was closed at breakfast time opening only at lunch time..so no Irish breakfast for me. Again I am a rather large person and almost could not get into the tiny shower, so I blame myself for not researching more closely. The bedroom was clean and tidy the first day! So paying in advance with no chance of refund...again my mistake. I take all the blame, the rooms are what they are , a room above a busy pub in a main street that has people screaming until 5 in the morning. In conclusion check what you are getting with this one, because you might be in for a bit of a shock. The pub is very busy and the Guinness is great, live traditional music in the evenings..even if you cannot get close due to the crowd of screaming party goers and hen parties....
3 out of 5
by Jean from Lancashire

Disappointed

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was overpriced for what you get. Noisy at night and in the morning. There was no city view which was stated. We wasn't told there was breakfast available. Also this hotel is suitable for the infirm due to the flights of stairs. We had to go up five flights of stairs to get to our room.
3 out of 5
by kenneth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Donald from Fort Gratiot, Michigan USA

The Irish know how to party

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
2 nights and one day. a little nosy around midnight but other wise ok. the staff was great and very helpful.The room was clean and the shower was small but hot and easy to use. If you want to be in the middle of a party and do not climbing stairs this is the place.
3 out of 5
by paddy from Co Derry

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
2 nights very noisy in room from early morning on street with lorry deliveries to Spar across the street no breakfast available
5 out of 5
by Evelina from Varna

Cosy hotel, friendly staff, great pub downstais

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff is very friendly, the rooms are spacious, there is free WiFi and a great pub downstairs. Only the road traffic is to be heard, no noises from the pub. Great value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find somewhere else for the money

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
2 star at best, you can do better for the price.
4 out of 5
by theresa from Texas

ODonaghues... A taste of Ireland

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
The accommodations were easy to locate. Convenient to eating/ shopping. Lots of traffic, great for people watching. Durprisingly, noise from the pub wasinimsl. WiFi worked great in the room and even across the street at a little shop to purchase food and supplies with a couple of stools and a counter to eat at. I lovedy stay at ODonaghues, not sure I would stay again, as there are many other options.... The room was not as clean with old carpeting, but it is an older building, so what do you expect?The bathroom was the deal breaker... The shower was too small to even turn around in... Not exaggerating.
4 out of 5
by Matthew from Austin

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
A surprisingly good room. Old and not that big,esp the bathroom which had probably the smallest shower ever. Bed was very conforable. Location was convenient walk to many sights, shops and restuarants nd felt very safe. Pub downstairs was busy and atmospheric. Note: stairs to room were very steep and narrow and noise from street if room on that side was noticable.